Saying Yes to our adventure

There are times when it just feels like nothing is really moving and “our part” in this is to ask the larger part of ourselves (God, Spirit, Universal Energy) for help. It seems like this asking is really a conscious acknowledgment of a need or want. When I ask, I am then prepared for the answer or opening. Without the recognition, on my part (that I am looking for something new) I might miss the opportunity or talk myself out of it, since often times it can seem a little overwhelming. But when I ask, and an answer seems to come from out of the blue (and is often times exciting, challenging or something that I wouldn’t have thought of) I know it is for me, and I trust it.

This happened to me 7 years ago as I was driving to the monastery (where I was working at the time). I felt like I needed an adventure so I asked for one, walked into the monastery, saw an article on the bulletin board entitled, “Second to Nun: 76-year-old Catholic nun holds the world record in the Ironman for 75+”.

On the spot I decided to run a marathon. My thought was, “If Sister Madonna Buder at 76 could do the Ironman (a 2.4 mile swim in the ocean, followed by a 112 mile bike ride, followed by a 26.2 mile run), I could run a marathon”. As I trained, I sent Sister Madonna a letter of thanks and a small check of support. She wrote back and we became friends. In the process of training and completing that marathon, a world opened up for me that only could have happened if I had said yes.

This coming Saturday, in Middlebury VT, is the Kelly Brush Century Ride. I have not been on a bike in 20 (?) years, but I’ll be riding the 25 mile segment. If you don’t know who Kelly is, the video below is a great introduction. I’ve watched it a number of times, and every time I am overwhelmed with emotion, awe and inspiration to live my best life.

If you feel like you would like to join me this Saturday for the ride, I would love that! The link is here  for both signing up for the ride, and donating (our team is called, No Butze About It, and my son Tom Getz, his wife Lindsay Brush Getz, and our wonderful friend Lauren Butze are just a few of the people on this team)

http://ride.kellybrushfoundation.org/site/TR/Events/General?px=1009801&pg=personal&fr_id=1040

 You can also contribute (any amount) to the Kelly Brush Foundation and make a big difference in the lives of those people living with spinal cord injuries who would are waiting for adaptive equipment. There are heart warming stories on the website.

3 thoughts on “Saying Yes to our adventure

  1. I usually don’t watch the Today show but had it on for a Jane Pauley segment. and a man re inventing his life after retirement. Relates to this. We don’t regret what we did but what we didn’t do. So inspiring but so hard to do sometimes.

    ________________________________

  2. Thank you so much Mary! So glad to have an opportunity to contribute to such a wonderful cause!

    Good Luck to you all… and have Fun!

    Much love,

    Lynn Messner

Comments are closed.