open to receive

"Dream no small dreams" Goethe (for sale on MY SRTWORK page)

“Dream no small dreams” Goethe (for sale on MY ARTWORK page)

The plans that I had for today have changed. For years I struggled with disappointment and frustration when my plan was changed without “my permission”. I was always one step ahead of myself, trying to figure out what to do in the next moment, day, week, month….I was like a fast-moving train on a very narrow track, and I felt responsible for laying that track as well as travelling it, so when a piece was suddenly removed, I felt lost and empty. It was hard for me to believe that it could be a good thing that happened.

But over time as I began to loosen my grip on my schedule (and life) I started to notice the good that was always there when plans were abruptly changed. I began to see that these openings were always for me and that they had a certain magic and grace hidden within them. The key to unlocking the gift was as simple as acceptance and an attitude of being open.

As I sat outside, early this morning with my cup of coffee, I thought about one of the things that brings me the most joy in life, which is to work with people, so I am opening up today to anyone who would like to have a session with me. (If you’d like to know more about the work that I do, you can read about this on the page, PRIVATE SESSIONS. Generally, I offer 1/2 hr or 1 hr sessions but today I’m also offering 20 minute sessions (for $20). If this is something that interests you, just email me at mmuncil@verizon.net and we’ll set up a time to talk.

“The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach…waiting for a gift from the sea.” Anne Morrow Lindbergh

5 thoughts on “open to receive

  1. I’m not feeling well today – am in bed binge watching DVDs and I saw your posting and thought to myself – “oh, the lucky people who will have a conversation with Mary today.” It was a warm, comforting thought. I also remembered a time in the past when I have taken Mary up on her offer. Enjoy!

  2. Oh what a timely post, again! I’d so love to have a talk with you, then realized what I need right now is to be QUIET, with myself. One day again, I will want to have that conversation with you Mary. Your writing is so very illuminating to me and powerful. Thank you again.

  3. Mary, good evening – l was wondering, what is the story behind the name ‘white feather farm’?? I’ve been meaning to ask for a while now but kept forgetting – but it could be a secret that only Luke knows…snowy smiles from BC.

    • Good morning Sabina. White Feather Farm (as a name for the blog) first occured to me because my husband Jack had an old sign with that name on it and I loved the sign. The thought of a white feather seemed very peaceful and there is a story about the Quakers putting a white feather on the door of their gathering place as a sign that it was a peaceful, welcoming, place.

  4. Hi Mary – l thought something like that would be the explanation for the name…l didn’t know about the Quaker custom, thank you for that.

Comments are closed.