a simple tool

 

20160821_getz-007

Griffin and Nana (me) getting ready for Sullivan’s baby blessing

I often take my 2-year-old grandson, Griffin, to the library on rainy days, and the other day, I overheard a woman remark that she really enjoyed seeing the toddlers playing there. I loved her observation, and was about to agree with her, but she quickly followed up by adding, “It is such a shame and so disturbing that so many kids spend hours in front of the television, on computer games…” As she continued to speak, I could feel the energy become dense and low. Her brow furrowed and she looked distressed. If she had stopped at what she’d first observed, I think she would have felt better.

I didn’t blame her. I’ve done the same thing myself, many times. But I am quicker to catch myself these days. If I want to change and become a happier, more open, person, then I must stop dragging negative comparisons along. It’s a really bad habit and it also keeps us stuck.

A beautiful day today doesn’t need to be compared to the “rotten weather we’ve been experiencing”. A magical time with my mother doesn’t need to be contrasted with how difficult it used to be. A compliment from someone doesn’t need to be rejected or looked upon suspiciously, because they’ve never said anything like that before. If we stop and take in the beautiful day, the magical time, and the compliment, we will change…and isn’t that what we are here to do…to grow, expand, and become more than we ever dreamed we could be?

This is such a profoundly simple, spiritual, tool. So often we don’t need to do anything to change…we just need to stop doing/thinking negative, unhappy, thoughts that block the Goodness and the Grace that are there for us…and that are us.

“If you live right mentally, everything else will be right. By a change of mental diet you can alter the course of observed events. But unless there is a change of mental diet, your personal history remains the same. You illuminate or darken your life by the ideas to which you consent. If you find the world unchanged, it is a sure sign that you are wanting in fidelity to a new mental diet, which you neglect in order to condemn your environment.” Neville Goddard

 

26 thoughts on “a simple tool

  1. Wow, Mary! I know I do this quite often and had not thought about it in this way. And I can even recall that feeling of how the energy level changes…Thank you for this reminder! And I love, love, love the photo of you and Griffin. ❤

  2. What a perfect picture of you and Griffin! I have seldom seen a picture in which there is so much to admire. The graceful woman, with the beautiful legs and good knees, the communication about whatever is happening between the two, the enthusiasm of the child lifting himself up on his toes, the simple little table and bowl, the ceremony of life itself in action.Thank you and thank you to the photographer who captured this piece of life – magic.  Love, Sarah McHugh

  3. Good morning Mary,

    What a fabulous photo!!! You two look so sweet together. 🙂

    Libraries….. infinite discoveries, keys to the universe, pure joy! Your little prince, Griffin, shares his birthday with Antoine de
    Saint-Exupéry. I’m thinking of books which both adults and children enjoy reading together.
    Wishing you beautiful days and magical times always 🙂 your love for each other shines so brightly, surrounded by goodness and grace….

    Love & hugs,
    Monika

  4. Fun challenge:
    100happydays.com

    Marvelous book title, great book, I had the pleasure of coming across recently:

    14,000 Things to be Happy About
    by Barbara Ann Kipfer

    Let’s double, triple, quadruple….. that….
    I know you can!!!

    Happy, happy 🙂

  5. A simple tool … and a great reminder. I’m not sure if I do it but I’m going to be listening to myself to see.

  6. I certainly join with everyone else in loving the photo. Griffin’s smile is infectious and it is clearly directed at you — it’s love captured on film! As for the tool, thanks so much . I will put it in my mental toolbox and try hard to remember to use it. I know that comparisons are an unfortunate habit of mine and that so often they foster negativity rather than promoting a healthy attitude. Mary, your blog is such a gift. Thank you.

  7. Thank you Mary, this is one I shall print off. I am entirely guilty of the negatives creeping into conversations and noticing this happening more and more as I grow older. It is something that I need to be more mindful of and thank you for putting this forward, a gift this morning,
    Sandy P, in Canada

  8. Thank you so much for sharing the beautiful picture of you and your grandson! Also thanks for once again the amazing message. A good reminder for us all . Joan Hansen

  9. So true. I had lunch with a friend recently, a young woman in her early thirties (way younger than me).
    She complimented me and I, as usual, went on and on about all the reasons I didn’t deserve the compliment. She interrupted me and very wisely said “Just say thank you!”

  10. **WHAP** [figurative smack to my head]
    #### thump #### (my bum hitting the ground)
    Big toothy grin, smiling up into a gorgeous blue sky.
    Sometimes, Mary, you just have this
    effect on me. ❤

  11. Oh so lovely to see a White Feather Farm message in my email at day’s end – and to see many familiar names in repsonses – Mary, I echo everyone’s words of enchantment at the beauty of this picture. Delight is oozing back and forth between the two of you – such a dear “little man” already! I am going to be especially aware of myself from now on in simply reveling in the beauty of a moment and not comparing or likening it to any other. It’s like taking a tiny slice out of the perfection of the now. Thank you Mary!

Comments are closed.