The light of the world

a photo sent to me by a friend

I opened my emails this morning and was greeted by the photograph above. It needs no words, but it so beautifully dovetailed with the thought that I’d had very early today as I sat outside, that I felt I must say something. The thought that came to me was, “You never know how your life helps others. This is by design. If you knew, you’d become self-conscious and you might try harder to be a ‘good person’. Don’t worry about being good or spiritual or any of that.  Today, shine the light that is inside you and notice how your every need is taken care of. And say thank you.”

So simple…really.

Be the love that you are. Give that love away freely. Allow the love (that is also you) to return to you from others. Notice the good. Share the good. Tell the good stories of hope and miracles and second (third, forth, tenth) chances. Be the light of the world.

“Ring the bells that still can ring. Forget your perfect offering. There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.” Leonard Cohen

 

19 thoughts on “The light of the world

  1. Very nice Mary. I sent it along to someone else who would also appreciate it. Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  2. I have always loved Leonard Cohen’s verse. Thank you Mary and Merry Christmas to you and Jack.
    Merry Christmas to the flock and to all our furry and feathered friends.

  3. Dearest Mary & the Flock,

    May I share with you “Grateful: A Love Song to the World”

    A thousand thank yous my friends,
    Merry Christmas
    love to all of you,
    Monika

    • Monika,
      This is just awesome! Thank you for this sharing. I could FEEL it opening my heart.
      Warm blessings and peace to you.

      Suzanne

  4. My very favorite verse….Leonard Cohen! I just love it, and you finished a wonderful comment of your own with it, Mary! Bless you for your guiding words throughout the year.

    I wish you and our flock the blessings that these holidays bring, along with a bright and soft New Year.
    Love you all,
    Suzanne

  5. Dear Mary, Thanks so much for this entry and for your blog overall. It is a virtual conversation with friends over coffee, and I’m grateful. Since leaving my fulltime job a year and a half ago, I’ve struggled with being a ‘good’ person and having a worthwhile life (as if a paycheck guarantees that), so your words are lovely and sensible assurance that there is something larger going on besides how often one volunteers at a shelter. Merry Christmas to you and Jack an your photogenic animal crew, and again, thank you.

  6. My day is always brighter, my heart a little lighter when I read your messages. You will never know the positive influence you have had on many people through your thoughtful and caring view of the world. Merry Christmas to you, Jack and all your creatures and Happy 2016!

  7. That’s How The Light Gets In…….

    Diana’s sweet reflection
    Kathye even says “it glows”
    Myrna remembered furry friends
    From Monika gratitude flows.
    Suzanne’s enriched with feeling
    Our blessings clearly abound
    Marilyn’s heart felt lighter
    The bells ring and resound.
    Whatever your family tradition
    May peace and light reside
    We’ll all meet here over time
    Mary’s flock, wings open wide.
    Namaste.

  8. Beautiful.
    God is Being. “i” have nothing to do with it.
    God is Total Abundance, to acknowledge That, which I IS, let it flow.
    Thank you for the reminder..Happy Christmas.

  9. Thank you, Mary, for shining your light in the world! Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year to you and your family!
    Pat Reid

  10. Dearest Mary, this is such a beautiful and touching post! As many others have expressed in their comments, I too am so very grateful to have you and your loving, funny, truthful and poignant blog in my life. I hope your Christmas is wonderfully special and that your heart is receiving all the gratitude and love that so many are sending your way!

  11. Merry Christmas to all! I love this post Mary and am going to share it tonight as a short prayer before our family eats dinner. Blessings to all who gather here, and Cheryl, you did it again – wonderful poem!

Comments are closed.