Write Away!

love that face!

love that face!

Several days ago, I decided to write a short story about a trip that I took to San Diego in 2005.  I’ve gone on some amazing trips with my brother Bob over the past decade, and thinking about that trip in particular filled me with a sense of adventure. Yesterday morning, Bob called and asked me if I would like to meet him for dinner. It sounded like fun so I agreed. Half way through our meal Bob said, “I just had an idea. I’m going on another bike trip, this time from Tallahassee to New Orleans, in late March. Would you want to come? All expenses paid?”

I had spent the last 2 days writing about saying yes to adventure (specifically with my brother), and less than 48 hrs later, I had a wonderful invitation.

I’ve noticed this pattern for a while now; when I write with feeling, really get into a story (fiction or non-fiction) the scenarios eventually play themselves out in my life…..sometimes with amazing speed.

We are surrounded by a universal law which is creative. It moves from the thought to the thing. Unless there is first an image, it cannot move, for there would be nothing for it to move toward”  Ernest Holmes

Over the years, I’ve worked with people helping them to imagine and articulate their dreams, but I hadn’t really grasped the power of the written word (in story form) to bring those images to life until very recently, so I’ve decided to offer a workshop/class with the focused intent of dream realization through writing. I believe in the power of words. I believe that each of us has access to the life of our dreams, but sometimes, we forget this. We forget that creative play, spiritually speaking, is very serious business! I know that the combination of desire, focus, and creative fun, can be life changing. If you think that this is for you, details are below.

***WRITE AWAY! Workshop is an on-line class that I will be offering, starting March 1st.  The format and time-line will be flexible but will include 3 (1/2 hr) phone meetings with me (times will be set up that are mutually agreeable). The first will be for 1/2 hr at the beginning of your writing project, and the second and third will be at any time after you’ve begun to write. The focus of this adventure together will be for you to move closer to your dream. I’m not a writing teacher but would be happy to give you any feedback if that is something that you want. I’ll limit this first workshop to 10 participants but if it proves to be successful (and fun!) I will offer another.  The cost is $100.

If you are interested, please email me at mmuncil@verizon.net, and I’ll fill you in on how to pay, ect.

One thought on “Write Away!

  1. Dear Mary, Ok, this is bizarre. I just got back from a “Spirit Message and Healing Service” today, presented by a local intuitive. She gives spot messages to attendees. When it was my turn, she asked me if I had a desire to write. I responded with, “well, I’m not good at writing and I don’t think anyone would want to read what I write anyway”. She told me I didn’t have to be good, but that I should write. I really didn’t have any intentions of writing, but when I got home and saw your email, I was bowled over. I have a dream, but keep getting stuck. After 40+ years of working, I had a dream of retiring and competing in dog agility. I retired, have the dog, but injuries and arthritis have kept me from progressing past a beginners level. I think my lack of confidence has been sinking, because now my dog (who had been very good), is now hesitant and unsure on course, leading to us failing over the past several months. I think the story I keep telling myself in my head is that I’m no good, will only continue to deteriorate, and I’m ruining my dog because of it. Maybe if I write a success story, I will actually succeed. I’m really glad your writing workshop is more about realizing dreams that writing. I don’t mind if the writing isn’t good and if no one wants to read it. I am very interested in saying yes to adventure and realizing my dream of receiving the coveted Master Agility Championship. So yes, I am interested in the writing workshop. Please let me know what I need to do next. Warm wishes, Donna

    Date: Sun, 23 Feb 2014 17:17:09 +0000 To: dogsrus5@hotmail.com

Comments are closed.