unexpected happiness

P1240877.JPG

I recently came across the above photograph of my parents holding my sister Jayne and me (I’m the baby), and I was struck by two things: how happy my mother looked, and that I had never seen this picture before, yet it was in a family album. As I’ve been turning away from the negative past (in my mind), and consequently becoming happier, happier memories have been quite suddenly appearing in my life.

There was a time when I couldn’t think of one happy childhood memory, so I assumed that I didn’t have any (or many). To realize that they had simply been suppressed, by my dogged belief in an unhappy past, has been surprising, especially when I thought I’d pretty much made peace with my past and had done so much “work” around family issues…

What wonderful things are waiting to be revealed to us when we do nothing more than  stop telling/thinking the same old stories of unhappy pasts?

“All that you behold, tho’ it appears without, it is within, in your imagination, of which this world of mortality is but a shadow.” William Blake

AN OPENING   My plans for tomorrow have unexpectedly changed and so I have a free day. If you’d like to book a session with me, I’m offering 20 minute phone sessions for $20 (you can also schedule a longer time if you’d prefer). On the home page of my website, http://www.marymuncil.com there is a tab at the top that will open a page (Private Sessions) which explains the work that I do. If you can’t find this link, email me at mmuncil@verizon.net and I will send you the link.

 

4 thoughts on “unexpected happiness

  1. Hello Mary,

    I am so happy for you! May many more of your happy memories continue to surface daily .
    Amazing what we don’t notice, what we forget…..
    Enjoy your newly discovered/ recovered treasure chest laugh, play, celebrate.. .. oh happy days…..!!!

    Love the William Blake quote

    Love & hugs,
    Monika

  2. Good Morning Mary! Thank you for this message. “Stop telling/thinking the same old stories”…that’s where I’m at, re-programming my thought patterns to a program of Joy! And Gratitude! And just an aside, as I write this the morning sky is on fire above the White Mountains in bright pink and orange! Another validation! Love to you… Diana

  3. It is unfortunate that many of us suppress our pasts because our memories are overshadowed by a few unhappy events. You are right to suggest that we leave ourselves open to remembering in a different way.

Comments are closed.