The world is for me…. and for you

Noah watching

Noah 

I forgot to breath today…but I found myself breathing anyway. I forgot to grow my hair, beat my heart, or circulate my blood…but they all worked just the way they were supposed to, even though I didn’t consciously do them. As a matter of fact, with the exception of breathing, I don’t do any of the other functions that my body so easily performs day in and day out. And truly, I don’t know how I take a deep breath. Sure, I have the thought, “breath” and then I do it, but what is a thought? How does that work?

The leap that I have been taking lately is to trust that my life is working, opportunities are coming, circumstances and events are showing up, even when I have no clue how this is happening. I am moving into the realization that my life is “being done” by the much larger part of me and that my part is to show up; open, relaxed, and ready to take action when I know that the action is being directed by my larger self. If someone needs me, I trust that I will be led to them, or them to me.

I heard a wonderful talk by Alan Watts several days ago and he basically said, “The larger part of us, the part of us that is connected to everything, and everyone, is omnipotent and omniscient. We are a part of that field so we don’t have to know how to do something to do it.” It is impossible to figure out the “hows”, and if I think that my life needs to make sense (to my conscious mind) and that I need to get everything figured out before I make a move, then the world I’m living in is way too small, since it doesn’t include any variable beyond what my puny little mind can conjure up.

I cannot figure out how miracles, magic, mystery, healing, or love happen. When I look back over my life and notice where these wonders have occurred, one consistent theme prevails: none were orchestrated by me (my conscious mind). All seemed to come from some other place. I do not have to figure out what this place is to trust in it.

“I perceived that I wouldn’t have to go out and search for what I was supposed to do, it would unfold before me….but I wouldn’t have to pursue anything or work at figuring out how I was going to achieve it. I simply had to allow it to unfold. To access this state of allowing, the only thing I had to do was to be myself!” Anita Moorjani, from her book, Dying to be me, (talking about the revelation she had during her near death experience)

 

14 thoughts on “The world is for me…. and for you

  1. Mary, I love this so much. And I love how your words always seem to come just at the time I need them! Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

  2. Mary, I have found that life is so much easier when I live this way. When I get into the middle trying to control or worrying, it doesn’t work. Thank you for presenting it all in such an eloquent way.

  3. Dear Mary, thank you fort his wonderfully poignant message this morning. I find that this most simple wisdom of getting out of my own way so that inner peace, joy and wonder can be revealed to me (they’ve been there all along but have been covered up by worry, over-planning, too much mind chatter, etc.) is one of the most powerful lessons of my life. Thank you for this beautiful reminder today! I will use it as my mantra through out the day.

  4. Dear Mary, Thank you for all the enlightenment you bring to us! My thought when reading this was that how much better our world, society & our lives would be if all could learn this at earlier ages! It would prevent so much struggling, greed, etc. Thanks for sharing with us. Mary Ann

  5. “…what my puny little mind can conjure up.” I love that statement. While our minds are indeed amazing, you’ve now made me realize how they can surely keep us stuck in a very small world if we allow/direct them to. Just yesterday I read a comment (I think it was from the musician Usher, who was quoting advice he had once gotten from a famous friend) that was ‘if you STAY ready, you don’t have to GET ready”. And if I apply that thinking spiritually with your counsel today Mary, I see that staying ‘ready’ to accept what the Universe has planned for us, is simply remaining open and receptive, remaining clear, and providing inner space for the wonder of Life to happen. I am thinking of ‘be ready’ on one of your lovely Bee paintings! As well as the old song…”Are you ready?…Yes, I’m ready…Happy day to all!

  6. This is so true. I tried staying “ready” this morning, instead of trying to figure out and control the events around me, and what a difference. Things just unfolded around me.

    This is another one I will print out and tape to my desk. I often make a point to look at another of your quotes – the one that starts out “Who do I want to be?” and it pulls me back out of whatever worry and hurry I have going on.

    Have you ever thought about collecting these into a book? Or maybe posters – something to go to for nuggets of inspiration.

    Thanks –

    Susan

  7. Sometimes when I read your posts, Mary, a song just pops into my head and today it was Magical Mystery Tour by the Beatles – roll up! roll up! The Magical Mystery tour! is dying to take you away, – roll up, get READY, Be Ready as Kathye just wrote – the magical mystery tour of Life! (and it’s an invitation!) is dying to take you away, dying to take you away, take you today! Happy Weekend, everyone!

  8. Mary, the last two posts have been so timely and beautiful. Thank you for all the time you put into this blog have a great weekend!

  9. Noah’s little head looks freshly petted , he’s been looking expectantly outside the window of his world. This is how I feel too after reading your thoughts .. Thank you ..

  10. Hola my dear Mary,

    Beautiful!!

    May I be so bold as to recommend a few more books?

    Pam Grout’s

    ” E-squared” & ” E-cubed ”
    Also, Garth Stein’s
    ” The Art of Racing in the Rain”

    I send this with love and the best of intentions.

    Hugs & blessings,
    Monika

    • Have ordered the e-squared book, Monica …I’m wondering if we ever can change our basic nature.
      SandyP in Can.

      • Hello Sandy,

        I hope we all can for our well being.
        I’m trying to share as much positive information as I can.
        I see us all as fellow souls, sometimes just muddling along but always growing towards our BEST selves.

        Hugs & blessings to you.

Comments are closed.