Opening our hearts to receive….

I love this picture of my father (who will be 88 in a few weeks)

I love this baby picture of my father (who will be 88 in a few weeks)…he looks so open, so sweet, so perfect

For a while, I’ve had the feeling that something was about to pop in my life; like I was on the edge of a new discovery. Over the past few days, I’ve seen so many straws (literally) on my morning runs, that I had to look up the origin and deeper meaning of the word. One definition said, “Straw in the wind: A slight hint of something to come.” But I found that this wasn’t satisfying enough, so I kept looking up more things on-line, in my books, picking affirmation cards, to give me more of a hint….I started to feel this voice prodding me with the words, “Come on, hurry up, I need to know now! Reveal to me this great mystical wisdom so I can write about it…” All of this urgency. So important. My thoughts….and then another voice, from a deeper place said, “quiet”.
I want to take the next week to give it (whatever it is) some room to breath. I won’t be writing the blog during this time because I sense that I need to give this space. …the image that comes to mind is one of standing with a tree. Not identifying it, inspecting it for disease, wondering how old it is….just standing with it without the urge to analyze. I need to be quiet inside and out, stand still, not at alert, tense attention, but relaxed, calm, open, like I had all the time in the world. I feel I need to wait without expectation of what the form will look like. Pascal is quoted as saying, “All men’s miseries derive from not being able to sit in a quiet room alone.” My mind tells me that I spend plenty of time alone, that I don’t need more solitude. It sends me little warnings to get busier, more involved, more action…and I hear it, and am saying back, “shhhh…

I look forward to reconnecting with you in a while, and wonder if this “something” is also calling to you?… wonder (since we are all connected at the level of the heart) if there is something wanting to be birthed inside of you as well?..something that is ready and is only asking you to quietly open your heart and receive it.

“Night, the beloved. Night, when words fade and things come alive. When the destructive analysis of day is done, and all that is truly important becomes whole and sound again. When man reassembles his fragmentary self and grows with the calm of a tree.”Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

 

33 thoughts on “Opening our hearts to receive….

  1. Mary, I hope that your retreat fills you with peace and wonder. The idea of something birthing inside especially speaks to me today, my birthday. May we find what we are seeking, or find that the looking is as wonderous as the finding. And the photo of your dad is terrific!

  2. Serenity and solitude and space…sounds wonderful. I love that springtime encourages us to open our (mental) windows, release any energy that has been swirling round and round, offer up our openess…and feel the flow of all things fresh. I’m very excited for you! Enjoy your peace!

  3. Happy you are taking good care of yourself and withdrawing from blog and “have to” …..you will be missed, of course….I am “feeling” the renewal of spring and the bounty of summer that follows … In the N.E. the seasons are so defined, and each has a distinct energy for me. You will get your answer on God/universe time. Enjoy the search. XXO

  4. Dear Mary, I can completely relate to your inner pull of quietness and reflection. I too have felt this calling; one of the things I did was cut back on the number of days I write on my blog. Purity of intent, strength of heart and sincerity of purpose are all strong messages from the spirit…..to reunite with the soul, to allow things to unfold and to enter the peace of knowing. I’ll be thinking of you with loving and supporting thoughts and sending you much love.

  5. “A time to be silent and a time to speak…there is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.” You will be in my thoughts, Mary, as you take this time for yourself, this respite, may it restore you and bring you peace, joy, happiness, all good things and many blessings.
    Love and hugs, Marian

  6. Mary – Enjoy your quiet time. There is something about this time of year that makes one hope for clarity and peace, for allowing the space for new ideas and ways of looking at things to enter our lives. Sending love and good thoughts your way….

  7. glad you are listening to and taking care of yourself. . .I send you my love and gratitude as you journey within. . .Veronica

  8. Peace and serenity to you Mary as you savor some quiet, reflective time. May all manner of wonder be revealed to you. – Just yesterday I read a most fascinating interview with Philip Shepherd in The Sun magazine – he talks about “The Brain in our Belly” – getting OUT of our head and into the more intuitive “gut” brain, the one in our belly! He even mentions other cultures and their use of brain vs. belly – here’s a few sentences that may pique your curiosity to read part of the interview which is online:

    “In Indo-European roots of the English language which date from the Neolithic, you find that the word for the hub of a wheel came from the root for navel. The hub is the center around which the wheel revolves. The metaphor suggests that the center of the self was located in the belly. The idea of being centered in the belly shows up in many cultures – Incan, Maya. There is a Chinese word for belly that means “mind palace”. Japanese culture rests on a foundation of ‘hara’, which means “belly” and represents the seat of understanding. The Japanese have a host of expressions that use ‘hara’ where we use ‘head’. We say, “He’s hotheaded”. They say “His belly rises easily”. We say “He has a good head on his shoulders.” They say, “He has a well-developed belly.”
    _____________________

    http://thesunmagazine.org/issues/448/out_of_our_heads

    • Susan, Philip Shepherd lives in the Toronto area. Isn’t this interesting. I’ve scan read the link you’ve placed here; I’ll read it in more depth later. My ‘mutts’ are sure I’ve forgotten that it’s after 5 pm here and their tummies are telling them otherwise. We live north of Toronto now but I grew up there, on the edge of the city as well. Having a ‘gut’ feeling is something I always listen to and i don’t think it’s something that, once you go by it, you can ever not pay attention to.
      Sandy P, in Ontario, Canada

      • SandyP, I marvel at the connections we are making with Mary as our sweet Muse. To think that I was so impressed yesterday by Philip Shepherd’s interview, how it dovetailed something Mary is hinting at, needing to step away from our heads!, our daily routines, (and oh! I am surely going to be reading his book!) – and he lives in your backyard and is a familiar name to you. Talk about sweet synchronicities! Love to you! Susan

    • Susan, Hopefully this after your response so that it makes sense in the order of things but it is interesting the connections made here on Mary’s forum, both spiritually and in hearing how we are not all much different in our thoughts than others in this present moment. The author indeed does not live quite in my backyard but within an hour’s drive south into Toronto. Ward’s Island, where he is recorded as living, is a short ferry ride off the downtown area of the city and a very special place to live. It’s interesting to me how we connect here and how the internet allows all of this. I am particularly interested in how other cultures influenced each other in art and design and how spirituality is very much a part of all cultures, so I enjoyed reading the author’s concept of ‘a brain in the belly’. I also need to be mindful of the fact that my gut reaction or gut feeling may need to be accompanied by an open mind because my gut reaction is so reflexive.
      SandyP in Ont. Canada

  9. My messages have come in a different way than yours, but they have brought me to that message of go within and be quiet. The quote that struck me this morning, in my reading, was the line from the St. Francis prayer: Make me a channel of your peace. I need to let Spirit work through me and lead me.
    Let us enter into the mystery….

  10. Dear Mary,
    I’ll miss our “morning tea”, but I will be sending you warm and loving thoughts. Thanks so much for all the time you put into this blog.

  11. Mary, I don’t know how you manage to keep us inspired with your inspiration. It is good to go within and regain your inner spiritual strength. Time out. I will also miss you and wish you a peaceful week.

    Susan, Thanks for your post above. I’l check out the link.

    SandyP in Canada.

  12. That is a very cute picture of your father Mary.
    I look forward to your spiritual blogs and hope you have a very peaceful relaxing week.

  13. Dear Mary,

    Blessings throughout your inner journey.
    Trust that Spirit will manifest…

  14. Yes. I am there. I do nothing very badly, it is the most exhausting thing I do. and Im not a very patient girl. Yet there is no twisting and turning, it is simply time.

  15. Mary, I know that God saids “be still and know that I am God”. Also when we stand in God’s peace He can do mighty things in our lives. So have a peaceful week . Joan Hansen

  16. You will be missed Mary. Peace and serenity to you and your pack. Catch you later. 🙂 Cindy

Comments are closed.