Life without limits (at least in our minds)

Grocery shopping with one of my favorite human beings!

Grocery shopping with one of my favorite human beings!

Many years ago, someone recommended to me the teachings of Seth*as important spiritual information. I can’t remember if I was given a tape, or how I first heard this “being” speaking through the voice of Jane Roberts, but I was immediately (and almost violently) turned off. It would be years before I stumbled across Seth again but this time, I was riveted, enthralled, and couldn’t get enough of what once seemed like rubbish.

I also began to notice a pattern within myself. I’d had the same strong negative reaction when I first heard Eckhart Tolle, Esther Hicks (who had herself gone to hear Jane Roberts speak, and years later began doing the same work which she calls the teachings of “Abraham”), and countless books which at first reading, I couldn’t understand, but criticized anyway. In the 1990’s, I briefly dated a man who used to say, “We are all gods” and I thought he was a blasphemous idiot. There’s a scripture in the New Testament which basically says, “God uses the foolish things of the world to confound the wise”**.

I love to turn on the radio and catch the teaching of Joyce Meyer. I don’t agree with much of her theology or social/political points of view, but she has a consistent and uplifting message about living life to the fullest and I appreciate her as much as I do the teachings of Alan Watts, Neville Goddard, William Blake, Seth, Edgar Cayce, Norman Vincent Peale, Abraham, Thich Nhat Hanh….the list of places where I find spiritual sustenance are limitless…when I have an open mind.

So back to my initial negative reactions to these teachers. I see that I was afraid that my view of reality would being challenged. Afraid that if I opened myself up to these ideas, I would be in danger somehow…and in a way, that was the truth. Every time my ego gets challenged and proven wrong (or at least is seen as limited) it is like a little death of the old self. I now know myself enough to recognize this pattern. It’s a good thing to be aware of our self-protective reactions when the “self” that we think we are protecting is just a limiting belief.

 

 

* Seth is the internationally acclaimed spiritual teacher who spoke through the author Jane Roberts while she was in trance, and coined the phrase “You Create Your Own Reality.” Seth’s empowering message literally launched the New Age movement. (taken from the website http://www.sethlearningcenter.org)

** 1 Corinthians 1:27

9 thoughts on “Life without limits (at least in our minds)

  1. Priorities first, Mary…….That little grandson of yours is the most precious and happy wee soul! I can only imagine how your heart expands when you can be with him. Beautiful boy!

    Now, to the post. I remember when I first picked up a Seth book in the late 70’s. I had weird dreams for several nights because I could not consciously process what Seth was trying to teach us. I couldn’t wrap my mind around creating my own reality, parallel universes, all things happening at one time, etc. It raised too many questions for which I couldn’t get immediate answers. I was willing to try to understand it but my poor brain had no foundation for this. Then my best friend said it was the work of the devil, so that pulled me back a little; for a time, anyway, until she realized I was not growing horns and breathing fire after reading Seth. Then she gingerly crept in and to this day still speaks of her ‘awakening.’ (Of course, being the magnanimous soul that I am, I never fail to remind her that I brought her to it.)

    You are so right, in that people read these things and their hackles go up because they don’t want their current comfortable personal beliefs challenged in any way. It’s so easy to ‘know’ what you believe and not stray from it. It’s like being able to stay in bed on a cold morning. What they don’t realize is, that if we lived to be ten thousand years old, personal beliefs will come and go. And even after all that time, we still won’t yet have a handle on what it’s really all about because I think it’s all too vast for our human brains to comprehend.

    So….keep on, keeping on. Never give up the search. Be open to everything and discard what doesn’t ring true for you. Your path is your own, and however you choose to use it, it will all eventually balance out in the grand scheme.

  2. Griffin is just adorable! What a heartwarming smile! And oh, the light in his eyes!

    I really enjoyed this post Mary…for me, as I become more aware and awake, I seem to ‘cherry pick’ what resonates with me from each of the great teachers. But mostly I’ve learned, that like that saying, ‘when the student is ready, the master will appear’, if I am ready and open, I can learn from anything or anyone…it could be Abraham, or it could be the homeless man seeking money in the grocery store parking lot…or a very special little girl named Olivia… a bird’s nest, a cardinal…or an incredibly gifted writer named Mary. You are so right, the places for spiritual sustenance are limitless. In a sea of words and ideas, I might feel one simple sentence that sets my heart singing, my goosebumps tingling, my spirit soaring…and it is the anticipation of that feeling that keeps me ever reaching for more. Today, I must admit, seeing that wonderful, smiling face of Griffin sends the best message! Living life in total Joy! Thanks Mary…for my goosebumps from the very start of your message!

  3. Your grandson is adorable! Mary, this post so resonates with me. I have been on a spiritual journey all my life it seems. I was so afraid at first, to dip my toes in the water of all things spiritual. I really thought I would be punished in some way. i think Suzanne said it best, ” be open to everything, discard what doesn’t ring true” and keep searching. It all leads us back to our true selves.

  4. Dear Mary, your grandson is a being of light!! He just resonates joy! And your post today is wonderful. I think many of us who have ‘been on the spiritual path’ eventually realize that there is truth in every teaching which comes from the heart. The words may differ, the teachers may be varied, but the essence remains the same: we are all beings of love and light. All you have to do is look at that photo of Griffin to realize this!

  5. What a coincidence. Last night I happened upon an old video of Jane Roberts channeling Seth, which is the first time I had thought about the Seth material in years. When I encountered it in the 1980’s I was immediately drawn to it, but like one of your other commenters said, I couldn’t “wrap my head around” the idea that we create our own reality.

    This time, I realized that it was making sense, probably because of all the other material I have encountered and learned from over the years, including your blog.

    I’m so enjoying my “Queen Bee” painting, too. I finally made the connection between the “bee” and “Who do I want to be” – of course!

    Thanks –

    Susan

  6. Hi Mary,
    I know what you mean! Years ago I was drawn to the Seth teachings, but then I kept questioning the validity of it, and same with the Abraham teachings. I think we’re collectively evolving to where we are ready to understand. It’s happening fast. I love your blog and share it with my mom daily. I’m also taking an online course with Caroline Myss which is awesome. We have a forum for exchanging experiences. The fellow seekers are all one yet individuals, and the wealth of wisdom and growth is just phenomenon. Thank you for being there and keeping me going many days! 💚 Mary

  7. I remember being a senior in high school and being introduced to Walt Whitman’s words… Do you remember? … ” read these leaves in every season of every year of your life, re-examine all you have been told at school or church or in any book, dismiss whatever insults your own soul, and your very fresh will be a great poem…
    To my young self these words almost seemed like sacrilege… I was too young to grasp the implications that “all I had been taught ” did indeed need to be re-examined in the light of my own experience. Years later ( too many years later!) I came upon Whitman’s words once again as I left behind what I thought I “believed” and began to form my own conclusions . It is, as Whitman wrote, a search to be engaged in every season of every year of your life. And it was frightening as you said, to open up to ideas that challenged long held and very limiting beliefs. I left a very dogmatic, rigid belief system that also asked me to pay the price of being shunned as well as disregarded. But I could never, ever let go of the freedom I’ve gained to be who I am, to make sense of the world in the only way that could be authentic to me. You’ve really described how that process can be frightening , how our egos feel threatened as we cling to limiting beliefs. Thank you for shining a light on the process..

  8. Interesting post. At one time, Christianity was a radical new teaching. I remember in one of the Gospels, people were walking away from Jesus saying, “this is hard teaching”.

    As for the philosophy, “you create your own reality”, I initially dismissed it as hogwash. Then later I began to re-examine it, thinking it was a possibility. But there are many holes in the theory. Take illness for example. Babies and animals, who do not consciously think about illness and healing, do get sick or injured. Or abused. They did not create that reality.

    I’m really not sure how much we are in control of our reality. I think some, but not totally. I sure wish it were true, because my reality would be very different from the one I have now.

    Anyway, these thoughts popped into my head when I read your post. Good food for thought.

Comments are closed.