Play

A frozen bubble!

A frozen bubble!

The other day, Jack came home with a plastic bottle of bubbles. He said that if you blew them outside (when it was below zero) they would freeze and  float for a few seconds before breaking. This morning I checked the weather at 6:30 a.m and saw that it was -2 degrees, so we decided to give this a try and also discovered that as soon as the bubbles broke, the tiny frozen pieces floated through the air like fairy dust.

I’d never been happy to wake up to temperatures below zero before this morning. Something new.

 

“From the solemn gloom of the temple, children run out to sit in the dust. God watches them play and forgets the priest.” Rabindranath Tagore

13 thoughts on “Play

  1. I love that you and Jack have found a way to delight in below zero temps! And I love the quote, too!
    Have a happy day!

  2. I just typed my comments in the wrong place so I’m starting anew… I loved your post today ~ bubbles freezing while they float through the air, popping and turning into fairy dust, what could be more magical than this?
    I envision smiles on everyone’s face today as they read your words. Wishing everyone a truly joyful day.
    ❤❤❤ Marian

  3. I love this! You and Jack have provided a totally new and uplifting perspective to that old phrase ‘burst your bubble’! Now knowing that a burst bubble turns into fairy dust, I’d say bring it on…Burst my bubble…please! Magical, indeed! XO

  4. I think I’ll try it too, it sounds like fun. Heaven knows we’ve been below zero for so longin Southern Ontario that I thought yesterday at 17F was positively balmy.
    SandyP

Comments are closed.