Brightening the path

It was 90 degrees here on Saturday...and Noah napped the day away

It was 90 degrees here on Saturday…and Noah napped the day away

A very good friend of mine is about to move to Maine. She and I have talked about moving for the past couple of years, and now her dream has taken concrete form, and she is stepping into it. Since the day that she first described the kind of place she wanted, I began imagining her and her husband riding their bikes to the ocean. That was my prayer for her.

It has surprised me when people (who know what good friends we are) say, “Aren’t you upset that she is leaving? Won’t you miss her?”

No, I’m not upset …actually the opposite. I am truly delighted that she is living the life of her dreams, and I don’t think about what life will be like her without her, because she is here now. I try not to imagine unhappy futures for myself or for anyone else. I also think that our conversations would feel like a burden to her, if I believed that her move was a loss for me.

Every person who follows the Light of their heart’s desire, brightens the path for all of us.

“Loving your neighbor means not to limit your neighbor in word, thought, or deed.” Florence Scovel Shinn, (1871-1940)

11 thoughts on “Brightening the path

  1. Wow!
    What a kind and generous spirit you have Mary. And thank you for showing me a way to head in that direction by choosing the quote you shared today.
    Speaking of kind and generous, I still get shivers when I see Noah in his idyllic surroundings with you after you brought him in from the cold.
    Love from Fran

  2. What a lovely post. I recently “lost” two close friends to moves – one moved to Hawaii, one to Germany, and even though I wish them well, I miss them terribly. Your post makes me focus more on wishing them well, and less on the sadness of not having them nearby. Thank you for this!

  3. Dear Mary, true friendship dwells within the heart…as you so beautifully described today. This move will strengthen the bonds you share with your friend and give you both the opportunity to expand not only your relationship, but to demonstrate the unbreakable connection of unconditional love. Thank you for sharing this story…and many blessings to you and your friend as she embarks upon her dream!

  4. Such a sweet post! I know that time and distance can make relationships even stronger if we want them to be…love doesn’t recognize minutes or miles…it is always there, warmly tucked in our hearts, glowing with each memory, each email, each phone call, each visit…and the hugs get even better! Wishing the best for your friend, and your prayer is the ultimate gift…and one I am sending right back to you!

  5. I just forwarded this to my best friend and neighbor of 19 years who is remarrying and moving to Florida to be with the love of her life. I am truly happy for her and can’t think of what life will be without here nearby… I literally refuse to think about it. We will still talk and be in each other’s lives, this is just a new chapter for us
    Thank you Mary, my dear friend, for always knowing our hearts and what we need to hear. Love you!

  6. One thing we can always count on in our lives is that things do change. My neighbor’s first child graduated from high school this past week, and they are already talking about how much they will miss her when she starts college in Oregon this fall. And they will. And it seems like yesterday that she was seven years old when we moved here in 2002! Debra, I really liked what you said about the unbreakable connection of unconditional love. What keeps us all eagerly checking in at White Feather Farm each day? Most of us have never met, but we still have been making new friends here, and I treasure reading the comments with the many now familiar and dear names. Spirit prevails always, even when bodily connection is not possible. Precious, abiding love.

  7. Mary, I believe your closing words should be bold and cited. I love all of your quotes and feel your words were the best.

  8. Mary, You are a true friend with a kind and generous heart. What a sweet post. The pic of Noah made me smile! 🙂

  9. Thank you! Your words always come to me at the times I need to hear them the most. You inspire me.

    On Mon, Jun 3, 2013 at 7:16 AM, White Feather Farm wrote:

    > ** > Mary Muncil from White Feather Farm posted: ” A very good friend of > mine is about to move to Maine. She and I have talked about moving for the > past couple of years, and now her dream has taken concrete form, and she is > stepping into it. Since the day that she first described the kind of place > she”

Comments are closed.