Affirming life…a little give-away

The box of affirmation cards

The box of affirmation cards

Most people who read this blog know that I love a good affirmation…and by that I mean an affirmation that moves me to a better feeling place. One of my favorites is to say, “This is happening for me”, right in the middle of what seems like a challenging situation.  I almost always need to repeat these words over and over, but they never fail to open up something inside (which inevitably opens up things on the “outside”).

In the process of cleaning out my bookshelves, I found a great little box of affirmation cards called, Ask and it is Given, by Esther Hicks, and I’d like to give these away. To enter this give-away, all you need to do is comment and tell us what affirmation works for you. Feel free to tell a story of how you used it or just write the affirmation/s. I will choose a random winner on Wed. Oct 21st.

“Change your thoughts and you change your world.” Dr. Norman Vincent Peale

47 thoughts on “Affirming life…a little give-away

  1. My parks dept was Recently dissolved. After 14 years of service, I felt like a death had occurred. I kept reminding myself, that when God closes a door, he always leaves a window open.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Mary, you always come into my inbox when I need your words the most. I have two affirmations and one I think was derived from something Norman Vincent Peale wrote. “Where there is faith, there is no fear.”( I am always saying this when I am in an anxious place). The other I say many times daily and that is “I approve of me”….I try to banish the negative thoughts I have about myself…sometimes successful and other times not so…but I keep trying. Have a great week, Mary!

  3. When I ride my horse, I always say a prayer beforehand. I thank God for giving us all animals. I thank him for my sweet boy. I say my prayer out loud so my horse can hear my affirming words…that he is mine and I am his. I ask that He keep us both safe and I thank Him for the special time we have together. This is my affirmation that I have a grateful heart to have this special relationship with my horse. It is such a treasured gift.

  4. … in the morning I often say: “Thank you Universe for the wonderful day today!” … then in the evening looking back I almost always find some or several positive things that had happened. (in spite of going through very challenging, seemingly desperate times right now).

  5. I use your favorite – “this is happening for me”. I have to use it often. Have been going through a rough time.

  6. Take it one day at a time, and This too shall pass. They remind me that I just need to get through things piece by piece, in manageable bits. To look at the whole picture when something difficult is happening can be overwhelming, but breaking it down into bits that you can deal with makes it seem less daunting.

  7. “All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well,” Julian of Norwich. The repetition is comforting and reassuring, because it is true if we see it can be so. And saying this – mantra as much as affirmation – bolsters my faith that all shall be well.

  8. Julian of Norwich – “All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well” and oh my, after reading about the trials in her life, if she can say this, so can we! Thank you Mary for a lovely post.

  9. “When one door closes, another will open”.
    If I am patient, it always seems to work out this way.
    Thank you, Mary, for sharing your lovely thoughts. I look forward to your posts.

  10. “May I experience happiness and the root of happiness……which is the divine love that dwells within me” Many thanks for your always poignant and uplifting posts, Mary.

  11. “Be the change you want to see.” & Today is the first day of the rest of your life.” You writing is always such an inspiration. Another fav – “Peace. Be still & know that I am God.” Thanks for sharing. Mary Ann Cauthen

  12. “Onward.” That’s it.

    I’ve signed messages with it, and repeated it frequently to myself, trying hard to remember to be grateful at the same time. If I were to have a gravestone, that’s what would be inscribed on it.

  13. In 2009, 6 months after being laid off and with no employment on the horizon and coming to the end of (what turned out to be just the first round) of my unemployment, I had a vivid dream in which two different strangers walked up to me and said, “Don’t worry, everything’s going to be all right.” That became my mantra. Of course, I realized fairly quickly that my definition of “all right” and The Universe’s definition might not be the same. But I can honestly say, everything has been, and is, All Right.

  14. I am thinking of one more succinct mantra for us all, – one of the most influential persons in my life who also was the minister of the church I attended years ago, shared in a sermon that in the Bible, the most oft repeated counsel that Jesus ever uttered, was “Fear not”.

  15. Hello Mary,

    “Everyone smiles in the same language” – for when I don’t understand
    and
    “The more you are motivated by love, the more fearless and free your action will be” – this puts ego in it’s place

    For you: Steve McCurry, Kaleidoscope, February 2, 2015
    Paint to your heart’s content, it’s all beautiful!!!

    Hugs & blessings,
    Monika

    (Should you draw my name please choose again as packages have a habit of disappearing en route to Central America)

  16. Thank you for another wonderful blog! When I find myself pondering about my life and the circumstances I am encountering which maybe overwhelming I heard God say and remind me “Be still and know I am God”. And I remind myself oh that’s right He is in charge! Thank God for that! Joan

  17. Mary, your post was very timely….I have been having a great deal of difficulty sleeping because my mind just keeps going and going….I have been hanging on to these thoughts/prayer…”Father, when I lay down I can’t get my mind to slow down. I keep thinking about today, worrying about tomorrow. Please help me to relax and give me rest.” It has become my affirmation for trying to find some peaceful rest.

  18. Hi Mary – this works for me: “I am thankful for + grateful for abundance that comes my way, every day in every way.”

  19. Hi Mary – I have been repeating the affirmation, “This is happening for me” since you posted about using it (on the occasion your unexpected Travelers Cleansing). Most recently, I have had a heavy cough and cold with an extremely runny nose. I thought of you and your experience and affirmed for myself, “This is happening for me”. And so, “Day by day in every way I am feeling better and better”. Thanks, Mary Rita.

  20. I remember the song lyric, “Smile though your heart is breaking.” So hard to do! However, somewhere along the way I also came across a saying, “If you see someone without a smile, give them one of yours.” I find this challenging and so satisfying because it really works! I work in a public library and have ample opportunities to look across the counter top and see someone who needs a smile. How wonderful to see the smile returned from a grumpy or sad, or frustrated. or weary face. A simple smile…..how often I need to affirm the power.

  21. One of my go to affirmations is “You always have a choice” This has helped me through dealing when i feel trapped and stuck and stressed and like i’ve backed myself into a corner. I always have a choice, i can say yes, or i can say no. I can choose to take care of myself or to stay stuck and stressed. That frees me and gives me power to be proactive instead of reactive.

  22. Mary whenever you post, your thoughts and quotes become my current affirmations… In addition, a recent thought I’ve been repeating to my self daily is a saying shared by my best friend’s elderly father. He had lived a rugged, individualistic, fulfilled family life. He came out of a difficult family upbringing with all of its cruel old world attitudes and judgements. His simple daily mantra ( said fiercely and with determination) : ” I am going to lead a happy life.”

  23. Hi Mary. “Today you are You that is truer than true. There is no one alive that is youer than You.” Dr. Seuss. I loved reading all the affirmations.

  24. in 2002 I was diagnosed with cancer. The news was devastating. But, I finally thought of this theory that worked wonders for me. I started to look at my life as a pie – and different aspects of my life were represented as pieces of the pie. Although cancer was a large piece of the pie, that theory helped to remind me of all the other parts of my life – or pieces of the pie- that were good.

    • Wendy, that’s a very good and present way to look at what you were dealing with and life indeed has segments, much like a pie. Wonder what will happen when the pie gets all eaten up….(smile)
      SandyP

  25. I like to say “Thank you, Universe” several times a day for little things, big things, anything. It’s a positive affirmation, and helps to remind me to stay away from negativity.
    And thank YOU, Mary!

  26. I really love Louise Hay affirmations and look at them most days…”It is my birthright to live fully and freely. I am worth loving.” is one that reminds me of who I really am and that it is a good thing!

  27. “I love and approve of myself.” This one affirmation has made me a softer, more loving and less critical woman. In the past, I did not understand that my lack of love for myself, kept me from being able to love others. Wow. I enjoy your blog so very much, Mary.

  28. Hi Mary!

    My go-to affirmation is always ‘This, too, shall pass!’ and it has helped ease my mind and stress relax and let go whenever I find myself caught up in a tizzy. It’s just amazing what this little affirmation can do to bring me back to the present moment and help me realize the world will not fall apart because of whatever problem I currently face.

    It has helped me through the years go from a place of fear to a place of empowerment, and I highly recommend it to anyone!

    Hugs! W.

    Sent from my happy mobile world to yours!

    >

  29. I love the outdoors and gardening so one of my favorite things to say is ” hello beauty” to my various plants, trees, etc. It fills me with gratitude for just noticing things in the natural world around me.

Comments are closed.