What do I believe? I believe the Truth, that “Only blessings will come from this”

Fred on a chair this morning

Fred on a chair this morning

There hasn’t been any movement (on the outside) regarding the house we want to buy. The sellers have someone who wants to rent the home and they are going to give them an answer (yes or no) by Friday the 17th. This is a situation that I would have found unacceptable a few years ago. Even though I’ve always known (intellectually) that I couldn’t lose anything that was meant to be mine, I remember feeling almost unbearable longing (and unhappiness, tension, grief, anger) when I thought I was about to miss an opportunity. But this is not how I feel. I feel hope and happiness and freedom.

What has changed?

Right from the moment that I stopped sobbing (after initially seeing the house and feeling like it was ours), I started saying out loud (and often) “This house is a blessing, and only blessings will come from it”. Day and night, I’ve said that…even when I started to feel anxious. Especially when I started to feel anxious.

The past 15 days have been incredibly powerful for me. I’ve watched myself start to build unhappy scenarios in my mind. I’ve observed the effect in my emotions and body when I started to feel desperate for a specific thing to turn out a specific way, and I’ve used all of my focus to bring myself back to my mantra: This house is a blessing, and only blessings will come from it.

I was listening to a Byron Katie CD the other day and she was telling a story about going into a maximum security prison to do “The Work” (the name she gives to the process of questioning our unhappy thoughts) with some inmates. As she was walking through a corridor, she heard a man begin to scream and scream. She went on to say, “He is screaming because he is locked up with his thoughts…”

I could identify with the screaming man’s mind. Thoughts that tell me how wrong my life is, make me feel like I am in hell with no power to escape. When I believe that I can’t be happy unless I move, lose 20 lbs, publish a book, get a lot of money in the bank, have children who want to talk about the mystical universe with me, have parents that appreciate me, find the ring that I’ve lost, see someone I love recover from an illness, get a job, find my life’s purpose,….when I believe that something, anything, is unfair and wrong, and when I believe that I cannot feel at peace until it changes, I am living in hell.

The little house in Middlebury is a blessing. It doesn’t mean that I’ll own it. It doesn’t mean that I’ll ever step foot in it again. It has helped me see myself and my world through clearer eyes. Don’t get me wrong, I would be absolutely delighted to own that home….I can imagine writing a post, telling you how it came about. But I will tell you my  story anyway and it will unfold perfectly with blessing after blessing being revealed.

How can you love your life right now?  Just the way it is? You can start saying, “I love my life (which may include illness, debt, unemployment, unhappy children, no children, …whatever thing is feeling like a burden, or “wrong”). You can decide only to love everything. You can claim, “This is a blessing, and only blessings will come from it.” You can try this, even if it doesn’t make sense. It might be difficult, but you do have the power to believe a new story (one that feels better) and if you do, you will be amazed at what happens…to you. The Truth is that my life is being Divinely guided. The Truth is that all is well..and this is the Truth for us all.

There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn’t true; the other is to refuse to believe what is true.” Soren Kierkegaard (quote taken from page 129 , Proof of Heaven, by Eben Alexander, M. D.)

15 thoughts on “What do I believe? I believe the Truth, that “Only blessings will come from this”

  1. Wow. This is a good one. I want to remember this. __________ is a blessing and only blessings will come from it. Thank you for passing this on Mary. You are one of my blessings. 🙂

    • Oh thank you Caran! I appreciate your words and thoughts so much today

  2. Very profound! Which Byron K. book were you referring to? It sure makes sense. Fingers crossed for the little house!

    • Thank you Karen!…It was a set of CD’s called, “Making your thoughts work for you.” (it was from a live workshop that she did with Wayne Dyer)

  3. Dear Mary, indeed this house has already brought about so many blessings in the form of your powerful posts these last few days. Your insights about the profound lessons you are experiencing are not only reaching so many others, they are helping to raise consciousness and spread loving awareness to all who read your blog…and who then talk about it with others who also spread it around. I am holding thanks, light and love for you and this house of many blessings!

    • “this house of many blessings”….I LOVE that Debra…thank you, thank you!

  4. Mary, I see how within this process the house is a huge blessing to you right now. You would have to really love it in order to work on your thought process. Even if you end up in an even better house for you and your family, you will look back on this time and smile. I am striving to do the same with my health challenges and those of my daughter. Thanks for the encouragement.

    • Well thank you Christine…and you are so right when you say that I would really have to love it to work on my thought process like I have been doing..Yes, yes, that is exactly what has happened..the love that i felt for that home, focused me in a way that might not have happened so quickly otherwise. Sending you waves of loving acceptance for “perfect heath” for you and your daughter.

  5. Mary,   Sending positive thoughts your way that you and Jack will get that house you want. More powder to you.   Love Jeanne

    ________________________________

  6. Wow! The strength of your desire and the powerful tug of that sweet home is indeed a blessing…look at it’s impact on you already and what has opened inside of you! Trust, Truth, Divine timing, and ‘the power to believe a new story’ all speak to your loving guidance to hold onto our visions long enough and strong enough while Spirit works on the game plan! You teach us once again that our thoughts dictate whether we live in Heaven or in hell. As I read and reread your profound words this morning it occurs to me that this house is much much more than a physical place to live…it’s energy and your sharing of your thoughts are helping us all to realize just exactly where ‘the perfect place to live’ really is. Sending the highest and happiest vibrations to you…xoxo

  7. I loved the insight to this blog Mary…it was eye opening on how to view my life differently and become happier when doing so.

    Thank You,

    Julie

  8. “All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well” Julian of Norwich
    I’m quite sure I got this saying from you Mary or one from the flock family. Anyway, I love it and I loved reading your post this morning.

  9. “House of many blessings”, I like that, too, Debra! Two phrases came to my mind from Scripture, “Consider it all joy”, and “all things work together for good” – oh, and I just heard in my mind that old tune from the 50’s “Que sera, sera! Whatever will be, will be, The future’s not ours to see, que sera, sera!” With permission from my yoga teacher I’d like to share her message that accompanied her newsletter today.

    Some things never change.
    While so much in my life and around me has changed lately, one thing that hasn’t changed is my perspective of Shri, also known as ‘looking for the Good.” Looking for the highest within people and experience doesn’t mean all is “happy, happy, joy, joy”. To me it signifies an outlook on life, the half full or empty question, the bright side, the silver lining, the hope that anything is possible. It doesn’t and never has meant to deny the shadows of life, on the contrary, it means diving into the shadows too, for even they are expressions of the One. From my perspective, it means staying true to your Heart, looking for the one connecting Energy pervading everyone and everything, under any circumstance or challenge. Sometimes it is actively looking for the one Essence even in the dissolution and so called ugly parts of embodiment. To me seeking and serving Shri, the ‘Good’, is doing and serving whatever serves and affirms the flow and cycle of all Life, which means a ‘yes’ to death, sadness, anger, pain and fear, all aspects of an embodied life. Call me sentimental, call me whatever you want, ultimately, to me it is all about serving Love…Loving yourself, your fellow humans, animals and planet. Shri is loving the gift of life and living a life you can love, no matter what… I choose Love.

    Enjoy lovely Doris!

  10. Right now, Mary, you are seeing the blessings from a place that you yet don’t know will be yours. To me, that’s the ultimate of positive thinking. It takes a while to get to that space. I salute you and thank you for sharing your journey.

  11. “there are two tragedies in life, one is to loose your hearts desire, the other is to gain it” George Bernard Shaw Perhaps the pain is in the “wanting” and once again, (this comes up for me a lot) letting go is the peaceful solution.

Comments are closed.