Something truly human: choosing love

My porch with Esther

Esther by my chair

Last week I pulled a comfy, old, cat-scratched chair outside, and put it on my tiny porch. Having it there makes opening the door a challenge, but this isn’t the door that we use most of the time anyway. After I make coffee and feed the cats, I come out here with my cup of coffee and sit. I do something else too… I think about the people who have asked for prayer, and the people and animals that I love, and the ones I’m still struggling with, and I see each one as happy and fulfilled. This way, I have loving relationships with all.

I love this spot, but I know that it doesn’t matter if I am sitting on this little porch, or on a mountain top, in a church, a monastery, or a temple. The portal into the Divine realm, the place of Infinite Good, is in my own heart. It is such a uniquely human quality/gift to be able to do this; to choose to love,…and this is what I was born to do…this is my job while I’m here on this earth.

Of all the fears that haunt us, from fear of the dark when we are young to fear of snakes and high places, there is nothing to compare to the fear that we may have wasted our lives…The challenge is not to rise above the level of everyday life by some superhuman effort. The challenge is to find something truly human to do everyday of our lives.

Rabbi Harold Kushner (from the book, When All You’ve Ever Wanted Isn’t Enough)

36 thoughts on “Something truly human: choosing love

  1. I’m almost 62 years old. I have traveled and worked around the world. I have had the honor to meet and learn from so many gifted and wonderful people in my life…and I am infinitely grateful for each of them, for their love, for their guidance, for their life lessons, for their light, and for their trust in me. And my heart is overwhelmed and overflows with love for each of them. My dearest Mary, your choice to love “us”, and to walk with me on my journey, has been a truly human gift that words can not lovingly enough describe. Your impact on me and my life can best be described by the brilliant light of the sun, the moon, and the stars…and also by the simple glow of a candle or the smallest firefly…the big and the bold as well as the soft and the sweet…

    “One of the most calming and powerful actions you can do to intervene in a stormy world is to stand up and show your soul. Struggling souls catch light
    from other souls who are fully lit and willing to show it”. – Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes

    YOU, OUR DEAR MARY…YOU ARE “FULLY LIT”…THANK YOU!

    • Oh, Kathye, that’s so lovely and so true. And what a beautiful post and photo from Mary this morning. Thanks to both of you.

    • oh kathye, thanks for this post; inspiring and awe-some-most-wonderfully stated. and to you, mary, may all come to you and yours, as you have so freely given to all here and wherever you shine your brilliance. i love you

      • It touches my heart that my comments to Mary’s wonderful post resonated with you all too! Thank you! We are indeed ‘birds of a feather’…and Terri, I live in Vermont so if you are ever in the North Country please let me know! And thanks for the smile and the hug!

      • i will take your prayer into my heart Virginia, and my love flows back to you!

    • Oh Kathye, Thank you for those sweet, sweet words. I am just sitting down to read the comments posted yesterday and I am so touched by what you have said…and you are right….I do love you!

    • Thank you Shirley. this simple prayer (holding someone in my thoughts and imagining them as happy) has been one of the most life-changing for me.

  2. Dear Mary, your photo of your beautiful porch and the loving prayer/meditation you describe when sitting there makes my heart feel warm and my soul remember…..the depths of peace and the infinite divine. Thank you for always sharing your kindness, your wisdom and your life with so many. You make a difference in more ways than you might know.

    • To feel that my life is making a positive difference is a thought that fills me with deep peace Debra. Thank you.

  3. A very calming post this morning, Mary…just lovely. And Kathye’s answer to it was beautiful. Thank you both.

    • I appreciate your thoughts Suzzane…and as I sit here and read, I feel this wonderful circle of calm, uplifting energy swirling through everything…connecting us all in this perfect moment.

  4. Kathye, what a beautiful tribute to Mary! It is so true, we are by nature drawn to the Light, and it shines so serenely and constantly here at White Feather Farm. My brother in law in Spain sent this to me this morning – it is almost ten minutes long but so worth watching (not a single word uttered!) just the beautiful, majestic, wild land of Sweden, nature, and soft music. Have a wonderful weekend everyone.

    • Susan, the video is wonderfully calming and so fitting to accompany Mary’s post this morning. Thank you for sharing it with us. Sweden is in my life this week for I’ve ordered some clothing from Gudrun Sjoden in Sweden. And thank you too, Kathe, for such an inspiring response this morning.

      Mary, the chair looks cosy and inviting on your covered porch. In my mind, I am sitting in the chair, in the sun, with a cup of herbal tea and a good book. It and your post this morning reminds me that all is well in my world. It may not be all right but it is a place of contentment and I’m grateful for it for life is, to me, like the oceon, waves rolling up and rolling down. It’s when we’re caught in the trough of the waves that life can seem insurmountable at times. When the waters are calm, everything is possible.
      SandyP in Canada

      • I’m inside today Sandy…it is raining outside, but I feel the peace of your words…and the image of the gently rolling ocean. thank you

    • What a beautiful and peaceful way to spend 10 minutes! Loved the ‘white feathered’ family make their way into the water!

      • me too, Kathye, the mother looked like a graceful ballerina all in white, standing up to reveal the marvel of all her little chicks nesting underneath! Oh beautiful nature. .

  5. Mary, I find myself just sitting here smiling, letting your words soak in. I love your meditation space, complete with Esther. Love back to you and the flock.

    • smiles are coming your way today Terri,….thank you for your love

  6. Yes, I add my voice to say thank you for you special light in the world and your generous loving heart. . enjoy your sweet porch, your comfy chair, as you look out on the world. Veronica

  7. Oh my, talk about a companion meditation to Mary’s post – I just read May 17th’s offering from Henri Nouwen in Bread for the Journey –

    Love Will Remain

    Hope and faith will both come to an end when we die. But love will remain. Love is eternal. Love comes from God and returns to God. When we die, we will lose everything that life gave us except love. The love with which we lived our lives is the life of God within us. It is the divine, indestructible core of our being. This love not only will remain but will also bear fruit from generation to generation. When we approach death, let us say to those we leave behind, “Don’t let your heart be troubled. The love of God that dwells in my heart will come to you and offer you consolation and comfort.”

  8. Yes ! Choosing Love, Kindness, Silence, Forgiveness, Joy, Patience…human , heart felt currency to pave the way. I wouldn’t mind being able to do over certain passages, but sitting here, now, I must say that the generous hand of Spirit has always put me back on track and Always through the blessing of Love. May we all be well, loved and loving.

  9. I think back to all of my former students and I find myself praying for them. Especially the ones that had behavior problems. I really loved those kids . I know some are in prison and I always no matter how bad they were god always gave me lots of love for them. After all they were only kids . What a wonderful gift I was given to be a teacher. This was a true gift from God!

    • (all the cats do…but Esther doesn’t really like to share it, except with Noah…she finds him acceptable!)…thank you Jacquelyn

  10. Love radiates from this photo and from every word your write, Mary. Thank you and to all the flock responders for the love that beams out and enfolds
    us all.

    • How sweet that Love radiates from this photo Sally….beams of love are heading your way, from my heart, right now!

    • You are so very welcome Karen…my gratitude flows back to you.

  11. Come sit on my porch
    Embraced in a hug
    Plush pillows
    Relax
    Enjoin with the love.

    [psst, Kathye: your beacon shines brightly our reflections; thank you.]

  12. Thank you Susan for sending the clip of Wild Sweden. I cried through the entire clip and thought this is the country where my parents were born. I will forward it on to my sisters. Thank you so much for all the inspiration you give and I mean all of you and especially Mary. Each and every one of you is such a comfort to me in your words. I am so proud to be a part of this flock.

Comments are closed.