Help is here, now

 

Mary and I having a wonderful lunch at the Upriver Cafe in Latke Luzern NY

Mary and I having a wonderful lunch at the Upriver Cafe in Lake Luzerne NY

I was supposed to pick up my niece from the airport a few days ago and for some reason I left the house late. I don’t like to be late, as a matter of fact, I’d rather be early and wait. When I think I’m going to be late I feel anxiety well up inside and no matter how many times I tell myself to relax, take it easy, no big deal, some unconscious part of me thinks it is a big deal to be late.

About half way through the trip, I took a turn that I hoped would be a shortcut and as soon as I made it, I began to doubt the decision. My anxiety escalated and I felt worse and worse until I said out loud, “I need help”. I turned on the radio and the words, “I can’t stand this indecision, married to a lack of vision….” were playing. Exactly what I needed to hear….the answer to my prayer was being broadcast into my car.

I realized that I had been thinking about what I didn’t want: being late, imagining Mary getting off the plane, looking around for me, forlornly getting her bags, thinking I didn’t care enough to be on time. This was the scenario I was playing in my head. No wonder I felt bad.

I took a deep breath and thought of the “vision” that I would like to see; me standing at the gate and Mary smiling when we saw each other. From that moment on, I kept replaying the new scene in my mind (although the old one kept trying to push in).  I did make it to the airport on time.

Help is all around us, all of the time. 24/7, it is as close as our breath, our heartbeat, our next thought, the words playing on the radio, ….the ways that our larger self (the Divine Self that is always connected to All) tries to help us are endlessly varied and always available. Just remember to ask …..and then listen….and then do what it says to do!

 

“Another world is not only possible, she is on her way. On a quiet day, I can hear her breathing” Arundhati Roy*

 

* Thank you Liz for this wonderful quote! I loved it so much that I painted my version of it, and it is for sale on MY ARTWORK  page

"She is on her way" acrlic on 2 boards (with nest and bird 'inside')

“She is on Her Way” acrylic on 2 boards (with nest and bird ‘inside’)

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Help is here, now

  1. What a nice surprise to see your post mid-day. I, too, like to be on time, if not early. Sometimes it’s even the wrong hour or day….And, yes the anxiety if I am driving someplace and know that I will be a bit late…oh my! I have gotten better at this and even try to just be on time or a few minutes late. Life goes on….

  2. Ah, to think there was once a world without clocks! Imagine that, just listening to the rhythm of life, responding to one another, living in tune with the natural hours of day and night. Mary, enjoy this special time with your niece – she looks so sweet and fun to be with!

  3. What a lot of stress we place upon ourselves, Mary, would we do this to friends, I wonder? So I wonder why we do this to ourselves. It’s like a record playing over in our minds: don’t be late, don’t do this, don’t do that…does this come from childhood? I have no idea other than stressing myself out seems to be a frequent occurrence and I know isn’t good for my health. I was waiting for you to say that your shortcut turned out not to be the right shortcut. Glad you made it to the airport on time.
    SandyP in Canada

  4. What a beautiful niece you have! Isn’t it wonderful to be with young people, their expressions so relaxed, upbeat and happy? I have a younger friend who I see often (one of those dear people in my life) who is never, ever on time. When she tells me she’ll be ready to meet at a certain time I have learned to simply add an hour to what she says! That has helped me a lot. Now if she is 45 minutes ” behind ” I think she is early , ha ha . Better early than late.

    I was raised with rules that had to be adhered to. Certainly we need that structure in our lives. Learning to know when it is better to go with the flow and not get stressed out is a challenge for me . Your words today help me to remember to release that rising fear and panic and instead , envision what I DO want – a safe and happy outcome . Your niece looks so happy to be having lunch with you!

  5. Hi Mary. What a great piece. I really needed to hear that today. I’m having hip replacement surgery and with all the appointments and going places I’ve never been to before, my normal level of anxiety over being late for something has skyrocketed. I shall remember your experience and re-write the scene for what I want it to be and then proceed on in faith that it will be. Thank you!

  6. Patricia, I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers — that you can hold on to the new scene you create with your re-write; will envision you being peaceful as you anticipate your surgery

Comments are closed.