World Smile Day

this is a page from my 2015 calendar featuring the work of artist, Erin Smith. I love her sense of humor and cannot wait to put this calendar up!

this is a page from my 2015 calendar featuring the work of artist, Erin Smith. I love her sense of humor and cannot wait to put this calendar up!

I opened up my emails this morning to find one telling me that today is World Smile Day*.  It made me want to smile and that’s when I realized that I probably hadn’t smiled yet since it felt like an effort. I am actually trying to smile as I write this and it still feels forced. So I have my assignment for today: I am going to smile as much as possible. I am going to write, “Smile” on my hand to remind me to do this as well.

I love the idea of World Smile Day and the ripple of happiness, kindness, and love that the creators of this “event” wanted to get started.

* The link to this very sweet blog, Reading With Rhythm (Book reviews from Rhythm the Library dog), is here http://wp.me/p2DxrN-1eA

9 thoughts on “World Smile Day

  1. Mary, first of all, I smiled when your post came in, because my email address popped off the previous one message and secondly, I smiled because your title: World Smile Day made me SMILE.. I can only think it’s a much better message than the one I received three days ago which said: World A**hole Day which unfortunately could have been applicable to a particular person in my household that day. How much better to have a positive message to pass on instead of something like that. I have to say that your messages coming into my inbox help to keep me centred and in turn, I’m helping a family member to look at how he can stay centred in going through great difficulties at the moment. It’s good to have tools and it’s good to have language. There is always another way to look at what happens to us in life.
    SandyP in canada

  2. And it made me smile, Mary, to think of your writing SMILE on your hand today!
    I saw the sun this morning for the first time in several days ~ that made me smile!
    Have a wonderful smiley day, everyday! 😊❤️😊❤️😊❤️😊❤️
    Marian

  3. Mary, it made me smile to see the page of your calendar you shared. I had not smiled all morning as I frowned my way through washing floors and all that boring house work I really hate and fully admit….but feel I have to do as I can’t stand a dirty house! Cluttered, yes, but dirty, no! So now I am going to smile or try to smile a few times throughout the rest of my day. Thank you Mary!!!!

  4. SMILE=Such Magic In Life.Enjoy!

    Lovely post Mary! Reminds me of one of my favorite quotes…”When someone is missing their smile, give them yours.” XO

  5. Keep smiling. I was told it makes a person look younger, so all I do is smile. Happy weekend all.

Comments are closed.