What is perfect about this moment?

a little clock that I found in a thrift store a couple of days ago. The name of it is "Time Flys"

a little clock that I found in a thrift store a couple of days ago. The name of it is “Time Flies”

I’m writing this morning from a hotel in Florida. We’ll be leaving here in a few hours for a B and B in Monticello Florida, staying there 2 days, and then starting for home. Almost nothing has been how I’d envisioned it. I’ve been sharing a room with my brother and niece. It’s been years since I’ve slept in a room with anyone (except Jack or our cats). The days that I thought I’d have alone, have not happened. I haven’t written a word in my journal, read a book, or worked on my writing project. The weather has been mostly in the 50’s and 60’s, so I am not the least bit tanned, and have only worn shorts once.

If someone had told me what this trip would “look like” before I left, I wouldn’t have come. It would have sounded like a tedious exercise in self-restraint.

Happily, I did not know.

My intention for this trip was to be open; to see, feel and experience new parts of myself. What has happened is beyond words…really somewhat beyond my ability to understand. Every time I’ve started to think, “Hey, what about me? How am I going to spend my time? What about my….” I can feel myself contract and become uncomfortable and so have made it my mantra to say, “What is different right now? Show me the perfection of this present moment.” These questions have been some of the most powerful prayers I’ve ever prayed.

I’ve witnessed the amazing patience and generosity of my brother, the sweetness of my niece, and a calmness and inner peace in myself that has surprised me.

I will have few pictures to show, or stories of warm ocean breezes to recount, but what I have learned, gained, and can say that I know, is that life is perfect when we open our hearts. When we drop down in consciousness to the level of the heart and see, hear, and feel life from there, the next step we take can be into a very different world.

The art of life is to live in the present moment, and to make that moment as perfect as we can by the realization that we are the instruments and expression of God Himself.” Emmet Fox

 

32 thoughts on “What is perfect about this moment?

  1. I would love to spend some time with my brother and my niece, and nephew. I haven’t seen them in 6 years due to distance.

  2. Mary, I admire your honesty. I had such envy of your ability to manifest a trip to Florida and was imagining a luxurious, warm vacation for you. Life is full of surprises! Hurray for your ability to stay present.

    • Thank you Janet. …I don’t think that i really understood the meaning of the “gift of the present moment” until now….and I must say, I would not change this trip now, even if I could!

  3. YAY Mary…..good reminder not to say no to something you have fear or some crazy preconceived notion about….a warm ocean breeze would be welcome about now!!!

  4. I have found that my trips almost never go according to plan! But it makes them more exciting because you never know just what is around the next corner. I’m glad you have found your perfect days Mary!

  5. I agree with Candy. The trip I envision is almost never the trip I actually take, so in some ways I have the benefit of 2 trips! Mary, your flexibility and spontaneity are wonderful examples for me. Your questions to yourself reminded me of when I was a new mom (19 years ago) and it took years to realize that in a way it WAS about me, just not ONLY about me. Thanks so much for sharing.

  6. I keep coming to the realization that it always is my attitude, my thoughts, my perception, that create heaven or hell (no matter where I am!)

  7. A timely message!
    Living in the present is a worthy goal to strive toward with constant reminders to drag myself back into the present from wherever my frantic mind has taken me.
    Thank you Mary.
    Best wishes for continued enjoyment and many more lovely discoveries during your trip.
    From Fran

  8. Dear Mary….so glad to hear that your trip has indeed turned out to be a total “Trip” in the spiritual sense. Your words of wisdom this morning touch me deeply as I needed a good reminder about staying in the present moment and making the most of each experience by just being in it completely without judgement. (A noble and sometimes very challenging task indeed!).

  9. What came to mind, Mary, when reading the first part of your posting was…oh boy, what we get ourselves into without knowing the reality of it and then as I read further, the phrase “Grace under Fire” came to mind. When things don’t turn out as I expect they will, I am constantly reminding myself to act, not react.
    It’s a state of mind I continuously and predictably fail at doing. But at least I’m mindful of this now.
    SandyP in Canada

  10. “When we drop down in consciousness to the level of the heart and see, hear, and feel life from there, the next step we take can be into a very different world.” Those are truly sage words of advice. Thank you.

  11. What a beautiful, beautiful eye opening blog Mary! I love every word and am printing it out so I can re-read it throughout my day today and will take it home and read now and then at home. Thank you for those words of wisdom you shared with all of us today…..they were so sweet and heartfelt…

  12. Sounds like a “spiritual” journey to me…….with some lovely physical manifestations. Enjoy the “perfect present” ! XXO

  13. So happy to read your post this morning Mary!, for the message and as Mary Solomon said too, we miss each other! One of the flock shared the Abraham Messages blog over a year ago and I must say thank you, whoever you are (please let me know!) – Today’s was so in tune with Mary’s message of being open to the present moment, because its wonders are really there, if we keep all our channels open to the “life force” as Abraham says – Mary, sure sounds like you are running on HIGH ENERGY and OPEN CHANNELS! May the rest of your trip fill you to overflowing with joy!

    Abraham message for Feb. 19
    Every cell in your body has a direct relationship with Creative Life Force, and each cell is independently responding. When you feel joy, all the circuits are open and the Life Force or God Force can be fully received. When you feel guilt or blame or fear or anger, the circuits are hindered and the Life Force cannot flow as effectively. Physical experience is about monitoring those circuits and keeping them as open as possible. The cells know what to do. They are summoning the Energy.

  14. Thank you Mary Muncil!! Your message is/was what was perfect about this moment – again I received it at the perfect time – and boy did I need that reminder to basically stop and take stock of what is perfect in my life right now! All I had to do was look out the window, listen to my dogs snoring on the couch and the cats also snoring, the smell of the beef, mushroom and barley soup my now retired husband is cooking,(bless him) So thank you and Enjoy!! Mary

    Date: Tue, 19 Feb 2013 12:43:15 +0000 To: marykardos@hotmail.com

  15. Serendipity is our goddess, so we’re often running right into our expectations, like the full new six inches of snow this morning on our still-unmelted backyard glaciers. Supposed to keep up all week, so I, too, will be practicing patience & cleaning up the old office. Look to the Good! Nice thoughts from everyone.

  16. Great message Mary! It sounds like you felt your warmth from Something much more powerful than the sun. You teach us yet again that when we are that warm, that open, that bright, from deep within, our moments, in that different world, are indescribable! Thank you!

  17. I am lousy at spontaneity, so I would have found a million reasons NOT to go on this trip so suddenly. Good thing for me that you can see your way clear to do this, Mary. I get to live out the good outcomes of your adventure through your posts and maybe….just maybe….soften up a bit more myself toward living in the now instead of having to plan every move. Control-freaks die hard; ask one who knows. 🙂

  18. This is the first time I am leaving a reply, although I have enjoyed your blog since I first discovered it a year ago. I wanted to tell you that you made an appearance in my dream last night! I approached you and asked you how your trip to Florida was, and that I was surprised you were back so soon. I don’t recall your reply, although I am really trying! How interesting to read this blog today! Karma 🙂

  19. I’ve missed your blog Mary. Thanks for this. Your clock is so right on. Time does fly and you’ll be back in no time with your sweet man and loving pets. I’ve taken jaunts that I thought totally suprised me cause of how much they sucked. But I learned a valuable lesson from you today. My my… how selfish I can be at times.Time spent with our family of origin is priceless at this stage of our lives. Thanks,Safe journey, Cindy

  20. What a wonderful surprise to hear from you Mary and the flock. I am still processing what you’ve said and letting it sink in. There are lessons to learn from each and every experience we encounter and I’m learning from you how to make them count and not give it a title, or to judge that experience but take the very best it has to ofter and live in the present. Have a fun and safe ride home.

  21. The trip seemed to be about your bro and niece snd your gift of company and backup for a new adventure. He needed you snd wanted your company. You gave them a. gift as you revieved one. What did u think it would be? Love your blog.

  22. So pleased to know you are safe and beginning to focus on all the positive aspects – had no doubt that you would! Still don’t think I want to take any trips – maybe it’s my age because there was a time in my life when all someone would have to say was “let’s go” and I would be at the door ready to go.

    The wings on your clock reminded me of the wings on your Christmas tree.

  23. Loved your post today…i learned long ago to have few or no expectations of what my day will bring or how a vacation will turn out,, sadly they were never as I had envisioned and I was let down. With no expectations in mind, I have learned to enjoy what does happen and be happy with it. Sounds to me like you are having a wonderful time with your brother and niece, that is special. Safe travel home…love, Marian

Comments are closed.