Dreaming

Fred dreaming, about being Fred

Fred dreaming… about being Fred

We watched the movie, Forrest Gump, again last night. I’ve seen it a number of times but never remember hearing the lines that I am sharing with you here today. It seems like for most of my life, I’ve striven (is that even a word?!) to be something different, something better, something more, than I was.

I could identify much more with Jenny, than with Forrest (a man almost completely at peace with himself).

I realize that he is a character in a movie. But like a wonderful painting, poem, or song can inspire me to see something beyond myself; something on the blurred edges of what I call “my reality”, something that makes me “know” that there is another way to see, feel and experience life, this is what the character of Forrest Gump does for me. And I love him for that.

JENNY: Do you ever dream, Forrest,
about who you're going to be?

FORREST: Who I'm going to be?
Aren't I going to be me?

17 thoughts on “Dreaming

  1. Mary, isn’t it ironic and somewhat sad that we come to self-acceptance so late in life..and struggle within ourselves, looking for something that was always there….ourselves.
    An uplifting insight and post this morning. You never fail to leave me with a smile, Mary,
    SandyP in Canada

  2. I loved that movie too Mary….but then I think Tom Hanks is the best! I watched another one of his movies last night with Meg Ryan where he played a tough business man who owned an up scale book store and put her little book store out of business …he was smug, pomas, etc until he started caring about the woman who he put out of business and then saw it from her perspective and looked at himself for what and who he really was….he changed…which was lovely to see….as he truly realized how calous he was….

  3. Mary, spoken with such innocence…why can’t we be that way when we are younger? Maybe it would make the journey too easy and acquiring that peace of being me has been a much treasured gift as I have gotten older. Mind you, I have my days when I am Jenny all over again, but I try every day to be me. You are such an inspiration to me, and I am totally in love with Fred…thank you for sharing him with us!!

  4. As I read the quote I thought about when I had seen the movie – quite some time ago. I remembered being moved by so many of the quotes. So, being the Internet searcher that I am – I did a Google search for quotes from Forrest Gump and found there are quite a few websites that offer quite a selection. Very moving to revisit them. Thanks, as always, for the reminder to be ourselves. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nl4SRVXgGiI

  5. Mary, thank you for this post! I am an infrequent commentor , but read your writings daily. Your insights, and the wisdom gleaned from the commentary of your “regulars” are so valuable. When I was a very young girl, I had the goal set before me by my loving parents of being either a concert pianist or a teacher of piano. I had severe hearing loss, my teacher ( who I studied with for 13 years) nevertheless skillfully directed me to achieve a goal of going to music school. I had high standards of perfection, drive, etc. At age 32 I lost my hearing entirely, and along with it my identity , my peace. But , I continued to play my grand piano, over the years, wondering why, if it coukdnt be perfect. I finally realized that it was just who I was, a pianist .. although I cannot hear my piano , it is “me” playing it. And that is enough reason for happiness: doing what I am able to do… being who I am… It might not be the most perfectly performed Chopin Etude in Ab .. but it is fine. It’s okay to be who and what I am.. And I love the simple illustration of Fred’s comfortable dreaming. The most powerful messages are those expressed in the least amount of words, it seems!

    • Bobbie, how moving that you could return to your peace and identity through the physicality of something you love doing. We all lose our abilities to do some of the things we love to previous standards as we grow older. I will remember your post when I get frustrated with that.
      Thank you for sharing your experience.

    • Your post reminded me of why I am so proud of being a member of this community. Being able to read your beautiful contribution was so very touching and moving. Hard to describe or convey the emotions I felt reading it. Thank you so much.

    • Bobbie, I bet you make beautiful music because it comes from your heart and flows out through your fingers. I often play my cello, all by myself, and wonder why I play if nobody can hear me? But then I know it is important to play – the truly ‘good vibrations’ venture out into the universe and who’s to say they are not felt or heard somehow, somewhere? Surely God is listening to our praise, if his eye is on the sparrow, He must love the joy of our music making. And it makes YOU feel good, and that is so enriching to your soul. I was very moved by your sharing here. – I had to google the source, but I heard in my mind, “To thine own self be true.” from Hamlet spoken by Polonius to his son:

      This above all: to thine own self be true,
      And it must follow, as the night the day,
      Thou canst not then be false to any man.

    • Bobbie, what a wonderful attitude towards your life. Humans have such great spirits if they only know to believe in themselves.
      SandyP

      • Thank you, community , for your kind replies to my post! I do very much appreciate such a special place to visit such thoughtful, searching and welcoming people. Mary’s insights and sharing of her humanity taps into a deep well for all of us, I can see..

  6. Mary – I don’t remember hearing these lines in Forrest Gump but they are so perfect. I just know you shared this today because I needed the reminder to treasure my daughter for being who she is, especially when she is being a very frustrating (to me) 17 year old!! 🙂

  7. @Bobbie, You are a sweet spirit! Mary, We have almost all the lines to Forrest Gump memorized! Ron hits me with a truism when I need it, including your quote~ But every time I watch this I cry in the same four places, without fail. Every single time!

Comments are closed.