Awaken!…and let everyone else awaken in their own time

BE

Be Well (this painting is for sale on MY ARTWORK page)

 

I had a dream the other night that confirmed something I’ve known for a long time, “Don’t try to wake anyone up.” When we discover great truths, it is so tempting to want to teach, show, or even push others into realizing what we have seen, but the very thought that someone is “asleep” spiritually, and that it is my job to try to wake them up, only tells me one thing, that I have, once again, fallen asleep. It is extremely arrogant to think that I know how or when another should progress spiritually, and in my dream, I also saw that it was dangerous as these sleeping beings, after being nudged to wake up, actually turned on me quite viciously.

I was 30 years old when I found sobriety and AA. I felt like I had stepped out of hell into a whole new world and was truly dismayed when others, especially those in my immediate family, weren’t interested in this for themselves. But over the years I stopped trying to convince anyone else to get sober, and join AA, and then those people, who I had worked so hard to try to corral into my way of life, amazingly found their way to sobriety. At one point someone very close to me (who ended up getting sober about 5 years after I did) told me, “It wasn’t what you said that made me want to get sober. It was seeing how you changed.”

When I am asleep, I see all sorts of trouble. I see how people need to change, what is wrong with them, how they aren’t living up to their potential, how they make their own, and my, life difficult….on and on, the list of what is wrong with them goes on, and I’m never quite aware that all of the trouble I see is what I believe about myself.

As I have begun to awaken, I see a world that is not full of problems needing to be solved, troubles needing to be corrected, or people needing to be enlightened….by me. When I am awake, I know that my work in this world, in this lifetime, is just this; to awaken, which means to me, to do what I love. Because as I awaken I literally see differently and it isn’t a huge effort to shut my mouth, contain my frustration, or harness my emotional reactions. When I awaken, my actions feel like Love and to my great delight, they are almost always, received by others that way.

 

“Living more in harmony with who we truly are isn’t just forcing ourselves to repeat positive thoughts. It really means being and doing things that make us happy, things that arouse our passion and bring out the best in us, things that make us feel good—and it also means loving ourselves unconditionally.  When we’re flowing in this way and feeling upbeat and energized about life, we’re in touch with our magnificence. When we can find that within us, things really start to get exciting and we find synchronicities happening all around us. As I’ve said, we’re one with the universe, our purpose is to be our magnificent selves, and the external world is only a reflection of what’s inside us.” pp 159 from the boo, Dying To Be Me: My Journey from cancer, to near death, to true healing” by Anita Moorjani

7 thoughts on “Awaken!…and let everyone else awaken in their own time

  1. Dear Mary, your post this morning rings such truth! I was thinking about these very same principles yesterday….trying to help a loved one to ‘awaken’. I realized I could help him by showing him the things/ideas that have helped me, but mostly……by sending him my love, support, unconditional acceptance and my prayers and visions for happiness, balance and fulfillment. We are all on the same path of awakening, yet we have our own footprints to follow along that path. Thanks for the great words of wisdom and truth this morning!

  2. Gosh, Mary – this sure did speak to me! I think it’s a fine line though – to spread good info (or bad) to awaken people – but in a way that is just informative vs being pushy and in their face. Hard one sometimes, but I know it is all our own journey to walk and figure out. Isn’t it? 😉

    Blessings & Light – Wendy

    Sent from my happy mobile world to yours!

    >

  3. When I was a lot younger and had just started on this spiritual journey, the things I was awakening to held such wonder and excitement for me, I wanted EVERYONE to share and to see and enjoy this new-found experience. As life went on, and enough time had passed to mellow me, I finally reached the point of being able to ‘show’ rather than ‘tell.’

    So many people tell me today that they feel calmed by my presence and love the truth I seem to convey; all this, without my even trying to convince anyone. And most interestingly, people feel this even when I’m screaming in my head during one of my difficult days.

    This post was spot-on, Mary. How good it feels when you come to realize that just being who you are and letting your light shine on its own is how you’re meant to roll….no more, no less.

  4. Mary, I think back to when I went into art college as a mature student in my early forties and a close friend went into theology at the same time to become an Anglican priest (Church of England). She went through a real ‘burning her bra’ period and inclusive versus exclusive language. As friends, we survived her period of growth and I learned from her because she made a difference in my life as well, she awakened me with inclusive language skills. I think when we discover something that feels good and right for us, we want to share it with others…but as has been pointed out above, are we being pushy and in people’s faces with our zeal. I’ve had B&B guests who say they feel calmed just driving up and over the hill into our B&B here in the country. Sometimes, it’s anything but calm in the back part of the house but I’m grateful some people pick up on the calm in the front of the house. Sort of like upstairs/downstairs. As Suzanne says…not all is calm within us always.
    Sandy P in Canada

  5. Suzanne mentioned the old phrase “show and tell” – I do remember that day well in early grade school years. And what I am taking away tonight is the most important SHOW is to be how we are, interacting and influencing those we love dearly around us. I have been battling for weeks thinking of trying to sit down with my son and TELL him things that have been troubling me concerning his stepson, my beloved and first grandchild. And I am so glad I have kept my mouth shut – reading the posts above make me realize, just BE there for my grandson by my ways, my being, my support and love and let my son, 41 years old! figure it all out. I also know once I left home at 18 and married at almost 20, moved states away from my parents, I too, had to figure it out. Let it be, let it be, speaking words of wisdom, let it be. For some reason that song of Paul Mc Cartney just flowed from my thoughts.

  6. The words within the Moorjani quote that jumped out to me were ” loving ourselves unconditionally “. As well as the being and doing the things that make US happy. I needed this reminder to look in the mirror. I can feel the breath of freedom right now this morning, when I turn the tables on myself and offer myself this gift . It’s IS so tempting to try to pull someone else along with our overly zealous advocacy of what we’ve found works for US. Just thinking about how the focus should be me, taking care of MYSELF makes me think that this will keep me plenty busy 😉

  7. A friend was annoyed that her husband was really grumpy at her but was happy to talk to my husband on the phone a few minute later. I asked why he was grumpy and she said “I keep waking him up to have him do things for me.” Who wouldn’t be grumpy at that?
    Her husband works third shift (11pm-7am) and then is up most of the day taking care of her and their son. She needs a frame walker or wheelchair to get around, but wouldn’t be happy until she had a baby (they adopted). The husband is extremely sleep deprived and exhausted all of the time, to the point that friends and family are worried about him. Wish that we could help him get more sleep.

Comments are closed.