contentment

My crown is called content, a crown that seldom kings enjoy. ~William Shakespeare

We have changed the chair in our kitchen at least 5 times over the past year. Some are big and cushiony …some small and hard…Fred does not care. He makes himself comfortable any place…I wonder sometimes if he notices the change. No matter what chair we put there, Fred makes it his own. Fred is the least particular being that I know. He will eat anything (including pineapple!), sleep on any surface and greets every visitor (human or otherwise) into our home with genuine interest.

One thought that I am aware of, when I am trying to turn over a situation that, at the moment, is not quite to my liking, is: “If I am content with my life, things will not change for the better.” I know intellectually that the opposite of this is true; that contentment brings an ease to life and invites in more “things” to match it, that solutions present themselves much quicker and more smoothly when I can relax and say “All is well”….ah…to be like Fred!

The winner of the contest is: Hwa Su Kim!

9 thoughts on “contentment”

  1. Fred looks like an expert at what he does best. So adaptable. Our little kitty Sweety has claimed the kitchen chair. She supervises everything from her perch. Life is good :).

  2. Opened your blog right after I got up and laughed out loud. Great way to start the day. Thanks, Fred! Thought of the verse, “….for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

  3. I have learned so much about life from my animal friends . . . enjoy the moment, greet every visitor as if they are the most important person in your life, sniff every flower . . . my dog and cat friends have taught me a lot! Fred is a cool cat, I don’t imagine he worries about many things. Way to go Fred!

  4. That is a great photo of Fred! Thanks for sharing that, and the thoughts. Yes, contentment definately feels lovely.

  5. Purrrrr-fect balance and poise. Happiness is wanting what you have.

  6. In The Power of Now, Eckhart Tolle says he’s lived with several zen masters, all of them cats. I suspect Fred too is a spiritual master.

Comments are closed.