Nirvana Day (every day!?)

my calendar says it is Nirvana Day today!

Our small Buddha statue catching the morning light a few days ago.

My plans for today changed when I woke up to warnings of a big winter storm, and made the decision not to travel. As a kid, I love snow days; loved hearing, “Warrensburg Central School is closed.” I can still recall the thrill of those words coming through the old radio in our kitchen.

A snow day meant freedom from doing something that I didn’t want to do; go to school. I hated school, and left this belief largely unquestioned until much later in life. If anyone had asked me, at the time, why I hated it so much, I’m not sure that I would have been honest (or self-aware) enough to say that the reason I hated it, was because I thought that I was dumb. I didn’t think that I could understand what was being taught, believed that homework was boring, and so I didn’t even try to do it (which reinforced my belief that it was impossible).

If someone said to me today, “For the next 4 years, all of your needs will be met. You’ll have the money you need, clothes, food, a car, friends to go out with (all of this was my high school experience) and all you have to do, is go to this place where you will learn math, science, art, and history. You will play field hockey, have time to study between classes and learn to cook, make pottery, and sew.” I would think that I was in heaven! Nirvana!

But back then, I felt like I was being made to do it, so without questioning this, I fought it, instead of embracing it, hated it, instead of enjoying it. There is a song from Mary Poppins, “In every job there is to be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun and snap! The job’s a game….”

There’s a profound wisdom in these words. Why not look for the fun, look for the unexpected delight, build your nest, build your life, from a happy, open heart….sing a new song today (or maybe try singing just a little every day…or at least for the weekend!)

“Be aware of wonder. Live a balanced life; learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work some, every day” Robert Fulghum

**** snow day thought*******

Because my calendar is unexpectedly open today, I thought I’d open up the opportunity to share my work with you. I generally offer either 30 or 60 minute sessions but today, I am offering 20  minute sessions (for $20 each). If you are interested, just email me at mmuncil@verizon.net and we’ll set up a time to talk (you can read more about my work here https://whitefeatherfarm.wordpress.com/about )

10 thoughts on “Nirvana Day (every day!?)

  1. Thank you for sharing yourself again on this snowy day, Mary! The cards were fun! Mine was “My joy doesn’t depend upon the approval of others”. Not an hour before I read that, I was in the doctor’s office getting some shots from a beautiful young nurse who had an elongated heart up her right arm from wrist to elbow. Inside it in fancy script were the words “Only God can judge me”. I asked her about it and she said it was to remind her not to seek the approval of others so much. I encouraged her because it’s something I’ve done, as well. I must have needed those words from the Universe that day! I’m letting them sink in! Thanks again.

  2. Dear Mary, thank you for this snow day reminder to find the fun in everything. I have been laboring over something as of late, trying to find a solution….and completely forgot to look for the fun-factor within it. Allowing the fun in completely changes my perspective about it. Your gift is amazing…you always write such uplifting and poignant messages and I am so grateful to you for your daily wisdom.

  3. This is so relevant to me today! Yesterday, hearing that a rather large snow storm was coming our way, I began to crave, and I mean crave, the sun! So after lunch I bundled up and headed outside to “play”! That is exactly what I told my husband I was going to do! So for two hours I walked around the property and picked up sticks and twigs recently blown down, sat on the fence and stroked and talked to the neighbors horses who graze in our pasture, watched the birds getting every possible seed from the feeders, looked at all of the animal tracks crossing the pond, and just felt so happy! Walking back to the house I found a lovely bird’s nest blown from a tree…when I was a teen, I didn’t think of the consequences of things, nor did I think much about the future. But yesterday was like a Winter wake-up call…I felt so alive…and then your post this morning was like icing on the cake! So full of promise! Thanks Mary!

  4. I just took a job caring for two boys every afternoon for about 5 hours, or until their Mother gets home from work. I told a friend that I wasn’t sure I could handle very active 4 and 6 year olds. She said to me that I was very fortunate to still be able to and I thought about it and said Yes to myself, I am fortunate. We will read, bake, write, draw, play with lego’s and maybe even dance.

  5. Thank you Mary Solomon for posting the link. I’ve separated it from the blog and will look at it more fully this evening. And, Mary Muncil, I grew up thinking that I was dumb too. I was a day dreamer in school. Every report card that came out in public school said: Sandra must learn to concentrate more. Meaning, my head was in the clouds most of the time, I guess. The thing of it is, later in life, my day dreaming still continues. I often see things in my head in pictures which I then interpret into my quilts, which are for the most part, pictorial. So daydreaming isn’t such a bad thing. Maybe I was just learning how to meditate early in my life for my quilting is very meditative for me. I think I probably had a learning disability of some sort because my half-sister, whom I met later in life (I was adopted) experienced the same thing only she is good at math; I’m not good at math; she can’t spell very well, I got 100% in spelling one day. She also got bigger feet than I. We are good friends in spite of not growing up together.
    SandyP in snowy southern Ontario, Canada.

Comments are closed.