now

What are you doing on July 19th?

Noah checking out the July 19th, “Writers Meet Agents Workshop” Colchester, VT http://www.leagueofvermontwriters.org

Since many of you are writers, I thought that this workshop might be of interest. Details are on the website of The league of Vermont Writers

I’ve been sitting at my computer for an hour trying to see if I could write a meaningful post. I guess not, but at least I can post an interesting upcoming event, and a great quote.

Zen does not confuse spirituality with thinking about God while one is peeling potatoes. Zen spirituality is just to peel the potatoes.” Alan Watts

9 thoughts on “now

  1. Mary, the well runs dry sometimes, it’s still nice to hear from you and nice to know that we’re not always inspired all of the time. I leave my designwork sitting around on a tabletop in my studio until it catches dust sometimes. Life gets busy in other directions. Such as today. The big event is that it is garbage day here in the country, my cleaning person is arriving, strawberries are ready to be picked and made into jam, a funeral service to attend this week in the city, life just takes over time for contemplation.
    Sandy P in Canada

  2. Dear Mary, I love the Alan Watts quote. Staying present and allowing the flow of the universe to work through us sometimes means we just sit quietly, expecting nothing. The busy mind doesn’t always understand this…..there is ALWAYS a reason why we are doing (or not doing) something. It just isn’t necessarily clear to us at the time. Your post this morning helps me stay quiet inside and stay in touch with the divine force. Thank you!

  3. I love the Alan Watts quote and observations of Sandy and Debra. In saying ” Zen spirituality is just to peel the potatoes” it reminds me of the scenes in a Vermeer painting such as ” the Milkmaid” . The women of his domestic scenes were often shown in everyday task , quietly going about the everyday , doing their work with contemplation and care. How these simple tasks could look so peaceful and beautiful, the depiction of honest, everyday work as something romantic ( or spiritual) in and of itself. How the women often had a slight smile or look of contentment just going about their day. I think it gets lost in our era of “busy-ness”, always having to DO something “. Your wonderful quote and few words reminding us of those often beautiful times we feel quiet inside still gives us, your readers reason to be happy to gather here.

  4. I so agree Cheryl! Just seeing Mary’s name in my inbox gives me a feeling of warmth and hope. It could open to a screen of white and I ‘d continue to feel her love and inspiration gather us together for something larger than each of us…so delighted to belong to the WFF community

    • Kathye, I feel the same way. I feel a warmth when I see White Feather Farm coming into my inbox…it is soothing for me, too..
      SandyP

Comments are closed.