A better way to live

Ester peaking her head over the top of my blanket as I write in my "Creating reality" journal

Esther peeking her head over the top of my blanket as I write in my “Creating Reality” journal

Several weeks ago, I ordered a scented oil diffuser on-line. Within a few days, I realized that the concentration of perfume was so low that hardly any scent was noticeable. I tried everything I could think of to make use of the product and finally accepted the fact that it wasn’t going  to work at all. Then I had the idea to write to the manufacturer of the diffuser, tell them what happened, and ask if they could send me some of the concentrated scent. I wrote the email and let it go.

Last evening they called. After explaining the situation, the woman who called said, “I am going to check to see if you can return this and get a refund.” I thanked her, but as we hung up, I realized that a return wouldn’t work for me. I’d already thrown the reeds away, and poured 3/4th of the oil into other containers trying to see if I could get some smell from it. For about a minute I had that sinking feeling of “Darn it! I wish I hadn’t thrown part of this away. Now I can’t even return it.” Then I realized that returning it wasn’t what I wanted. I was imagining a scenario that I didn’t want, not one that I wanted.

So, I pulled out my journal and wrote an email as if it was from this company. It said, “Hi Mary, This is ——-from (the company). We’re going to go ahead and send you another diffuser…..”

I then sat down with Jack to watch, “Steve Jobs: One Last Thing” (a PBS documentary that we had rented). Before going to bed, I checked my emails and was delighted to see one from the diffuser company (specifically from the woman who had said she’d call me today about returning the diffuser). This is her email:

“Hello Mary, I just wanted to let you know that I am able to send you a replacement diffuser. Considering it is an oil diffuser, it will have a slightly different fragrance throw than burning a candle. I would just suggest you flip the reeds occasionally so the oil can dissipate into the reeds and give off better fragrance. I will have this diffuser shipped to the address provided in your e-mail….”

I wish that I’d known, earlier in my life, the power of my thoughts (and especially the power of the written word) to create. The journals that I kept as a 20 and 30 year old were full of life’s miseries, difficulties that I was having with people, unhappy outcomes of parties, frustrations, dissappointments….I’m sure there were some good things too, but I remember thinking it was very important to get all of my struggles down on paper; I believed that this was the way to be “real” and the way to clear away the messes. I didn’t know that I was in a constant process of creation and had only an inkling of the power of my words to create my reality.

I know better now….so I do better now.

“Life can be much broader once you discover one simple fact: that everything around you that you call life was made up by people no smarter than you….the minute you understand that, you can poke life: you can change it, you can mold it, embrace it, make your mark upon it. Once you learn that…you’ll never be the same again.” Steve Jobs

17 thoughts on “A better way to live

  1. Thank you, Mary. Thank you! You have no idea how much your words have helped me this morning! I am turning 40 this Saturday and STILL seem to let the ‘turmoil and misery’ get the best of me! Lol. I will benefit from your words of wisdom today, I just know it! Much thanks again, Cristen Locci Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Thank you Nancy…and I can honestly say that you are someone who lives that quote!

  2. Oh my goodness, I just replied to a friend’s email with the same thought. She had driven past an enormous loom at a yard sale on a country road this summer and by the time she was able to realize what it was, then to find a place to turn around and get back to the place, it was sold. I reminded her that if she seriously wants one of those things(not very many people do) it will land in her lap before long because she is fizzing with creative energy that will draw everything she needs to her Good luck with the new diffuser–great to hear that positive story about the manufacturer.

    • What a great thing to say to your friend. I always feel so happy when someone says to me (about a dream/desire of mine) “I can see you there, or I can see you with that”

  3. Mary, Steve Jobs was an extraordinary human being. Complex, but he would not have accomplished what he did without being complex. It’s a good quote. As to the diffuser, that must have warmed you up all over reading that email. You put the energy out there and it came back to you in a positive way. I purchased an oil diffuser from a US company and the glass diffuser turned brown with the oil, I tried to wash it, I couldn’t. It was imbedded into the glass. I gave up and threw it out. I wish I’d read your post before I did, but it’s a year past now. I’ll remember how you handled this.
    Sandy P in Canada

    • You are right Sandy, I loved getting that email from the company. A diffuser is such a small thing but it is the idea that we can change our worlds with our thoughts and make life better for not only ourselves but for others too that feels so good. Years ago, I might have had an angry conversation with them, not gotten a replacement, and made everyone’s day a little more stressful, instead of seeing a good result, feeling that everything was working perfectly, and sending that energy out into the world.

  4. Love this Mary…the old magnificent magnifying mind wastes more of my time than if I would let it go into that gracious universe..So much worry, so little time…:) …love the quote mucho!!!!!!

  5. I’m going to invite my imagination along today when I take my hike – like a new friend with an unlimited capacity to dream, and make manifest something I want to see happen, either for myself or a loved one – and let it go out there into the great blue desert sky. Thank you Mary for such an uplifting way to think and be.

  6. I have always believed in the power of the words we use to direct our lives. You have just outlined my next step – letting them go so they can work their magic. Again, thank you.

  7. In AA we are frequently told to go home and write about it. This has been helpful to me on occasion, especially in clarifying what Is really bothering me which is frequently not what I think it really is. However, I wonder if I am not just continuing the negativity by writing about it. Would love to know what you think if you have time
    Thanks so much for your blog. It is a huge help to me..

    • Thank you Anne. For me, writing, thinking about, or talking to someone, about something that is bothering me (something that I can’t seem to get clarity about) is always helpful if my purpose is to get that clarity so I can be at peace about the situation. I used to use writing to “vent” and I never, ever do that anymore.
      Since I am aware that the world is my mirror, I want to see how I am bringing experiences to myself. If someone is reacting in a negative way to me (and this is bothering me), then I need to look at myself. I try not to spend time figuring out why other people do what they do (except in relation to how I am attracting it).

  8. Hi Mary, This photo looks like Missie and my “book game” we play each night in bed! I can’t believe she’s been with us almost 6 months. She’s still acclimating herself. It has been a very slow and cautious process for her.
    Clocks ahead this w/e! Yay!!

    • That sounds like a sweet game Cindy….it brought a smile to my face.

  9. Love today’s quote, Mary, and your story shared. You really have a knack for breaking things down and simplifying ways for us to be in a more positive mindset and peaceful existence. Sending love and hugs to you, Jack, and your furry family ❤❤❤

Comments are closed.