a silly thing

I put the basil next to Fred to make this photograph cuter

I put the basil next to Fred to make this photograph cuter

I was driving home the other day and a police car passed me. The moment that I saw it, I looked at my speedometer and noticed that I was going 70 mph (in a 50 mph zone). I was at a bend in the road and immediately on the right was a farm-stand green house, so I pulled in, jumped out of my car and went (sort of ran) inside, hoping that if the police did turn around, they wouldn’t think it was my car in the lot. I watched myself do this. I felt like I was 16 years old, and was about to get called into the principle’s office for smoking in the bathroom.

The stand was run by a woman in her twenties, and her parents had just dropped by to bring her a cup of coffee. I think that I startled them a little as I made my very deliberate and fast entrance. I kept thinking, that they were thinking, “Wow, she really wants to get her garden started!”

After a few minutes of being inside, and being shown around by this very sweet young woman, I felt like I had to buy something, so I bought a 6-pack of basil. I never plant a garden and did not intend to do it this year either, but I am going to plant the basil somewhere, because as silly as this story is, it makes me smile to think of it. It was more fun than simply slowing down (after I saw the police) and hoping that I didn’t get ticketed.

 

Mix a little foolishness with your serious plans. It is lovely to be silly at the right moment.” Horace

14 thoughts on “a silly thing

  1. Laughing out loud, Mary. This is too cute. It’s funny sometimes how those old moments return to us for that little energy shift.

  2. Doesn’t take much to revert back to our childhood days, does it Mary…I got caught by the police several years ago driving up a hill on the next line over to us. They’d just paved the road and it was soft and smooth as butter. I had a great CD playing loudly in the car and was happily booting it up over the hill when lo and behold, guess who I met at the top of the hill coming the opposite way. I got a ticket for speeding. I told the officer that I just got carried away and he said, take it to court and fight it…I did, got it reduced to no points off…but I sure felt silly getting caught but oh, it felt so good…can’t explain a road feeling soft as butter but I was in the moment…racing like a kid again..
    SandyP in canada

  3. Dear Mary, What a fun story! Haven’t we all been called into the principles office (even figuratively speaking) at some point in our lives? Now when you plant that basil it will have even more of a special meaning to you and will put a smile on your face every time you use it!

  4. Tee hee–good job of losing the heat!! And the best part of your plant choice is you don’t even need to plant it. With a good, ripe tomato, fresh mozzarella, balsamic vinegar and those basil leaves you can eat it right now–instant Caprese salad!

  5. Yay Mary for your impetuous escape, and now take that basil and turn impetuousness into PESTO, pronto, Mary, – the fuzz may still be out there looking for you!!

  6. Oh Mary the basil is beautiful! And the STORY! Sent you a few items hope to be able to arrange a phone session in the coming months – I cannot get caught up. Have not unpacked one box.

  7. From: Shirley Riley [mailto:shrriley@verizon.net] Sent: Monday, May 12, 2014 8:13 AM To: Peterson, Eileen Subject: Fw: This is the only time you see this phenomenon in your life.

  8. Hi Mary, I love your bright, new blog format! So pretty! I must say, Fred is a cutie with or without Basil, but the photo gave me a great smile! When I drank I never got stopped by the cops. I’ve been pulled over more times than I can count in sobriety! (25 yrs. this Aug) Happy Spring to you all! 🙂

  9. Glad to have you back online!
    20 mph over the speed limit? tstststst – you must have been thinking about something real exciting 🙂

Comments are closed.