Bringing our visions into the world of form

Esther

Esther

I was standing in the check-out line of a grocery store the other day and the woman in front of me began telling another woman about the difficulties that she was having with her adult son. In a very short period of time, I heard this woman’s story (regarding her son). The “story of her son” was one that I could feel had been repeated  by her hundreds, if not thousands, of times: he’d always been difficult, always struggled with anger and depression, she was at the end of her rope with him, she was worried sick about him.

This unhappy story was a huge part of her life. At one point, the woman listening to her said, “He hasn’t always been in so much trouble. Remember when….” but the woman cut her off saying, “And now, his doctor wants to take him off all of his medications……” Her friend had tried to crack through that dense, dark, sad, story but this woman’s ego was having none of it, so she escalated her story. She was, “Arguing for her limitations”, and she was doing it for both herself and for her son….and it is so easy to see when someone else is doing it…not so easy when it comes to our stories.

When we lock into our minds dramatic, highly charged, scenarios about ourselves or anyone else, they stay locked in, in our experience, and it doesn’t matter if they are scenes that we hate or love. We become mesmerized by these images, believe them to be true, and they come to life.

A few years ago, I sat with my mother and my son Matt, and I asked them both where they saw themselves in a couple of years. Matt saw himself in LA (he was not living there at the time) working in films, doing what he felt passionate about, and also becoming more recognized for his work. When he shared his vision, I didn’t start a conversation about how it could happen. I didn’t give him any advice or “helpful ideas”. This was not a discussion, it was a vision.

At one level, this is a fun game to play, but it is also a powerful way to gather two minds for a common vision. From that day forward, when I thought about Matt, I held a snapshot of what he told me, in my mind. If I started to become worried (because he didn’t have a place to live, or that his total wreck of a car, cracked windshield and all, would break down, etc.) I’d get quiet, close my eyes, and pull that “success image” to mind. I’d see him happy and loving his work. He also held his vision, and he worked for it. Every opportunity presented (even the smallest) that felt like a step in the right direction, he said yes to. A couple of years later, when Matt and the film crew from that season of The Deadliest Catch, accepted their Emmy, no one in our family was surprised.

But it wasn’t the outer manifestation alone that we had seen. It was the feeling of the vision (which is ultimately the important thing). When I see myself and others as peaceful, loving, and happily fulfilling our purpose for being (awakening and thus helping others to do the same) I have become a conscious creator.

Our minds are continually creating our worlds, whether we are conscious of this or not. Release your limited, unhappy, visions. Set them free, let them go. Open your arms and your heart to a new vision.

If you look within rather than only without, you discover that you have an inner and an outer purpose, and since you are a microcosmic reflection of the macrocosm, it follows that the universe too has an inner and outer purpose inseparable from yours. The outer purpose of the universe is to create form and experience the interaction of forms–the play, the dream, the drama, or whatever you choose to call it.

Its inner purpose is to awaken to its formless essence. Then comes the reconciliation of outer and inner purpose: to bring that essence, consciousness, into the world of form and thereby transform the world. The ultimate purpose of that transformation goes far beyond anything the human mind can imagine or comprehend. And yet, on this planet at this time, that transformation is the task allotted us.”    pp 281, A New Earth, Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose, Eckhart Tolle

 

9 thoughts on “Bringing our visions into the world of form

  1. What a great letter today. As a mom I tend to worry a lot about the bad stuff. My daughter is going to art school and is so talented. It hurts me when people tell her is going to be a starving artist. I believe that God or the Universe what ever you want to call it. Would not have given her this talent without putting it to good use. Lately she is telling she wants to move to a warm climate which would mean far away. Your story today taught to stop worrying so much and enjoy the ride because good things can happen. Thank you Shannon

  2. Dear Mary, I love the Eckhart Tole quote as well as your beautiful post. I’ve been finding lately that by making friends with my mind while also watching it’s continuous stream of thoughts…and guiding it back to positive, loving and affirming thoughts when it gets stuck in old patterns of worry, guilt, negativity, etc. my mind and I are working better to create a more peaceful and harmonious life for not only myself but all those around me. Thanks for your always poignant and wise words.

  3. Right before reading today’s post, I had chosen at random, number 241 of Doreen Virtue’s Daily Guidance from your Angels. The last paragraph begins, “Today, refuse to see anything but health within yourself and all others. Put your entire focus on loving the wellness that eternally resides within everyone. Ask it to come forward and make its presence known. In this way you heal like an angel.” Like Mary did when she chose to set aside worry for Matt and put her ENTIRE focus on his dream, it eventually took wing and even surpassed its fledgling form. “The wellness that eternally resides within everyone” also gave me pause. It is sometimes hard to find with a difficult person in our life. But if we steadfastly believe it’s got to be there, then maybe we can draw it out like getting a shy child to simply step forward. Believing in another person as we would want them to believe in us. Reciprocity in uplifting and positive thinking. What have we got to lose?

  4. Good morning, Mary – first of all, what a beautiful surprise to see your new web design – it’s cheerful and comfortable to look at, I like it a lot, thank you for adding an extra piece of beauty to my day.

    Your blog today made me remember that l never had a vision for myself the way you described Matt’s. I worked more or less by elimination. I was far too insecure to think that l could have a bit of control over my mind (never mind my life), so l approached life’s decisions from a much more passive standpoint. If someone had told me then that l would do what l ended up doing with my life my anxiety-driven mind would only have managed a sarcastic answer. Oh, this makes me sad…

  5. “Open your arms and heart to a new vision.” So profoundly true and not the least bit as easy as it sounds. Yet, when the paradigm has shifted, the results are staggering.
    It was back around 1980 when I first heard of the newest ‘therapy’ practice called Adult Children of Alcoholics—group sessions for all the walking wounded children who grew up in alcoholic homes. I was well into my 30’s, still carrying the pain and anger like it was my burden to bear. After attending months of sessions, one day it became crystal clear that, while there was real camaraderie in the group setting, every week I was reliving the pity party of my youth. I wanted to explore a new way—a new vision.
    I opened my heart to forgiveness and have never looked back. Keep the reminders coming, Mary. We are all still a work- in -progress choosing a better path. Love to all mothers, including my own, who did the best she could.

  6. Mary, I have to catch myself with my ‘stories’ too at times. This is a good reminder to me not to get stuck in those stories. And this morning is Mother’s Day that having raised two children not my own and who carried the emotional scars in their very young lives and of their parents divorce and their mother separating the four children of that family, it was for me, the happiest time of my life raising four children. While there are always things I would do differently perhaps in looking back, the kids had a level and secure upbringing and that’s about all a parent can do…giving their kids the tools to cope with life and then let them find their own way in life. So to wish all a Happy Mothers Day if this is where you are at in life. I think of my own mother and father at this time and while life was not always a bed or roses, I know that I was loved and I’m grateful for that. It has been a great foundation for my life in the years to come.
    Sandy P in S. Ontario, Canada
    .

  7. Hi Mary!

    I wanted to reach out to say ‘hi’, as I didn’t get to meet you at the League of VT Writers’ recent event. I also wanted to welcome you to the Board!

    I’ve been reading your blog and love your view – very in line with mine. This particular post really hits the nail on the head!

    I’m way behind in writing on my blog, but if you want to read my current one (I’m reworking my other one and will relaunch at some point), check it out at vtelfhouse.wordpress.com.

    I look forward to seeing you at the next board meeting – hope you can make it!

    Blessings & light – Wendy

    Sent from my happy mobile world to yours!

    >

  8. Dear Mary, What a wonderful post! My life certainly became my vision, I am happy, healthy and loved 🙂 I shared your post with a family member who has been living with some difficult issues and yet in the darkest moments has been able to share with me their vision of a wonderful life. I will make a conscious effort to keep their vision with mine and watch the wonder of the universe continue to unfold. Sending positive loving thoughts and happiness, many hanks for your beautiful stories.

Comments are closed.