Everything works together….

A robin has built her nest about 5 feet from my window

This robin built her nest about 5 feet from the window where I sit to do my work. I’ve watched her build it from the beginning. She’s been there through sun, rain, snow, and wind. I’ve also noticed that as I fall asleep at night, holding loved ones in my prayers, she is now a part of that group.

 

A few days ago I stubbed my toe hard enough to chip the nail. It didn’t hurt but when I stubbed it harder that evening, I noticed the pattern. The next day as I was getting out of my car, the wind blew the door onto my foot, painfully bending my toe back. After the third time, I knew that I had to do something different.

Usually, when things like this occur, I can get quiet and see what has been going on in my mind. I always find that I’ve been thinking negative or unhappy thoughts but this time the answer did not seem clear, so I looked up “toe injury” in Louise Hay’s book, “You Can Heal Your Life”, which basically said that toe injuries represented worry about minor, future, details. When I read this, I laughed out loud and immediately saw what I’d been doing.

I’ve been in the planning stage for several events and thought that my attention to detail was somewhat admirable. Right down to the wrapping paper for the gifts, I had been very focused (obsessed) on getting everything “perfect”. Once I recognized this, the pain in my toe began to disappear and by that night, it was gone.

I’ve noticed through the years that when people have sudden revelations about something they’ve been unconsciously doing, quite often their reaction is laughter. I always pay attention to emotional reactions, they are magnificent guides. When that burst of laughter spontaneously erupted from me, I knew that I had my answer. I didn’t need to rethink it. I simply thanked my inner being for the guidance to change course.

An interesting thing also happened the day after this revelation. I’d been feeling blocked artistically and a little worried that I had run out of new, creative, ideas for paintings, when suddenly a flood of inspiration rushed in and I felt in the flow again.

There are no coincidences. Everything that happens to us is really happening for us and if we want to know how we can change it, the answer is never hidden. It can come in the form of a song, a word on a street sign, an unexpected phone call, or the inspiration to look in a book.

 

Sometimes when we pray for guidance, we’re guided in unexpected directions. We may want a lofty answer and we get the intuition to clean our bedroom. It can seem so humble and picky that you don’t necessarily think of it as spiritual guidance.” Julia Cameron

detail from one of my new paintings, "Yes is the answer. John Lennon"

detail from one of my new paintings, “Yes is the answer. John Lennon” for sale on MY ARTWORK PAGE

 

 

11 thoughts on “Everything works together….

  1. I love it when I see your name in my emails and I can open it up to your inspirational words. I love your new painting and so glad to hear you have more to come.

  2. Thank you, Mary, for another great blog that started me thinking. I get excited to see your name in my inbox and know there is always something interesting for me to read and mull over . Thank you and have a wonderful week-end!

  3. I, too, am grateful and always uplifted by the uniqueness of your messages, Mary. I’m not sure what to think of this one. I hate having artistic blocks and I do have them. My whole life depends upon my creativity, it’s like the water beneath my boat keeping it afloat. And yet, something was trying to get your attention and it your toe was it, good. Louise Hay’s books are good.
    SandyP in S.Ont,Can.

    • Dear Sandy,
      Your thoughts are very much appreciated. I had not even made the connection until I began to write about it. I just found a wonderful quote by Octavia Butler, “Every story I create creates me. I write to create myself.”….and I see that come true every day. Love, Mary

  4. Mary your thoughts are always a lesson in introspection and open up my mind to other ways of thinking and reacting to myself . Your saying that you hold the little bird in prayer , as in your group of loved ones just touched my heart . And reminded me of this poem that gives me alot of joy when I think of it as i ” grow older”.. I love ee cummings for how his words open the mind to freedom of thought, with a dash of whimsy … (Such as you do also.. With your words and art)
    “may my heart always be open to little
    birds who are the secrets of living
    whatever they sing is better than to know
    and if men should not hear them men are old

    may my mind stroll about hungry
    and fearless and thirsty and supple
    and even if it’s sunday may i be wrong
    for whenever men are right they are not young

    and may myself do nothing usefully
    and love yourself so more than truly
    there’s never been quite such a fool who could fail
    pulling all the sky over him with one smile”
    E.E. Cummings, from his Complete Poems, 1904-1962

  5. Oh, your timing, Mary! I had one of these days this week – dropping, spilling, bloody nose – and all I could do was laugh, because I realized it was all a message to gain some clarity in my life (or, at least that’s how I interpreted it, thinking my head was just in a fog). As it happens, I released any emotion around it, letting things fall where they may at that point, glad that I was aware of something trying to get through. And, today, I went on an organizing binge to just ‘clear away the cobwebs’ that had settled in with my sprained knee a few weeks ago. I love your quote from Julia – she’s is such a wonderful teacher!

    Here’s hoping all things are well with you and your events go swimmingly, as hoped! Will see you soon!

    Hugs – Wendy

  6. What treasures in your post, Mary (and beautiful artwork, and John Lennon! yay) and also in the responses – Bobbiemeri, I LOVE that poem and haven’t thought of it for so long, thank you for including it! I went to water my big pot of geraniums in the front of my house two weeks ago only to discover nine tiny quail eggs in the middle of the pot – since then Mama has been sitting on them constantly, almost – and I will just let the plant go without water so as not to disturb the eggs – in one month, once we reach 100 degrees +, the geranium will be toast anyway, but to see this miracle of patience, devotion, although yes, it is the Mama’s instinct – still, I can’t wait to see the fledglings soon, and pray a bobcat does not descend for an early a.m. breakfast. Here’s to a week of positive flow for all.

  7. I wonder what it means when you smash your knee into things all the time. It’s the one I have arthritis in and it really hurts!
    I hope you little robin does well with her brood. You will have a front seat to the nursery when they hatch!

Comments are closed.