Perfect timing

 

the babies are getting big!

the babies are getting big!

Several days ago, my mother called and asked me to change her airline reservation for an upcoming trip. She said that she wasn’t comfortable with the original schedule, which involved driving the final leg of the trip, and that she wanted to not only change her original flights but to add two more. When we hung up, I felt the strong urge to do it right then, but I hesitated for a second because I had a full day of appointments that were about to begin in 20 minutes….yet I really wanted to do it, so I called the airline. I was feeling very good at the time.

Within ten minutes all flights were changed and the new ones added but the agent said that there would be a $200 fee/penalty for the change. I then asked her a simple question, “Can you waive the fee?” She put me on hold and came back a couple of minutes later saying that the fee had been waived. I thanked her, hung up and began my day with no delay.

Perfect timing…Divine timing….Miraculous timing…

I believe that there is a Divine Flow to this entire experience that we call life, and when we are feeling that flow, it is the perfect time to make those calls, take whatever action feels right, or trust the thought/idea that just seemed to appear from out of the blue. It is equally important is to wait (when possible) and not do anything when I’m angry, frustrated or afraid.

I’ve made more messes out of situations by taking action when I was not in a good frame of mind. I’d get upset about something and then feel that I needed to do something to relieve the anxiety that felt unbearable. I wanted resolution so I would feel better, damn it! Usually this involved talking with someone who I was upset with; whether that someone was the representative of a company, a family member, or really anyone who I was perceiving as the cause of my trouble, and my goal was to get them to do something that I wanted so I could feel better. It rarely worked and often I just caused more anger or upset. I almost always felt out of control.

I didn’t know that I had to work with my own mind first. I didn’t know that I could get quiet inside, imagine the outcome that I wanted, and then wait until I felt “moved”, trust that feeling, and then do “it”. Being out of control is not the same as “being moved”.  When I am allowing the spirit within me to inform my timing it can feel like an adventure …but it never feels like I am preparing for a fight.

 

 

Many people are using personal power instead of God-power, which always brings unhappy reaction. Personal power means forcing personal will…The only person you can change is yourself. When you are undisturbed by a situation it falls away of its own weight. Your life is outpictured by the sum-total of your subconscious beliefs. Wherever you go, you take these conditions with you. As you change, all the conditions around you will change! People will change! Florence Scovel Shinn

9 thoughts on “Perfect timing

  1. Mary, I’ve been away from your ‘divine’ postings for awhile. I have to say that this post is genius. We always forget that we’re not alone. Thanks for the timely reminder that God is always with us. “Man makes plans and God laughs.”

  2. Dear Mary, this is such a beautiful post! You are so right about the power of being willing to follow that feeling of flow, instead of trying to “push the river”. When I am in tune with the universal life force, there is a distinct feeling of ‘rightness’, and when I am not, there is a feeling of being off, a hollow, sometimes grumpy feeling of wanting to force things. I’m learning to discipline myself to be patient and listen for that feeling of flow, and to also not punish myself when I don’t.

  3. Mary, I’ve raised four children, two not my own, two of my own (adopted) and my son, who is now of middle age, is still a loving challenge. What he is, is a decent person. And what he also is, is having ADHD which still affects his life. Over this past year and more,he (and thus, I in trying to support him) have been going through some difficult challenges in his personal life. But I am finding that some of those challenges are simply wearing me out and so your reminders of turning our issues over to a Higher Power, always so helpful. When I say “I give up, I can’t do this anymore, I’m turning….this….over to you, God” (or whatever your Higher Power may be)….Somehow I feel better. But I need to do this vigilantly, every moment, every day, because as a mother, I try to rush in and help. Which doesn’t help another to grow and learn to be themselves. So thank you for your uplifting words, Mary, honest in content, sharing your own foibles with us, which many of us can relate to ourselves. We are all aware of reality and a side of life that can be very painful for us both emotionally and physically but to be without hope has to be the hardest of all things. To come to a place here on the internet where I feel uplifted, encouraged, is a good thing for me personally. This may be off topic in a sense but I don’t think it is. I’m in a constant battle with my ego trying to control my life and me.
    SandyP in Canada

    • Sandy your words are so poignant , in speaking of how much you have on your plate too , and in mentioning that battle with the ego imaging it can control things. I am also glad for the reminders to remain in the Divine flow, listening to it with patience, knowing that it’s okay to turn things over, and to wait.. Nothing has to be done until or unless it feels right. I need to learn to more readily trust my intuition..

      • Bobbiemeri, your posting feels very supportive and I thank you but I confess to not being very successful when it comes to worrying about my adult children. Funny, because I never had any real desire to be a mother, adopted my two children because having a family, a home, etc. was what we did being raised in the 40’s & 50’s…the white picket fence syndrome, I call it. I have to pray every day when things get rough around here and I never know whether it’s doing me any good at all…it’s like filling up at the gas station then my tank runs low and I have to fill up again, spiritually.
        Sandy P in Canada

      • I am always glad to revisit Mary’s post to re read and take in the depth of what she brings to attention. In taking a look again at the words in the Florence Shinn quote ” when you are undisturbed by a situation it falls away of its own weight” I am starting to see better how it can be really true if we remember that the only thing we can change is ourselves. A good friend of mine (who also happens to be a wise counselor), has reminded me often how shocking it can seem when we realize that there is very little control any of us have , but we do have ourselves. It all comes back to maintaining and containing our own center of peace and well being , and that is what we can manifest to the world , and to ourselves. As Mary said, it rarely works to try to do something for, or change another’s thoughts. I need to remember the process, and take the time to get quiet inside … I like the mental imagery of troublesome situations falling away.. Perhaps even melting into a peaceful , shimmering reflecting pool , and look who is there….

  4. Agh, such perfect timing! I now going to tear up the emotional response I wrote this morning to (.now a frmr friend) judgemental letter to me. Instead, I shall reply w grace & dignity. You’re right, it felt so damn good to scribble out 4 pages of defensive words. But why fan a fire I don’t want to stand by. It doesn’t warm me, it only burns. A virtual hug to your wisdom!

  5. I keep re-reading this post and the quote. The entire quote by Florence Scovel Shinn is something I will be reminding myself of often. Has lots of “meat” for me. Was wondering which of her writings this came from (title/page)

    Also wanted to tell you how great your Facebook posting is of your art work and of YOU! Both brought a big smile to my face this morning.

    • thank you, Mary! The quote is from the book, “The Power of the Spoken Word” (page 294) which is one of four books within a book called, “The Wisdom of Florence Scovel Shinn”…

Comments are closed.