a guide from beyond?

This morning on my run, I thought about the coronavirus in a new way. My first thought was that a virus is a living thing. The thought that followed had to do with a little spiky foot-exercise ball that I’d gotten a few months ago (photo below) and how much it looks like the virus. I began to wonder if I could “befriend” the virus. Could I embrace it? Could I accept it? Then I wondered what would happen if large groups of people began to send it love. Would it morph? Would it change? Can we love it? I don’t know.

Most of us realize that harboring thoughts of fear, hate, dread, or worry, never improves situations (whether those “situations” have to do with ex-partners, politicians, inconsiderate drivers…the list is endless). Can we think about this virus in the same way? Is it a teacher, or as Rumi writes in his poem, The Guest House, is it a guide from beyond? I don’t know, but I know that when I begin to think about it in this way, I feel lighter inside…more hopeful, more curious. 

The Guest House

This being human is a guest house.

Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,

some momentary awareness comes

as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!

Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,

who violently sweep your house

empty of its furniture,

still, treat each guest honorably.

He may be clearing you out

for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,

meet them at the door laughing,

and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,

because each has been sent

as a guide from beyond.

Rumi (translated by Coleman Barks)

10 thoughts on “a guide from beyond?”

  1. Thank you Mary, I think this takes away the some of fear everyone is feeling, especially me as an older follower!  This situation is so new and scary but if we realize to not let fear become to powerful in our lives, it is important!  After all having Christ is all we need! Joan

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

  2. I really like that Rumi poem. More even than the one you sent earlier! Really speaks to me. Really speaks to my newly formed belief that everything we are seeing is *for* us. Welcome it in and be grateful for the opportunity, the guidance. Thanks for sharing!

    On Wed, Apr 8, 2020 at 11:41 AM Mary Muncil ♡ Spiritual Counseling wrote:

    > Mary Muncil posted: ” This morning on my run, I thought about the > coronavirus in a new way. My first thought was that a virus is a living > thing. The thought that followed had to do with a little spiky > foot-exercise ball that I’d gotten a few months ago (photo below) and how > m” >

  3. Have to say my eye went not to the spiky ball, but to the lovely stained glass window! Do you have those in your new to you house?

  4. Dearest Mary, I love this concept of loving the virus. Love is the answer to all things, the glue that holds the universe together, the one true thing to which everyone can relate.. I am familiar with Rumi’s poem. It is delightful! Mary, it’s so nice to have your posts showing back up in my email in box. Sending you much love and light.

Comments are closed.