Dreaming

Fred

                              Fred napping

Several nights ago I had a dream that a rat was sitting next to me. I wasn’t afraid of it but I also knew not to touch it. The next night, the rat appeared again and this time it was a little more threatening, but the same feeling was there not to touch it. When I have serial dreams, I know that my inner being is trying to show me something, so I asked (myself) for clarity. The word “shrewd” kept coming up and as I felt my way through this, the answer became clear: “Don’t be shrewd. Don’t try to figure out anyone else’s motivation for doing anything.”

I can always tell when the correct interpretation of a dream presents itself by the “ah ha” feeling that washes over me.  I also know that if I need more information, or if the interpretation isn’t correct, the dream will show up again.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve paid attention to my dreams. I never say that dreams are bad, weird, strange, awful, confusing, or stupid. I never say that I can’t understand them or wish they would stop….even though I’ve felt all of these things. If I’m doing something in my waking hours that isn’t helpful (or is harmful) to myself or others, I will hear about it in my dreams. The more off-base I am in my actions or thoughts, the more intense and shocking my dreams will become. That’s why I do my best to honor dreams even when their highly symbolic, sometimes frightening, images can make me want to recoil or run away from them.

Dreams can be fierce teachers, but they are here to help by saying to us,”Look at this now before it gets bigger.”

“Whatever is rejected from the self, appears in the world as an event.” C.G. Jung

5 thoughts on “Dreaming

  1. Mary, whatever is on my mind during the day that is worrying me or a commitment, which as I grow older, weighs more heavily on me, it shows up in my dreams. To me it’s the subconscious trying to work things out while I’m sleeping. My brain at some level keeps working. On the other hand, consider this: I’m environmentally sensitive and when I get out playing in the traffic sniffing petro chemical fumes, I can have absolutely wild and totally weird dreams…so I give myself some slack there…it’s not always my subconscious trying to work things out, it’s my body trying to throw off pollution. Sometimes I wish my brain would just take a break and turn off and go to sleep. It can be a regular pain in the butt.
    SandyP, in S.Ont.Can.

  2. I love the photo of Fred napping. Oh to be able to sleep like our cats! I found this post really interesting as I tend to have many what I have called weird and crazy dreams and tend to dismiss them as just silly. Maybe I should take a closer, more accepting look.

  3. Dear Mary, I too believe that our dreams are messages from our inner selves. And interpretation is a completely personal thing. One symbol might mean many different things to many different people. I love unpacking my dreams, to find the jewel of the message or lesson. Dreamtime is so very important in our personal, spiritual evolution and being open to listening with our gut when trying to understand their meanings leads us to a deep understanding of our true selves.

  4. Hi Mary. What a terrific piece! Two friends and I have been in a dream study group (via the Edgar Cayce’s Association for Research and Enlightenment. You are so right on and it was an excellent reminder. I loved the Carl Jung quote and your comment about dreams being fierce teachers but they help us to change something before it gets out of control. Thank you for the terrific reminder!

  5. Dear Mary,
    Beyond the always-germane-to-me message, the photos of your kitties are THE BEST part of my day!! It’s my kitty-fix. oxxoxo

Comments are closed.