true power comes from within

examples of power poses

A bunch of people emailed to say that the link to this TED talk didn’t come through so I’m re-posting yesterday’s blog along with a photo of the poses. I’d originally heard Amy Cuddy on NPR and as she spoke about her personal journey of feeling like she didn’t belong, and what changed for her, I was deeply moved. At the end of the talk she basically said that making this small change in the way we “stand” can dramatically change our lives. She went on to say that she wanted to get this information out to help those who may have no resources other than their own minds to work with.

I just watched a great TED talk given by Amy Cuddy (a professor at Harvard Business School) and wanted to share it with you. It’s about 20 minutes long and toward the end, she talks about how changing our “postures” for only 2 minutes will change our minds and our lives.

a new little painting of mine called, The Invitation, that I'm offering for $44. If you are interested, you can find details on MY ARTWORK PAGE

a new little painting of mine called, The Invitation, that I’m offering for $44. If you are interested, you can find details on MY ARTWORK PAGE

4 thoughts on “true power comes from within

  1. Mary, the link was posted beneath your name and not easily visible but it was there, for me, at least. ‘True power comes from within’ is a statement that may be enlarged upon to include the fact that spiritually, our Higher Power is part of this. Within each of us are resources to deal with our lives if we’re open to seeing them. However, I vacillate between reaching for that inner power and crashing emotionally around in my head not knowing how or where it is. It’s never a constant peaceful, in-charge feeling. Last week, a very close and wonderful male friend died. He was my late husband’s closest friend and he kindly ‘inherited’ me and my children who were very young at the time, took us under his wing and as the saying goes, he had my back until the day he died, last Tuesday a week ago. He died at 4 a.m. that morning, I woke up at 4:05 a.m. that morning, my heart racing, fearful. I went back to sleep and at 8 a.m. I opened an email from his wife telling me that he had died earlier that morning. It was not unexpected, pancreatic cancer. Yet, that day I felt that my friend’s energy, his attitude towards life, always positive, never a challenge that was met with negativity but what he could learn from it, I was imbued with an energy and peace such as I’ve not known in the days since. How can something like that be explained? I think there are magical things that happen in our lives that come from some inner resource and true power within us and when it happens, it is to be treasured and recognized that it will be there again for each of us.
    Sandy Proudfoot, in Canada

    • Thank you SandyP for sharing this personal story, – may your dear friend’s spirit continue to comfort you and shore up your spirit when you are feeling sad. Love, Susan

  2. This was awesome, Mary! Thanks for reposting!

    Anne

    The struggle is not to change what we think and feel. The struggle is to know that what we think and feel is not reality.

    >>

    >

Comments are closed.