sanity

Fred napping (in one of my favorite spots) on this rainy morning

Fred napping (in one of my favorite spots) on this rainy morning

“Pets fulfill an incredible function that hasn’t been fully acknowledged and recognized in this world. They keep humanity sane.” Eckhart Tolle (recorded during a retreat at the Findhorn Foundation)

I was listening to an Echart Tolle CD the other day, and when I heard him say these words, I knew that I wanted to share them with you. 

I invite you to share any stories about how animals have positively effected your life.

26 thoughts on “sanity

  1. I have always found that, when I am grieving or hurting terribly, my dogs (and one cat), become very physical with me; leaning against me; pressing their heads to my hand; it is so completely reassuring and calming. I used to have a llama who would stand, resting his head on top of mine, as I wept into his warm, woolly neck. I couldn’t function well without daily contact with animals.

  2. My sister tried to commit suicide by taking an overdose of tablets. Her 9 month old Labrador made such a fuss that the neighbours went to have a look and found my sister. If Jessie did not perform the way she did my sister would not have been with us today. She won a certificate in New Zealand for bravery.

  3. Although I have many stories about my own animals assisting and loving me, I think many people are helped in the humane sense just by reading about animals: think Jon Katz books and stories.

  4. As an Animal Intuitive, I have been blessed with hundreds of experiences in which animals have helped their humans. 100% of the time when I am called out to facilitate an Animal Communication session, it’s the animal who is seeking harmony, balance and a loving connection within their family. (not the other way around) Sanity is usually returned once the human family members understand the messages of unconditional love, acceptance, tolerance and joy that each animal brings to the experience. It is my belief that animals are here to teach us how to BE love…how to use our inner resources and to reawaken our trust in divine intelligence.

  5. “The Diet Assisting Dog”
    I have a toy poodle, Bo. I’m his 4th owner. When Bo first arrived, he did not appear to have any particular fondness for snacking. However over these past six months or so, ever since I altered my diet, eliminating sugar for the most part, and my morning bacon (the only meat I consumed), Bo has developed a keen ear for noises in the kitchen that indicate I am preparing a snack for myself. I cut up an apple, perhaps a slice of rye bread and cheese, grab a spoonful of peanut butter, open the fridge and ponder (you get the idea). Whatever I’m doing that has to do with food, Bo gets down off his perch by the window, and comes to see what’s up. Then as I settle myself in front of the laptop at the kitchen table, he sits at my chair and wags his tail expectantly. Sometimes I give him his favorite snack, a Greenie (I’ve taken to buying the “teenie” size so I can give him more than two a day). But more often than not, I say, “No. You can’t eat all day, it’s not good for you.” Of course, I’m immediately forced to notice that I am once again snacking. I have managed to laugh at myself. But Bo’s enthusiasm for my food activities has made me acutely aware of the times when I just seem to eat all day. He has become a great ally in my efforts to become aware of my mindless eating and my resolve to stay fit.

  6. Oh, I so look forward to checking in here throughout the day to read the heartwarming stories about our pets and how much joy they bring us. One of my most favorite moments with my female dog Lucky is when she comes to me when I finally (in her mind, I’m sure!) finish all my little morning ‘to-do’s and happily settle into my Lazy Boy to read the paper and then the emails of the day. But before I do anything, she has to have her “lovies” as I call them. She delights in resting her head on my knees as I stroke, kiss, caress her head, and whisper little silly love-y things in her ear. She loves to have her face stroked; I imagine it is what their mothers did to them as puppies, grooming them. Then she settles at my feet, so happy I have finally decided to stay put for a little while. My older dog, Dobie, almost fourteen! – has filled these past fourteen years with his wonderful presence, having claimed my son as we walked past kennel after kennel at the Animals Benefit Club, a no-kill animal sanctuary in Phoenix. My son saw him first and was smitten with the way he cocked his head, imploring him, “please consider me, please be mine!” He was such a much bigger dog than we had ever had before and my husband’s first reaction upon meeting him was “he’s a stallion!” – but oh, what a gentle dear boy he’s turned out to be. Debra, I love the perspective you have given us that our animals teach us to BE love. Love that needs no words, but is a vibrant, pulsing, brilliant life force, as nurturing and needed as food and air. Oh, sweet pets!

    • Sweet rituals, similar to time spent with my dog. She loves our time together, she on the ottoman, me in the arm chair where I do some reading each day. Now that we are in summer she loves sitting in the porch swing with me. At 55 lbs. this year, it is a tighter fit than last year!

  7. I could regale you with stories about my adopted dog, Pooch, but suffice it to say, he is one of those happenings in life that, when you look back, make you realize the adoption as a watershed moment in one’s life. I truly never knew what I was missing before he brought his love and grace into my life.

    Sweet, funny, loving, intelligent Pooch. What a gift.

  8. WONDERFUL SHARING OF PEOPLE AND THEIR PETS THAT JUST WARMS THE HEART. ANIMALS HAVE SO MUCH UNCONDITIONAL LOVE TO OFFER AND THIS NEEDS TO BE RECIPROCATED 100% PERCENT. I DONT HAVE ANY PETS NOW,BUT WHEN I DID, I DO BELIEVE I LAUGHED AS LONG AS THE DAY WAS LONG–THEY GAVE ME SO MUCH HAPPY JOY.

  9. And they’re terrific (or in my case, terrier-ific) alarm clocks! No sleeping past 6:00 on a summer morning for us. If the sun is up, we should be, too!

  10. Like Jon Katz, I feel that when there is a strong connection between a human & a domesticated anima & a reason for there being so. Later in my life, I found a 12 week old Australian Shepherd pup who had been kicked by his crack addict owner lying on the floor of my vet’s surgery awaiting the repair of a broken back hip. It was the day that I happened to take our shih tzus in for their yearly shots. Although I’d had dogs all my life, that Tuesday changed my life with dogs. Looking steadily into my eyes, this Aussie pup quickly captured my heart & when my husband remained rigid about not going back up to ‘three dogs again’ he agreed that I could bring the pup home four days after his operation to meet him. As the pup walked into the familyroom with my husband sitting on the couch, he took one look at the couch & my husband, quickly sized up the sitatuion & they spent the next sixteen years together on that couch. Two other Aussies followed; now all three are dead; Geordie, last year at the age of 16. Two new Aussies, two & one now reside in our home & hearts. It is the breed for us.
    SandyP in Canada

  11. Sorry for the confusion with the first sentence. It should read “human & domesticated animal, I believe there is a reason for it being so”
    SandyP

  12. I liked finding this online today, looking up word origins, definitions, etc. of animal:

    from anima “breath, soul; a current of air”

    I wonder if there is a connection between animal and animation. And, “Breath, Soul, Current of air” is hardly inanimate. In Bilbao, Spain, I remember people parting and instead of saying the usual “Adios”, they would say, “Animus” – take heart, take spirit is how I understood it to mean.

  13. When I look down into those golden brown eyes, I am touched to the core…every time. It seems larger than just sanity, which can come under question :). A pet’s love is never in doubt..
    I wholly concur with Debra’s assessment : they are here to show us the way to BE love. And with any luck, I’ll be taking their inspiration for as long as I have ‘anima’.

  14. For me it has to do with connectedness. Physical and emotional connections with my pets enhance the quality of my life and allow me to recognize similar attributes in other people whom I am delighted to know,.even if not in person.
    Mary your stories of rescuing Wonder and of course the miracle of your connection with Noan continually resonate beautifully for me.

    Thanks for an opportunity to think about the marvelous gifts we receive from our pets and the benefits we receive from knowing others who feel similarly. Animals truly allow us to be human and also allow us opportunities to become better more compassionate human beings.
    Love to all WFFF Members.
    From Fran

  15. I lived for many years without animals not having a clue that life was incomplete, just didn’t know. Can never again imagine that being so. I love my cats so much and they have made me a better person. They are so attuned to me, and I to them, and I strive to convey the love and acceptance to them that I experience from them. And even when I’m my imperfect and crabby self, or when I’ve closed them in someplace accidently, I’m instantly forgiven. I want to be the person they seem to think I am..

  16. When I am near animals I am instantly relaxed and feel peaceful. They are so innocent and lovable. They want only to be loved and give love.

  17. When I’m feeling so alone sometimes, caught up and crazy, sad, confused, completely disheartened or worse a small bundle of Love will find me and deliver a dose of comfort that I feel in my being like nothing else. I’ve always written “love” and not “Love,” but this is Love. It is an expression of a spiritual energy, a deep profound care, and a connection to it. I feel it. I know it. It is like no other. This comes through people too, but lots of other less pure things come through people too. Be it a delicate warm lick on my hand, a gaze so loving and affirming, a touch of a nose, a desire to be close, the quiet warmth of that little body in the dark, a head butt, the weight of a head resting fully on me, the Love is what comes through. It might be just the lightest touch or a leaning in or simply sitting with or standing by

Comments are closed.