Taking life lightly

My bags

My bags…I’ve gotten rid of the more serious looking bags in recent months.

After writing Friday’s post, about bringing more fun into our lives, I couldn’t get the image of Mary Poppins out of my head. I hadn’t seen the movie since I was a kid, so I did some research on-line about her character. I loved the way that she was described as a magical person who blew into town on the east wind, changed everything around her for the better, and when she was done, blew away again; carpet-bag in one hand, umbrella in the other.

I also loved the way that she didn’t get ruffled or upset by the unhappiness of those around her. She kept her center, knew what she wanted to achieve…and had fun doing it. We had just watched the movie “Cold Comfort Farm” and the heroine, Flora, had that same energy. Both of these characters refused to worry about life, had a vision for what they wanted to achieve, and everything (and everyone) around them transformed.

Friday evening, I decided to look for one of my travel bags, found it, and hung it on the door by my computer with the thought, “I wonder when I’ll be taking my next trip?”

At about noon on Saturday, my brother called and said, “Are you up for an adventure?”  He went on to say that he and his daughter (my niece Kelly) were going to be biking across Florida and wanted someone to accompany them who would be available in case of a flat tire or some other unexpected need they might have. They’d originally planned to fly down in April but had just decided to drive down (this week) instead. Then he said, “We’ll stay in great B &B’s along the way, you’ll have all the days to yourself, we just want to be able to call you if we need something. I’ll pay all of your expenses, plus we’ll have a lot of fun. I think we’d be a great trio! What do you think?”

So with a little rearranging of my schedule (which will be minimally interrupted since most of the work that I do is by phone…. and I am imaging wonderful sessions from my warm, lovely, southern perch) and the amazing flexibility of Jack, I’ll be leaving on Wednesday for 10 days.

It astounds me how things show up when I am “light” about them….light about life.  I can see such a pattern in the manifestation of my desires: when I hold on tightly, intensely, unhappily wanting something to happen, it seems to elude me. All day Friday, I had been singing happy songs (out loud) and kept thinking about being playful, fun and happy. (I also was also pondering the idea Mary Poppins as an archetype…something that I will be thinking more about!).

“Humanity has advanced, when it has advanced, not because it has been sober, responsible, and cautious, but because it has been playful…” Tom Robbins

 

29 thoughts on “Taking life lightly

  1. Mary, pack your carpet-bag and umbrella (oh yes and a bathing suit), and have a great trip! It sounds perfectly lovely for all of you.

  2. What a wonderful adventure, Mary!!! I know you will have a wonderful time and look forward to hearing all about it!!!

  3. Wonderful ! I sincerely hope your adventure brings you near our home, we would love to have you ‘ blow into town on the east wind’ ! We’ll even provide an umbrella should you need it to leave 🙂
    Sending smiles and hugs to you through the miles for your adventure.

    • What a fun thought! Maybe we will see each other…we begin our trip in St. Augustine and end around Tallahassee

  4. I love Mary Poppins as an archetype! We are in the midst of our 10 days in the sunshine. We missed the storm. It has been beautiful, bright, and warm every day…thank you, Spirit.
    Have a magical trip!

  5. …and we were just talking about oohing and aahing and exploring places we’ve never been…and the wonder of it all! Sunshine, flora, family, adventure, friends along the way, B and B’s…what a wonderful winter break! Fun! Fun! Fun! Enjoy Mary (Poppins and Muncil)!!!! Lots of love in your back pocket!!!!

  6. Oh Mary, what fun you will have. If you are anywhere around St Pete, you MUST stop by and see me!! Just think what fun that would be to reconnect after all these years. Hope you have the time of your life!

  7. Love the Mary Poppins analogy! I found a picture of her awhile back, framed it and put it on my desk at work. It’s where she is landing with her umbrella. What a blast!

  8. Dear Mary. Congratulations! Your trip sounds gloriously fun and relaxing. You will be your own special version of Mary Poppins, popping in and out along the biking route…I’m sure all who you encounter will feel blessed by your beautiful smile and your kind heart.

  9. Hearing “just a spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down!” as I type this – what happy news today Mary! Enjoy every minute – I agree with Kathye – there’s definitely a bit of Poppins in Ms. Muncil!

  10. It’s wonderful how things have worked out, Mary! Your trip sounds perfect. I so loved Mary Poppins when I was younger. My sister and I had the entire record album memorized, much to my mother’s dismay. All I can say is “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”!

  11. Oh, what fun! Have a wonderful time. This fellow NYer is typing as my husband, two labs and I wend our way through the moutains of KY in our motorhome, on our way to FL til the end of March. We all need to see and do new things 🙂 I sometimes resist being away for so long, but know the sunshine and new experiences will send me back home refreshed and ready for New York’s spring. Enjoy every minute.

  12. “What a smashing, positively dashing spectacle”
    (My Fair Lady, the musical.)
    Love your bags!
    I second that “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious “!
    Savour your magical journey Mary.
    BON VOYAGE!!!!

  13. Just as I began to read this post, on the radio, the Beatles broke into “Magical Mystery Tour”!! Tra la… All signs point to fun, fun, FUN.

  14. How lucky to have a brother like that, Mary. We’ll miss you for the ten days you’re away. I’m assuming you may be the official driver of the trip, following the bikers???
    SandyP in Canada

  15. What fun! I’d go find an empty suitcase and leave it by my front door, but it would upset the dog, who is always convinced I’m getting ready to go somewhere without her. ;-}

  16. “Practically perfect in every way” is sounding like your adventure with your brother and your niece. The flock will miss you but we know you will be having a wonderful adventure. Have fun Mary!

  17. so happy for you — sounds like a great trip and i’m sure you’ll come back full of good stories and epiphanies — lucky for you and lucky for us, your loyal readers 🙂

  18. Hope that you, Mary “Poppins” Muncil will enjoy your adventure in every way, bask in some sunshine, and keep us posted on your travels. Take care and hello to Bobby too. Safe travels, xoxo

  19. what part of fl are you going to be in. Laurie is in Boca Raton she would love to here from you guys…..

Comments are closed.