Resting in the Light

Fred in the grass

Fred in the grass

About 2 miles into my run yesterday morning, as I was praying for a friend, I looked down and saw a butterfly on the side of the road. It was so covered with mud that I almost missed it. I thought it was dead but when I picked it up, it moved a leg. As I gently put it in my hand, it “righted itself” and slowly all four of its little legs began to move and it grabbed my finger and held on.
I turned around to run back home, wondering if I should stop by a stream and wash the mud off? Put it down?…the intutitve answer to both was no. So I kept running. Its wings were closed up tight, but as soon as I ran into the sunlight, it thrust them wide open to reveal a deep red tone with blue dots. Resting in the sunlight, with its wings wide open, they begin to dry out and some of the mud flaked off in my hand.
When I got home, I put it on our open porch, but it fluttered to the lilac bush and was out of sight.
I’m not sure how much longer it will be on this earth plane, but it had a message. This morning, I got the knowing that this message wasn’t only for me or my friend, it was for “us”….

Even though you may have felt ‘stuck in the mud’, something is about to move you…something you could never have imagined…don’t push, don’t pull, don’t fight it. Just step into the Light and let things unfold!” message from the butterfly

Have you been fighting and struggling with something that seems impossible? How about taking this weekend to “hold onto the invisible hand of Love”…let it carry you for a while, let it hold you,….you don’t need to know what this “thing” is, you don’t need to understand it to be helped. Just relax into It and see what happens!

 

29 thoughts on “Resting in the Light

  1. Thank you for that story. I have had several butterfly experiences. They are special. Thank you for the message. I will be reflecting on it as it applies in my life.

  2. Oh Mary! What a beautiful experience. Thank you for sharing it. Butterflies represent transformation, trust and faith in the eternal balance of change and renewal. I will hold the vision in my mind and heart of you carrying this butterfly along until the light of the sun could help him/her to release the burden of mud….and fly with freedom. This is so very special. Thank you for a great meditation for the weekend.

  3. Thank you, Mary!
    As an artist I sometimes find myself in that spot where something that wants to be expressed just can’t quite make it through from the “other side.” I can be patient for a while, but ultimately if it doesn’t make it’s appearance I begin to push and pull and fight it. What comfort your words brought me this morning -the sun is calling.

  4. Thank you, Mary!
    As an artist I sometimes find myself in that spot where something that wants to be expressed just can’t quite make it through from the “other side.” I can be patient for a while, but ultimately if it doesn’t make it’s appearance I begin to “push and pull and fight it.” What comfort your words brought me this morning -the sun is calling!

  5. i’m so grateful for your, our butterfly message mary. the butterfly quote is rich, real and right for me; today, now. thank you so much for this post. step into the light and let things unfold…i’m thinking of you with love.

  6. Mary, I love your awareness of our connection to the natural world. It is our collective cathedral, I believe. Thank you for your love and light.

    • Terri, what a beautiful thought, the natural world as our collective cathedral. And Mary, your powers of observation and reflection touch us deeply. Sweet butterfly, wherever he or she may be right now, that small life inspired your post today. How intricately this world is woven together. Happy Mother’s Day to all the Moms!

  7. Such a beautiful story touched my heart. Thank you Mary for sharing it with us.

  8. Oh, how I love the insights you see around you and share with us. You inspire me to see and pay attention to the messages that surround me. Thank you for this awareness.

  9. Thank you Mary- I haven’t posted in a long time but this one really hit me I have had a lot of things weighing heavy on my mind, this post has made me reaffirm, we can’t control many things so I am going to listen to your suggestion or in this case the message from the butterfly.

  10. thank you, Mary, for today. . .and for the many beautiful truths you uncover and share. . this brought tears to my eyes.. .I have a mother’s worry and this reminded me to trust in love and the light it lives in. . .sending my love to you. . .Veronica

    • Veronica, a mother’s worry is a nice phrase; it encompasses times of concern for our children and Mary’s message is a reminder to let go of this worry and let what may be. I, too, relate to how this brought tears to your eyes, for her message this morning, did this for me too.
      SandyP in Canada

  11. That butterfly my have a short life but it will live it to the fullest. Thanks for the reminder that even out of the mud can come the best and most beautiful of things…

  12. Happy Mothers Day to all. May butterflies and their messages infuse your days.
    Thank you, Mary, for a sweet, but lesson-filled, posting today.

  13. Thank-you Mary for this message. This w/e I will do this. I will step into the light and let things unfold. Happy Mother’s Day! Cindy

  14. Two butterfly quotes:

    “Inspiration
    A man found a cocoon of a butterfly. One day a small opening appeared, he sat and watched the butterfly for several hours as it struggled to force its body through that little hole. Then it seemed to stop making any progress. It appeared as if it had gotten as far as it could and it could go no farther. Then the man decided to help the butterfly, so he took a pair of scissors and snipped off the remaining bit of the cocoon. The butterfly then emerged easily. But it had a swollen body and small, shriveled wings. The man continued to watch the butterfly because he expected that, at any moment, the wings would enlarge and expand to be able to support the body, which would contract in time.
    Neither happened! In fact, the butterfly spent the rest of its life crawling around with a swollen body and shriveled wings. It never was able to fly. What the man in his kindness and haste did not understand was that the restricting cocoon and the struggle required for the butterfly to get through the tiny opening were God’s way of forcing fluid from the body of the butterfly into its wings so that it would be ready for flight once it achieved its freedom from the cocoon. Sometimes struggles are exactly what we need in our life. If God allowed us to go through our life without any obstacles, it would cripple us. We would not be as strong as what we could have been. And we could never fly.”

    “Someone once said happiness is like a butterfly: if we chase it, we’ll never find it. But if we sit quietly, it will come and land on us. Faith and courage are the same. All we have to do is sit quietly and ask for these gifts from God. In time, and with patience, they will be ours, and so will the happiness we can then pass on to others.
”

    (Still holding hands……)

    A good weekend to all.
    As always, Mary has given us things to ponder as we go through our days.

    • Mary, I’ve always loved this last quote. It is something that I could take into a wallquilt and have years ago although for the life of me I have no idea where it went. Maybe flew away on butterfly wings. Thank you for reminding me of this wonderful quote.
      SandyP in Canada

  15. Love your post today, Mary, and how you used your morning encounter with this little butterfly to inspire us. You are a kind-hearted woman… May the gentleness, kindness and love you showed to one of God’s littlest creatures come back to you tenfold.
    Have a wonderful weekend and a Happy Mother’s Day! Xoxo

  16. I’ve been singing
    “Don’t push,
    don’t pull,
    don’t fight;
    Step into the light”
    all morning as I work and weed in the yard. In my mind, it has an almost gospel rhythm to it, uplifting, hand clapping. I love Mary’s ‘Good Mews’ station. ;>)

  17. In case anyone is interested — the interview on Oprah’s show with Dr. Eben Alexander (author of Proof of Heaven) will be rebroadcast on OWN at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday, May 12.

  18. Last Friday I printed out your thought in large letters and that paper is positioned on the dashboard of my car. I did numerous things this weekend and always, that inspiration stayed in my mind. I hope I continually keep myself open to new people and new experiences, but your words, right smack in front of me, help to keep me centered on that lovely idea. While writing this comment, I remembered that yesterday I met a sweet older women in the cemetery. I was walking the dog through our beautiful, historic Woodlawn cemetery, admiring all the beautiful spring trees, and she was tending her parent’s grave for Mother’s day. She called the dog over to her and we talked for a good half hour. I learned new and interesting things from her. A fine encounter. Maybe that is what you meant. Nothing grand and earth shattering, just a small moment. I guess I don’t know what or where that chance chat may lead. Thanks again.

    • How perfectly beautiful Helene! I love this …thank you so much for sharing with us.

Comments are closed.