Getting off my high-horse!

Jeezum Crow is a real north country (upstate NY, VT, and Maine) saying...this is my latest painting and it is for sale on MY ARTWORK PAGE

Jeezum Crow is a real north country (upstate NY, VT, and Maine) saying…this is my latest painting and it is for sale on MY ARTWORK PAGE

“The only truly humane person is the one who admits that he is a rascal.” Alan Watts

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had a problem with people who considered themselves to be “good”, blameless, or spiritually advanced. To me, they were the ones who always seemed the most critical, judgemental, and also the most humorless. People who believe that they are holding the rest of us to a higher standard of conduct, always seem a bit menacing below the surface. This is one of the reasons that I generally don’t get involved with groups of clergy. I’ve tried that, and it seemed like a gathering of people all hell-bent on convincing everyone else in the group that they were the most selfless. I believe that it was Jung who said that we are all capable of great good and great harm.

There is an expression, “Get off your high-horse.” I’m not sure where this originated but I like it. I began watching a TV show called, Once Upon A Time, and found that the characters who I enjoyed the most were the ones who were not so sugary sweet or apologizing constantly for not being good enough. I think it is time to be real, to laugh, to play with life and to drop the hard and fast rules about who is good/bad, nice/mean, kind/unkind. If I have to be the good one, then in my mind, I’ve created a bad one. I’ve created someone to fight.

I’m not advocating indulging those petty, mean, or vengeful thoughts but admitting them, at least to ourselves? Bringing them into the light of conscious awareness so we can notice what our minds conjure up? Being real? Laughing at ourselves and admitting that we can be rascals? I say Amen to that!

8 thoughts on “Getting off my high-horse!

  1. This is so spot-on, Mary.
    I have found that, the older I get, the more I shake off the shackles and live “real.” How freeing!

  2. Oh Mary I was just on my high horse about people who are on their high horse 🙂 I wonder if we cancel each other out…..I gave the Mayor of our town a rousing welcome when he walked in my university bldg and he just walked by me with out acknowledgment…the world is a funny place….rock on full moon

  3. When I read your words “most critical, judgemental, and also the most humorless… and always seem a bit menacing below the surface” I realized you had just described my mother! Today, in her honor, I choose to be fun, silly, act less than my age, be happy, be joyful and be full of light, love, and laughter! ❤️❤️❤️

  4. Mary, I looked at your title “getting off your high horse” and wondered if this could be related to something I do called “getting on my soapbox” so I looked up the two definitions, which in some way, seem similar and yet, in some ways, not. I’ve expressed my dislike for organized religions before because of the dogma, the church structure and the personalities which seem contrary to their religious beliefs. I’m not a joiner either. So, I am relieved to hear your thoughts on this. But I had to stop for a minute because when I feel passionately about something, I do get on my soap box and maybe this could be akin to a high horse?? It’s made me look at whether others share my current passion or am I boring them to tears…mostly about articles I write for quilt magazines. Certainly has given me food for thought but likely not to stop me on my soapbox. Every once in awhile, I am incorrigibly moved to sound off on something.
    SandyP in Canada

  5. HIGH HORSE – “To ride the high horse; on one’s high horse. Away back in the fourteenth century John Wyclif records that in a royal pageant persons of high rank were mounted on ‘high horses, meaning that they rode the so-called ‘great horses,’ or heavy chargers used in battle or tournament.The custom died, but the expression remains. “To ride the high horse’ means to affect arrogance or superiority, to act pretentiously.”

    While I adore seeing the magnificent Clydesdales, I’d never attempt to ride one! 🙂

  6. I say amen to this great post too, Mary… We can get so full of ourselves sometimes . So important to remember that it’s in everyone of us to have a measure of good / bad . Your insight , ” if I have to be the good one … then I ‘ve created someone to fight “.. Very good . Very humbling . Wonderful incentive to ” get real “.
    Keep on reminding us to get balanced , Mary!

Comments are closed.