getting in shape

P1240498.JPG

 Fred

Several days ago, a friend sent me the article, The Science of Happiness: Why Complaining is Literally Killing You“*, and I wanted to share it with you…below are several paragraphs and the link to this wonderful article.

“Your thoughts reshape your brain, and thus are changing a physical construct of reality. Here’s the kicker: Every time this electrical charge is triggered, the synapses grow closer together in order to decrease the distance the electrical charge has to cross. This is a microcosmic example of evolution, of adaptation. The brain is rewiring its own circuitry, physically changing itself, to make it easier and more likely that the proper synapses will share the chemical link and thus spark together–in essence, making it easier for the thought to trigger.

Therefore, your first mystical scientific evidence: your thoughts reshape your brain, and thus are changing a physical construct of reality. Let that sink in for a moment before you continue, because that’s a seriously profound logic-bomb right there.

Your thoughts reshape your brain so think wisely

Shortest Path Wins the Race

Beyond the absolutely incredible fact that your brain is always doing this, consistently shifting and morphing with every thought, even more exciting is the fact that the synapses you’ve most strongly bonded together (by thinking about more frequently) come to represent your default personality: your intelligence, skills, aptitudes, and most easily accessible thoughts (which are more-or-less the source of your conversation skills).”

*The Science of Happiness: Why Complaining is Literally Killing You.” http://upliftconnect.com/science-of-happiness/

 

13 thoughts on “getting in shape

  1. Oh, Lord, Mary, if this is the case, then my brain must be permanently bent out of shape. I’ll be thinking of this post everytime I reach for my own personal complaint department in my head,
    SandyP, in S.Ont. Canada

  2. Hello Mary,

    This is marvelous! Thank you! Brilliant article, great website. I’ve shared it already, more good news to help us all. This is what I love about you and your blog . Powerful, positve information, inspiration, fabulous Mary!
    I believe neuroscience will continue to amaze us…. I’m thinking of the late Dr. Oliver Sacks’ life long research with his patients.
    Have you read ” Hardwiring Happiness” by Rick Hanson or Sylvia Boorstein’s “Happiness is an Inside Job”?

    Hugs & love,
    Monika

    • And the last book Oliver Sacks wrote just before his passing: “Gratitude”. Also loved Sylvia Boorstein’s, Monika. We could compile quite a terrific book list. 🙂

  3. Thank you, Mary. I am going to think of those words every time I complain. I wonder what shape my poor brain is in at this moment. Wonderful , wonderful words to share with us. Thank you!!!

  4. Thank you for passing this on! I think this is one of your outstanding articles. I went to the website and reprinted the original article so I can read it constantly as I struggle to reshape my thought patterns.

  5. Mary,

    This article is fascinating – and so apropos of how things are going for me lately – thank you for sharing it – it really reinforces some mental exercises i have been working on – and this wisdom gives me the tools I need. I guess I am ready for it!

    Love your photos of the Grifter – what an angel! hugs – Louise

    On Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 10:50 AM, “Mary Muncil ♡ White Feather Farm ” wrote:

    > Mary Muncil posted: ” Several days ago, a friend sent me the article, The > Science of Happiness: Why Complaining is Literally Killing You”*, and I > wanted to share it with you…below are several paragraphs and the link to > this wonderful article. “Your thoughts reshape your bra” >

  6. Great read. Two immediate “reminders” came to mind –one line reminded me of the title of one of Byron Katie’s books – “Loving What Is.” The quote was “implement a practice into my life of loving everything that came my way, ” The other was the reminder accepting and surrendering to “what is.” That resonated with Michael Singer’s latest book – “The Surrender Experiment.”

    Another reminder was the many times that Mary Muncil has said to me — “Everything is FOR ME.” Find the nuggets of Truth in everything.

    On a personal note — yesterday as I drove to play my favorite sport of Pickleball — I was thinking to myself — “who is going to blame me today for what?” Well, needless to say – today I am going with the thought – I wonder what I will be thanked for today.

    I think this article will be re-read and also passed on. Many thanks.

  7. Mary thank you for this posting! I don’t know if you are familiar with Edgar Cayce but one of his sayings was “mind is the builder, the physical is the result.” Science eventually catches up with Mr. Cayce :). “Thoughts are things” was another from him. Thank you for sharing this link – I look forward to reading the entire article.

  8. I feel better for knowing how I can try harder to lead the life I want to lead, the way I want to lead it. Neuroscience is such a fascinating subject that is complicated but this article explains more of what all people can use. Thank you for enlightening me once again.
    As always, hugs to dear sweet Fred.

  9. Mary, thank you for this post. As always, you challenge your readers to think differently in very important ways.

    Peace,

    Maggie

    >

  10. In the words of one of Bob Marley’s positive affirming songs :
    “Emancipate yourself from mental slavery,
    None but ourselves can free our mind.”

Comments are closed.