This story of our lives: fact? fiction? fantasy?

A little shadow box that I created

A little shadow box that I created

A couple of years ago I wrote a novel…..then I put it away. I thought about it often, but wasn’t sure how to go forward. A year passed and my doubts about it increased. One day it seemed like I had an answer: Ask someone to read it. Not for editing purposes; spelling or grammar (I knew that it needed a ton of work) but for the story. I wanted to know if it was compelling ….or not. I had a feeling that the right person/people would present themselves and I’d know it. What I didn’t know was that this person wouldn’t show up for another year.

We’d run into each other at a party, the subject of writing came up, and I talked to him about my book. When he said that he’d be happy to take a look at it, I knew to say yes. I sent him the first 30 pages, and he asked for more. Then a week passed. Then 10 days. After a couple of weeks I ran into him at another party, but he didn’t mention my writing.

I had a sinking feeling and thought,  “He doesn’t like it and doesn’t know how to tell me. I’ve put him in such an awkward position.” As I drove home my next thoughts were, “Well, at least I know. I’m still happy that I wrote it. It was important for me to do.”

And it was important, even if it was never read by another person, I was so grateful that I had done it. I loved Maggie, the heroine of the story, felt like she was a part of me, and even though I could see her imperfections, doubts, troubles, and mistakes, thinking about her gave me courage.

A couple of days later this email came from my friend, “I’m on page 100 of your book, and I’m hooked!”

I stared in disbelief at his words. That was August 8th of this year.

Then something truly amazing started to happen; I began to notice that similar events (to the ones happening with Maggie) were occurring in my life. This past Tuesday, October 29th, I was given a gift. Although I can’t speak about it specifically, it is a significant item; very beautiful, valuable and old. It took me completely by surprise. As I was running on Thursday morning, I was hit by a revelation, “Maggie (the heroine of my book) was given this exact gift at the end of the story.” The person who gave me the gift knew nothing about Maggie or my writing.

The book I’ve written is about our ability to change our own lives. It is about the realization that the courses of our lives are not fixed things; destined to be lived out as limited, pre-determined, unhappy, scripts. Some people would call what I’ve written a fantasy, since elements of it have the fantastic, the magical, the wonderous, and the impossible, woven throughout. Yet the events in my life, two years after writing this book, have a stunning parallel to the main character’s journey.

I wrote a book about the magic of life and it is teaching me about the magic of life; that it is never too late to begin again, and that nothing is impossible.

“Fiction is to the grown man what play is to the child; it is there that he changes the atmosphere and tenor of his life.” Robert Louis Stevenson

 

22 thoughts on “This story of our lives: fact? fiction? fantasy?

  1. What a wonderful post and something I needed to hear this morning. I sincerely hope that you will publish your book in some fashion because I’d love to read it. Have a wonder-filled week.

    • Thank you Jeannie and I am so grateful that this post spoke to you…it is the reason that I write this blog, so it’s wonderful to hear. Blessings of all good to you this magical week, Mary

  2. What a wonderfully exciting post Mary! Magical proof (just in case we need it!) that we really can write our own story and that it’s part mystery, part truth, part fiction and part fantasy and faith…with all the anticipation of turning the next page, rounding the next corner, climbing the next mountain. Your post gave me that warm feeling of the upcoming holiday season with all the twinkle and sparkle, magic and wonder. This was the perfect reminder this beautiful morning that we have the absolute power to change our story…to rewrite our script. Like the song says “What About Now”?!

  3. This was a complete revelation to me. I always enjoy reading about miraculous changes in people’s lives, even when in the form of advertisements for products – “x” will make you healthier, happier, more tuned in, etc. Always leave me with a good feeling.

    What you have shown me is that I can do this myself. It doesn’t have to be true to make a difference. Words can have an effect all by themselves.

    Thank you for posting this, and I can’t wait to read your book.

    Susan

    • I love your middle paragraph. I had come to the same conclusion a little while ago, thinking I could simply start writing about someone (someone very much like me!) and have the ending come out the way I wanted.

    • Dear Susan,
      Thank you. I am so, so happy that you wrote what you did because that is exactly what I wanted to convey: we can all do this ourselves. When I originally wrote the story (or should I say it wrote itself through me), I didn’t know where it was going, and then I could see that it had a powerful message about just that. (and then I realized that I could start writing about it here and it would teach the same thing…no need to wait to read the book!, but of course I’ll be delighted to see it in book form one day)
      Sending thoughts of love to you today, Mary

  4. This is so exciting Mary! And I love the quotation of R. L. Stevenson – we should be more like children who “Make Believe” – in believing, we make our truths become real. We give form to our dreams and for our Mary, pages to a book I bet we’d all love to read! hugs to you, Mary and all the flock today. . .

  5. Mary, Since you spoke to me about this magical way of living, everything has changed in my life. I’ve never enjoyed so much happiness, so much peace. Thanks.

  6. Mary, So often (almost always) your posts resonate with me. But today’s was especially relevant to things that are happening/soon to happen in my life. I just want to thank you for sharing your journey with your readers. It inspires me to take a deep breath and trust myself as I look forward to the next stage of my life (retirement from the job I have held for the last 20 years, and the organization I have been part of for the last 36 years!). Part of me is very scared to let go, but I know that letting go of this security (and routine) will allow new people and places into my life. Your posts inspire me to take the plunge into the new and unfamiliar. Thank you!!!

  7. I feel a moment of synchronicity, because for the last four days I’ve worn a rubber band around my wrist and snap it when I have negative thoughts. Then I say to myself, “with God all things are possible.” Now you have that in your shadow box….this makes me believe I’m on the right track. What do others and Mary think of this coincidence/divine intervention?

    • Mary, I’m catching up a day late, and just loved your comment! I am going to start that practice with my little chakra bracelet I wear, careful not to snap too strongly 🙂 I think you are right on in your thinking that the ‘co-incidents’ which is how I think of them (incidents meant to happen together, thus the ‘co’ prefix) are definitely whispers to you from the divine. Good for you for paying attention. hugs, Susan

  8. Congrats, Mary, on the ‘gift,’ and on those wonderful words you heard about your book: “I’m hooked!” I really hope we can all look forward to the published product, to share in full.

    Your posts are always relevant to my life, but today’s post literally made a section of my brain wake up again and realize that I’ve been stuck for a bit of time now in a plodding, muddy realm of existence, where the sun hasn’t shown much lateley. Read your post and ‘remembered’ that I can pull myself out and focus on some beautiful thing, and bring the sun back in. It was like that first moment when one realizes that one is awakening from anesthesia.

    Happiness is……..

  9. I am so in awe that your book has come to life, in your life ~ I love that!!! Can’t wait to read the whole story, Mary! Love to you, Marian

  10. Mary, it’s so nice to have an affirmation for something you’ve worked hard on and believed in. it’s so easy to doubt ourselves. What a nice thing for this friend to say…”I’m on page 100 and I’m hooked”…you must have had a hot flush after that comment.
    SandyP in Canada

  11. Hello Mary:

    Congratulations on the affirmation.

    I know that we don’t know each other, but a friend and I are waiting for the proof of our book from our self-publishing company. I tried regular publishers. I tried finding an agent. Then on to self-publishing. I would be glad to talk with you about my adventures in publishing and what I have learned, if you like. Please feel free to email me, and we can set up a time to talk.

Comments are closed.