I trust me and I trust you too

 

P1240434

Yes Opens the Door

I begin most days by asking myself the question, “What would you have me do today?” I rarely get an immediate answer, but just asking the question seems to open me up to the guidance, direction, and opportunities, that are beyond my reasoning mind. When I ask this question of myself, I am also showing active faith that such guidance is available…and that it will be for my highest good.

Faith is such a “charged” word. For many years, it conjured up images of devout, humorless, strict, narrow-minded, people following religious teachings to the letter. The “faith” of my upbringing didn’t allow for internal guidance. It basically said, “Follow this set of rules and you might have a chance (probably not though since you are basically a sinner) of redeeming yourself if you suffer enough, deny any and all desires, and do what you are told by religious authorities who know more than you do.” This definition of faith was also what I believed (unconsciously) God was.

As I write these words, I feel a sense of wonder that I was able to leave that old concept of faith behind and begin the journey of spiritual awakening…a journey that taught me how to trust and myself…how to listen to my inner voice…how to have faith in the larger part of me: the divine, connected, dynamic, fantastic, creative, bursting with Life, joyful, wondrous part of Being that I am…that you are…that we all are. It doesn’t matter to me what anyone calls this power: God, Universal Energy, Love,The Unknowable, Goodness. It doesn’t matter to me what I call it. I have faith in it as me. I have faith in it as you. I have faith in it as us.

So back to my initial question, “What would you have me do today?” The answer this morning was to offer a give-away of a 20-minute session** with me. If this is something that speaks to you, just write a comment about faith and what it means to you. I will choose a random winner on January 22nd. This give-away is open to all who read this. You don’t need to be a subscriber to the blog or a new client of mine. All are welcome to participate.

“The voice within is what I honor. It’s what I’m married to. This life doesn’t belong to me. The voice says, ‘Do the dishes’….okay. I don’t know what it’s for, I just do it. If I don’t follow the order, that’s all right too. But this is a game about where life will take me when I do follow. There’s nothing more exciting than to say yes to such a wild thing. I don’t have anything to lose. I can afford to be a fool. What fun is it to be God if I can’t get a glimpse of myself in the mirror? And whether I like it or not, that’s what I am…” pg 117 from A Thousand Names for Joy, Living in Harmony with the Way Things Are, by Byron Katie and Stephen Mitchell.

*this little painting is available on MY ARWORK PAGE

**you can read more about the work that I do on my page, Private Sessions

 

36 thoughts on “I trust me and I trust you too

  1. What a wonderful offer, Mary. I’m always afraid to expose my vulnerabilities, but I’d like to try! Faith to me is partly the knowable (my faith community and rituals) and partly the unknowable– i.e. the grace of God.

  2. love this post sisero

    Robert D Muncil, ARM
    Cool Insuring Agency, Inc
    784 Troy-Schenectady Rd.
    Latham, NY 12110
    800-233-0115

  3. Thanks Mary. Faith, for me, is knowing that everything is unfolding exactly as it should. And that a loving God is in charge of the unfolding, so I can relax and trust the process.

  4. I love the picture and the quote! Faith is with you at all times, certainly not confined to church or any formal authority. I practice my spirituality in my garden, while writing, anytime at all! Thank you for these thoughts, Mary.

  5. I’m still working on faith. There is a part of my that want’s so desperately to follow what is in my heart but I am held back by so much of what I was led to believe growing up. I have no faith in the old ways but I am just a breath away from faith in the new ways.

  6. My faith is ever-evolving. At the moment it is a comfort to me when I think about joining God and reaching the next level of existence.

  7. Since I was a young girl, I somehow had it in me to question what seemed illogical to me. I now believe the divine put that spark in me. I too grew up with religious and family dictates that , as I grew older seemed more and more restrictive: restrictive to learning to trust , growing in factual knowledge, embracing a greater good, learning to be accepting of others. I chafed. I was and am ignored by a family addicted to an intolerant and shunning religion. It hurts to see them locked in. But I would rather embrace my own heart-self and sence of justice . I would rather have faith in and trust that the world and the vast majority of people are ethical , well meaning and Good.

  8. Hi Mary!

    Faith (to me) is trusting that whatever path one’s foot is set upon will be supported in unexpected ways and, most often, will be more wondrous than one can ever imagine happening!​

    Hugs!

    Wendy

    On Mon, Jan 18, 2016 at 9:09 AM, “Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm ” wrote:

    > Mary Muncil posted: ” I begin most days by asking myself the question, > “What would you have me do today?” I rarely get an immediate answer, but > just asking the question seems to open me up to the guidance, direction, > and opportunities, that are beyond my reasoning mi” >

  9. Faith is that inner dialogue that occurs. A private conversation between me and God, that I hopefully then communicate outwardly. Thanks for the opportunity to possibly speak with you…..

  10. Hi Mary! Lovely post and wonderful painting! Faith is something I’ve been aware of for as long as I can remember. It’s the belief in Spirit who walks beside me, holds me when I need extra support and celebrates with me when magic happens. 🙂

  11. Mary, thank you for the opportunity to win a session with you! I struggle every day to have faith in my own judgement. I was not raised to believe I could do that, so lacking faith in myself is a knee-jerk reaction that I have to fight every day. But it’s a battle worth fighting, and i won’t give up! Thank you for your words of wisdom.

  12. Dear Mary,
    I envy people who have faith in something greater than our objective reality. I can’t seem to get there. I’ve tried many things, but there seems to be a wall that prevents me from taking that leap. I sense that wall is fact/science-based. I lost a daughter to suicide, so it is hard for me to think that everything is happening as it should. I’ve often thought of entering a counseling relationship with you via telephone or computer or whatever, so this would be a great opportunity for me.

    Becky

  13. LOVED this post on Faith, Mary. My faith started out that way too – with so many rules. Thanks to AA’s spiritual kindergarten, I’ve learned to grow in my faith, into something that works and lives in me.

  14. here’s to the holiness of our inner voice. . the inner guidance you wrote so beautifully about! sending you love and gratitude. . .veronica

  15. Thanks for this post Mary. Reminds me where I came from as well. Today my faith is a choice, not something I try to have because they told me I should.

  16. Faith means acting as if I trust my Divine Self/God. Despite the fear, Holding onto the thread of connection and knowing that it is strong enough to lead me through.

  17. Faces of Faith
    There are as many as atoms in a teardrop.
    As a child in an alcoholic home, it was place I visited with school chums at whatever church they belonged.
    God never called back to me.
    As a teen, it was role I assumed helping raise my brother because I was all there was.
    God never paid the rent.
    As a young bride, then divorced woman, God never knocked on my door.
    Alone, depressed, despondent, I reached for a bottle of pills and came damn close to knocking on heaven’s door to tell God what I thought of him/her.
    But then.
    I stepped outside myself.
    I found light and strength and peace.
    I laughed in God’s face.
    And realized my form of faith resides in this miracle I call my body.
    Everyone has their own!
    God now stops by for coffee when invited.

    • Cheryl b, I hope you are a published, even if self-published, poetess. What you’ve written is beautiful and thank you for sharing your talent here on Mary’s blog.
      SandyP in Ont.Can.

      • Sandy P, your kind words brought a lump in my throat. And no, I am not published in any form. I don’t even save them; once I hit the send button, they’re gone into the ether. cheryl b. ❤

      • This appears to come in above your post Cherylb but might I suggest that you consider keeping a record of your poems? I’ve always found them to be whimsical yet resonating with my mind and emotions, clever, not overdone, you say much in a few short sentences and I’ve always enjoyed reading them. We often sell ourselves short,. as women, with the gifts we are given. You might think of keeping a journal and not letting your poems take flight into cyber space. They are very good.
        SandyP

  18. Nary, just wanted to say your offer of a free 20 minute session is very generous. To anyone who reads this, I have found a session with Mary to be enlightening, entertaining and rewarding. Highly recommend!

  19. Dear Mary, your definition of faith is as close to my own as I have ever read.  

    Thousands of times, however, since I retired, when I have asked the question, “What would you have me do?”  there was no answer.   I would have to lie in bed and wait. I judged the waiting as laziness, depression, lovelessness, disconnection, uselessness, boredom, sinfulness, discontentment, shame etc etc etc.  I am not ever fully free of those judgments.

    But sooner or later would come a simple call of nature – hunger, thirst, bm, and I would be moving. Then showering, dressing, grooming would follow.  Grooming I often considered to be sinful vanity, until I began to feel how relaxing it is and began to call it meditation in action!!! Then would follow the call of simple duties, laundry, dishes, house – cleaning, all of which I  thoroughly enjoy.  Then sewing.  I have always loved altering and re – making outfits, hand – sewing everything.  Before, it was deemed vanity.  Now, it’s a relaxing and interesting venture, every single stitch.  Then reading.  Mary Muncil every time she writes, for example.

    What was being taught by the inertia was that almost everything I had been doing all my life was motivated by duty, expectation, “goodness,” people – pleasing, God – pleasing, expected contribution,  and that my own voice was never heard, apart from simple calls of nature. If my own voice said anything else, it was deemed above all selfish and vain and unproductive.

    Oh what a difference it is when I can wait for the true call and obey it!  The true call heretofore was deemed too small and too unimportant and too unknown by the world.  But I am learning the peace, joy, health and serenity of being “nobody,” just another lily of the field or small child perfectly supplied by the INVISIBLE LOVER within and free to open my toy box and play.    My current contribution is that of being one person who is not carrying a bag of misery around for others to see and feel. 

    It’s not easy becoming “nobody” first.

    Love, Sarah McHugh

    On Mon, Jan 18, 2016 at 09:09 AM, “Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm ” wrote:

    Mary Muncil posted: ” 

    I begin most days by asking myself the question, “What would you have me do today?” I rarely get an immediate answer, but just asking the question seems to open me up to the guidance, direction, and opportunities, that are beyond my reasoning mi”

  20. Hi Mary, thank you for asking what faith is to me! There is a whole story behind me. The three words that came to me are, kindness, trust and belonging.
    Kim Fishback

  21. I know that faith was always in my life since the moment I was born. It became a reality when I was 4 years old and the pastor of the church that my brother and sister went to told me to just tell everyone that I was Five and not four so I could come to Sunday School. I dearly loved Sunday School. All the way through my life Jesus has been there for me from marriage, divorce, and college. Then from my professional life as a teacher to my second marriage and raising my children. Also to the sad years of being there for my patents’ deaths. My truly best friend when it it is just me and him. Even in my moments of tai chi, longevity stick. Yes I know that chi we fave during this time is really Him as I mediate to him during these practices. What I want to see is he is always with me, the lifter of my head, with every breathe I take, that is God, and Jesus and the Holy Spirit. With each thought that is Him. Okay when I have negative thoughts that us not Him, but He us always there with me. That is my faith in good times and bad I gave a best friend that is always there and gas been as always there and will be always there!

  22. Mary, if I can manage to shove my ego aside and remember to allow ‘someone’ else or something else to take over my struggles, I feel the better for it. The problem always is that my ego tries to micromanage my life. Darned thing…it can be a nuisance.
    SandyP in Icy cold, Ontario, Canada

  23. Faith is a precious choice, an elusive entity that I believe is sensed only by humans. It is a gift and a reminder that though we are separated at birth from our physical union with our mother, there is a spiritual cord that God never severs with His creation, with each one of us. Faith tethers us to His love and to Power greater than we can imagine, available to us when we believe and embrace hope instead of fear, faith instead of worry. Jesus said “I stand at the door and knock”. He does not break the door down or force His will upon us, but when we choose to open the door, Love can flood our hearts and there can be peace, even in the midst of trials. Keep the faith, dear White Feather Flock! Love to all!

    • Susan, your description of Faith is beautiful. I think in some ways faith is like a muscle that’s in our power to strengthen if we want to. As I sit here watching the blizzard rage outside my window, I think that Faith is also the warmth and peace inside of us.

  24. Faith has meant different things during different times in my seventy years occupying precious planet earth but the word that describes it best is constant. Even during the worst of times at that first moment of waking there is the knowledge that joy will return with the changing seasons, with Daisy’s bright eyes and doggy grin, with my cat purring in the sunshine, in my husband’s smile, on the handclasp of a new friend , in a handwritten letter signed with love, and in a beautiful sunset the last page in the book of today. My faith is constant. A gift That tells me all is well in my world. It’s a choice and I choose it with joy and gratitude.

  25. Mary,
    What a generous offer of your time. I start every day saying “Every little win counts.” I don’t know if that is faith or not but I have a lot of wins every day.

    • I did a “random number draw” this morning. I noticed that there were 33 comments and so the drawing was for any number between 1 and 33. The number 33 came up and it is yours, Jeannie. But as I read your comment a smile came to my face when I saw that you wrote, “….I have a lot of wins every day.” Coincidence that you “won” this? hummmm….You certainly do have an affirmation that works for you!! Love, Mary

Comments are closed.