Happy Valentine’s Day, each day’s surprise, and an unexpected opening

One of our Buddha statues wearing wings today

One of our Buddha statues wearing wings today

I woke up at 4:30 this morning, turned over and looked out the window. All I could see was white. A Valentine’s Day snow storm…I cannot ever remember one of these before. When something new happens, even something as apparently unrelated to my inner life as a snowstorm on Valentine’s Day, I try to notice and appreciate it. I like to ask myself these questions (when I feel my mind getting ready to jump on all the negatives of a situation), “What exciting thing is in store for me today!?” or “Since this snowstorm is obviously for me (not against me, not something that I should fight, or judge or complain about), what would you (my higher self) have me do?” These questions open up my energy and help me to be receptive to the larger plan and purpose that, in the moment, I cannot imagine.

….so….

My plans for the day are off, and I have a window of time that I’d like to open up to anyone who might be interested. From 11:00 until 4pm today, I’m offering 20 minute sessions for $20. If this interests you, just email me at mmuncil@verizon.net and we’ll set up a time to talk.

“Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let’s not be afraid to receive each day’s surprise, whether it comes to us as a sorrow or as joy. It will open a new place in our hearts.” Henri Nouwen

****the winner of the skin balm is Suzanne Tate!

15 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day, each day’s surprise, and an unexpected opening

  1. Beautiful winged buddha!!!! Today i am just trying to breathe….in a couple of hours i need to travel 1 1/2 to funeral for a young man i loved very much and hug his way to young wife….he left us by his own hand…i just don’t have a good place to hold this for now so i come here for some solace which i always get in your words…today i am 30 year sober so i will cherish that…

    • Oh dear janette, it seems another of the mysteries of Life; another that no one can probably and really know. I am holding you and your loved ones in this time of loss as you look to find solace here.

      A small poem here that I saw in our newspaper. I don’t have a credit for the author……….Ring the bells that still can ring,
      Forget your perfect offering,
      There is a crack in everything
      That’s how the light gets in.

      So glad that your have your sobriety to cherish, Sending comforts, Virginia

    • Here are the lyrics:

      Anthem lyrics
      Songwriter: Cohen, Leonard;

      The birds they sang at the break of day
      “Start again”, I heard them say
      Don’t dwell on what has passed away
      Or what is yet to be

      Ah, the wars they will be fought again
      The holy dove, she will be caught again
      Bought and sold and bought again
      The dove is never free

      Ring the bells that still can ring
      Forget your perfect offering
      There is a crack, a crack in everything
      That’s how the light gets in

      We asked for signs, the signs were sent
      The birth betrayed, the marriage spent
      Yeah, the widowhood of every government
      Signs for all to see

      I can’t run no more with that lawless crowd
      While the killers in high places say their prayers out loud
      But they’ve summoned, they’ve summoned up a thundercloud
      And they’re going to hear from me

      Ring the bells that still can ring
      Forget your perfect offering
      There is a crack, a crack in everything
      That’s how the light gets in

      You can add up the parts, you won’t have the sum
      You can strike up the march, there is no drum
      Every heart, every heart to love will come
      But like a refugee

      Ring the bells that still can ring
      Forget your perfect offering
      There is a crack, a crack in everything
      That’s how the light gets in

      Ring the bells that still can ring
      Forget your perfect offering
      There is a crack, a crack in everything
      That’s how the light gets in

      That’s how the light gets in
      That’s how the light gets in

  2. The beauty of this morning is amazing! It feels like the fluffiest, whitest, purest cloud has settled close to the earth and our house and trees and fences are popping through it! It’s like when you fly up through the clouds and end up in the bluest sunniest sky with the clouds below you. It is prompting me to look outside from a totally different perspective this morning! One of the prettiest winter mornings I can remember. Dozens of birds are at the feeders and the way they
    are joyously flitting around just makes me smile. Love to all on this St. Valentine’s Day!

  3. I love the quote from Henri Nouwen. His “Genesee Diary” is a favorite of mine – so full of humility and wonder. We are covered in snow in Maryland, too. I love seeing the joy and playfulness of our dog in the snow, as if it’s a gift for her to share with her people. We are her Valentine. Thanks for a wonderful post, Mary.

  4. Congratulations to Suzanne Tate!!!! I don’t know if you/she has ever tried it; the balm is extra nice because it is lovingly made by our Mary. For those who took advantage of the 20 minute session with Mary – I’m sure that the experience makes for a loving Valentine’s Day.

    Happy Valentine’s Day to all of us!

    • Thank you, Mary S.! I can’t wait to get it. You are right….lovingly made by our own Mary! What better Valentine could there be! 😊

  5. Oh Mary, I didn’t get to check my emails until just now. I will catch the phone time with you next time you offer
    it.

    Love your Valentine post. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and Jack! 😘

  6. Thank you Mary for all you say and do for everyone. Thank you too Virginia for the poem, which I love, and I am sure I heard it the first time on Mary’s blog. I loved hearing it to music, thank you Mary S. Lots of thanks to give on this Valentine’s Day. I am thinking of you Janette on the loss of your friend. The little book by Abbey Press titled “Grief Therapy” might be something to send to the young wife.

  7. Thank you everyone for your thoughts…the song perfect and spot on…my beautiful Ryan is gone…he was an artist of birds so the first stanza just wraps my heart…love to you all

Comments are closed.