imagine that!

This painting is a work in progress. I don't know where it is goin

This painting is a work in progress….I’ve never shared a painting here on the blog, with so little of it finished. I don’t know where it is going but I show up everyday and ask. The first day I found an antique tea-pot (on-line) and painting that, but not the flowers in the center. “The Path” showed up yesterday. Then the acorn fairy guide appeared, then the happy dragon (who just got glass scales this morning!)

Several months ago, a group that I am closely involved with gathered for a meal and at the end, we challenged each other to grow outside of our normal comfort zones. The wonder (and agony at times) of being with people who know us so well, is that they can see our strengths but can also see the places where we are not growing, where we might be hiding, and then point these out to us.

Almost everyone there committed to doing one new (and somewhat frightening) thing in the next six months. I could see that the people who really imagined themselves doing “that thing” were already a bit uncomfortable. I know that I was, but I also believed enough in the vision of that group, and what I felt was the love and goodwill there for me and for my growth, that I overroad that part of me that was saying, “They don’t know how hard this is to do. I don’t think that is a good idea. They don’t really know my path anyway. They are just being mean”, and I made my commitment.

The changes that have happened within this small group over the past 3 months have been astounding. One of the guys who was not actively seeking new work was called, apparently out of the blue, by a huge company in his field to take a job which involved being in front of the camera instead of behind it (more details on this to come!). His challenge had involved being in front of an audience.

I thought that I was moving in the direction of more writing but was “noticed” by the creative director of a large company and was encouraged to see myself as an artist and painter in a much more focused way. This change has brought me so much happiness that I literally cannot wait to get up in the morning to start painting.

As I was getting up this morning, a clear message came through and it was this, “Notice what happened when you just imagined yourself differently. All of you who truly committed to this change “lit up”….and I really mean that; you lit up. Now you are “visible” in an energetic sense, to those who are looking for you. I had begun to take an action on my committment, but the other man who I spoke of hadn’t yet done anything “on the outside”…he just imagined doing it.

We, and I certainly put myself in this category too, just cannot comprehend the power of our minds to bring us opportunities, but we don’t “light up” if our minds (and our mouths) are filled with gloomy scenarios, thoughts of failure, begging for help, or pleading with god to change us. We can change ourselves. We can see ourselves in a new light and when we see ourselves differently, we are seen differently.

 

The greatest achievement was at first and for a time a dream. The oak sleeps in the acorn, the bird waits in the egg, and in the highest vision of the soul a waking angel stirs. Dreams are the seedlings of realities.” ~ James Allen

 

12 thoughts on “imagine that!

  1. Mary, I think the most important thing about having a dream, any dream for ourselves, is to not give up. I’ve had many times of low spots where I think my work and where I’d like to go with it butts up against rejection…perhaps it was not the right piece for the concept of the exhibit, I tell myself, when feeling so disappointed; perhaps a piece that I wrote and was not accepted, was not the right place to put it. But to not give up even though there seem to be times when our dreams are not going according to our plan, is so important in honouring ourselves and who we perceive ourselves to be. Easy enough to pontificate when things are going my way; not so easy when things aren’t.
    SandyP in Southern Ontario, Canada

  2. Dear Mary, thank you for such an uplifting message this morning. I really needed to hear this, as I am currently going thru a growth phase that is sometimes confusing and certainly challenging. Your blog is always such an inspiration and a life-line for me. Thank you for your always honest and wise words.

  3. Wow! I have already passed on the quote to my sons and a dear friend of mine this morning. This post will be my food for thought on my mountain walk in a few minutes. I was on the fence about signing up for an eight hour class with John Freedom, EFT Instructor and Author of Heal Yourself with Emotional Freedom Technique – I’m not at all acquainted with the “tapping” technique, but this invitation came through my reiki practitioner and my first thought was ‘oh, it’s an hour’s drive’, will it be worth it?’, but to be really honest my real first instinct was to say Yes! Go! And now, after reading your post Mary, I know I will undoubtedly learn some wonderful new things, and like the little seedling, who knows when I may put this new information into practice? Love this group who gathers here! Mary, paint away!

  4. What a lovely poem below, to accompany Mary’s post, by William Butler Yeats – He Dreams of Heaven’s Cloths

    Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
    Enwrought with golden and silver light,
    The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
    Of night and light and the half-light,
    I would spread the cloths under your feet:
    But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
    I have spread my dreams under your feet;
    Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

  5. This post, Mary, opened up such a flood of thoughts for me….well, I don’t even know where to begin getting them down on paper for examination. So I’ll just thank you once again for opening up yet another new path for me. You are such a wellspring!

  6. As I go through a very difficult midlife transition, as I have shed old obsolete ways of thinking,I find myself at the point where I am imagining how I might take all that I have become in the first half of my life and manifest it outwardly into the world- and make money doing it. An idea had been unearthing itself for awhile and one night, synchronicity happened and I made a brave move to tell someone of my idea and ask her to put me in touch with someone she knew who could help me. And she did! And I freaked out and went back into my shell, saying ” Who would want this idea, no way and from you. Look at you. You look like a bag lady in your donated clothes from a lady who died, you have broken glasses, you’ve gotten so fat it’s ridiculous, you have no money(75cents as I write this) and your hair is scraggely.” ( I lost my house and everything after a job loss- and I say thank god for that) And as I sat there thinking this, another thought came into my head” Yes, outwardly you look pretty beat up. In fact, the odds especially in this power, appearance obsessed town are very low that this idea will be embraced with you looking like this and your recent history.” And I started gaining strength and I smiled. Yup, the odds are against me and something said, “Wouldn’t it be something to do it.” And I started to light up. I had lost my fire for awhile but it’s coming back. That still voice that is inside me tells me I am going to do something empowering with this idea and that I am going to become fabulous! So, thank you Mary. You always say something that meets exactly what my soul and my fearful little ego need to read. I sometimes feel I have no support but it’s here and it’s you. Thanks.

  7. Oh how excited I am for you, Mary! Your paintings are so brilliantly unique and light-filled. I love the idea of committing to doing the one new thing. I am going to hold that intention for myself and see what happens! Thanks for sharing this part of your magical journey! 🙂

  8. Oh, this was a wonderful post, Mary! A great reminder of the power of thought. I have been blessed many times over as a result of this same action. Enjoy the ride!

    ~ Wendy

    Sent from my happy mobile world to yours!

    >

  9. Wow, Mary, this was so inspiring to read! Thank you for sharing it 🙂 I will start imagining myself doing wonderful works in mosaic!

Comments are closed.