The holographic universe

Fred resting his head on one of Luke's toys

Fred resting his head on one of Luke’s toys

One of the most startling experiences in my life happened when I began to see that every being and every situation I encountered was showing me an aspect of myself. I’d heard about this for years in statements like,”We live in a holographic universe”,  but I never really knew what it meant, because I hadn’t had the conscious experience of it.

Then, a few years ago, I started to experience it. People would be talking to me about an incident in their lives and I would think, “Wow, how odd.  I just had a dream about that very thing last night.” or “I just saw the same scene (one they were describing to me) on my run this morning.” Sometimes, a conflict that was being described to me, was one that I had just gone through, or was currently going through, in my own life.

Of course I didn’t always say this, often  it wasn’t appropriate, especially when it happened during my time with a client. But I noticed. And the more that I noticed it, the more it seemed to happen. I began to realize that everything that was happening “around me” (apparently outside of me) was not out there at all. I also saw that when I cleared up confusion within myself, those closest to me seemed to become clear as well.

I still don’t understand this. I can read all of the logical explanations and I can grasp (on an intellectual level) what is being said, but the greater understanding for me is that this is an infinitely mysterious and magical place that I live in: One which offers me endless opportunities to see myself, grow, open up, and expand into higher awareness at every moment; awareness that you and I are not separate, cannot be separated, ever.

And what I think about you, I am really thinking about myself.

How could this not be true if we are one? I discovered that there is no exception to this rule. I cannot profess, “We are all one. We are all Love” and then say, “Except for my father, sister, brother, neighbor, ex-husband, ex-wife, …. who I am nothing like. I am not one with them!” But I am.  I started to realize that whatever emotion I felt toward someone (love, affection, aversion, strong dislike) were all aspects of myself. I noticed that when I had a strong negative reaction to anyone, all I had to do was to say to myself, “Show me where I am not seeing this in myself”, and it would be revealed. This isn’t for the faint of heart. It’s much more appealing (to the egoic mind) to point the finger.

When I am around someone who I find repulsive, my natural inclination is to want to distance myself from him or her. I want to get as far away as possible from “them”. But I found I could run away forever and yet around every corner “they” were there again. Maybe in a different guise, but always with the same emotional-feeling tone. I ran into myself day and night until I stopped running and faced them/me.

I certainly don’t mean to say that I have the full revelation of being one with all life at all times, or even most of the time, but it is happening more and more. And as a natural consequence, I don’t feel as though I need to set up strict “boundaries” or protection anymore….unless of course I think that I need to protect myself from my own crappy thinking (about myself or others). Whatever and whoever is in (or out of) my life at this moment, is a gift to me. This is how I try to see my world, and when I remember to do this, life is very good.

“When I walk into a room, I know that everyone in it loves me. I just don’t expect them to realize it yet.” Byron Katie from, Question Your Thinking, Change The World”

14 thoughts on “The holographic universe

  1. Really really wonderful description/example/application of something that is pretty hard to describe. Simply stated AND deeply felt. Thank you again and again for your guidance to all of us.

  2. Love the post, and love the quote….it made me laugh …. It’s always my expectations that trip me up !!!! Hugs!

  3. Marvelous, thought provoking comment! I’m sure the opposite could be true also. When I walk into a room. I love everyone in it. I just don’t know exactly how yet!
    It also reminds me of the saying I saw lately about cats. Anyone who says he is not a cat person just has not met the right cat, yet!
    Look at Jon Katz and Flo…..

    Thanks a million Mary,
    Love from Fran

  4. Wow, Mary, what a post. I don’t know how you manage to continually write such profound messages that I can relate to (and it seems obvious that many others feel the same way). I laughed out loud when I read the quote – it’s great!

    With love and best wishes for an amazing Tuesday – Pam

  5. What a wonderful post, and this is so true. And it’s just as true that there are times when I can’t see it AT ALL, when I am my own obstacle. Then I love the photo and the quote. Thanks so much, Mary, and what terrific comments from the group.

  6. Good job, Mary. You put words to a concept that is very difficult to wrap one’s mind around, even if, as do you, one accepts it intellectually. There is so much out there that we are only just beginning to grasp. I think if we heard it all, our heads might blow right off.

    Thanks for easing us into it. Love to all.

  7. Thank you Mary for letting us know it is OK to not fully understand this. That it is indeed part of the mystery and magic of our life. I get this. I believe this. I try every day to live this. I regress or falter and then remember to look in the mirror. As Mary S stated, IT is hard to describe sometimes and you have eloquently boiled it UP to something I can internalize yet not get stuck in the whys and hows. And I’ve also experienced what may (in my thinking!) be a subtle, unbecoming aspect of me, suddenly showing up, not so subtley, in someone else…a version of getting hit over the head with a 2 by 4! But sometimes that is the best teacher. I had something interesting happen the other day. Upon visiting a friend, but feeling in a small funk on the way, she greeted me with “I’m so glad you brought the sunshine with you” because at that very moment, the sun brightened the sky for the first time that day. Before any other conversation she went on to say that she had been in a funk that morning and how it just suddenly lifted. My funk had suddenly disappeared as well. It was like our two respective energies collided into a vibrational explosion of joy. Perhaps just needing that tiny bit of joyous attraction from the other to get us over the tipping point! Our energies reaching out to each other, all those invisible (to our eye) vibrations hugging between us before we even touched! IT was really cool! I love the Bryon Katie quote and I love Fran’s reversal of it! A spin on being responsible for the energy we bring into a room or to a relationship. Much love to all…one connection at a time…

  8. Mary, this posting is like sitting down to a mental three course meal. A lot to digest.

    Isn’t it a shame that it often takes so long for us to learn to love ourselves and then see ourselves not as individuals but extensions of those who also live on this earth of ours.
    SandyP in Canada

  9. Love your post Mary and what an amazing revelation to see we really are all connected. I once called it ESP, now credit it to God, but I never cease to be amazed at the connection we have with others.
    Years ago I dreamt about my ex-husband and it wasn’t a pleasant dream, we were arguing. Days later I learned that he had drowned at the time of my dream. We lived in different states and had had no contact in years. More recently I saw a man who looked just like my ex’s brother, again, no contact in 35 years… Found out shortly afterwards that he had passed. There is no explanation for this connection except my belief that we are all more connected than we think.
    Love the quote for today, it’s so very positive!
    With love and hugs, Marian

Comments are closed.